[REQ] SU scatter

Got an idea to improve SketchUp?

[REQ] SU scatter

Postby solo » Mon Oct 13, 2014 11:48 pm

Here is a huge one, I'd expect this to be a commercial plugin if ever made and I'd be first in line to purchase.

Below is a video of Carbon Scatter for Max, Maya and C4D, made by the Vue guys at E-on, I know that all those functionalities are impossible in SU but basic ones like scatter, paint and populate may well be right?

These days most render engines use proxy's so we can now add millions of trees and grass patches, so a good way to distribute them is screaming to be found.

Anyway, ponder it code geeks and watch the video below for inspiration.

Thanks in advance.


-1
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby pilou » Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:06 am

Transformer by Suforyou has yet some functions! ;)


and SU2components always by Suforyou can populate anything on any volumes'faces! :enlight:
(eg on a tree on sphere3D ) etc...
ball.jpg



0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby solo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:56 am

Pilou, not quite what I had in mind, I want scatter, spread, paint trees where I need them, heck even create a green wall if i please.
1
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:01 am

Here is a new plugin I'm working on, called Skatter, which is I think exactly what you're looking for.



The goal is to be able to render hundreds of thousands of instances, but never generate them in SU, so it remains lightweight.
As you can see in the video, Devin from Chaos Group already made it work in Vray. And Tomasz from Solid Iris is working to make it work in Thea. I'll soon get in touch with other render engines devs to see if they're interested.

The developpement is only at a very early stage, in the final version there will be a lot more features and options.
6
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:08 am

@JBB

Easy setup a private beta forum here for you to get some testing going.

Lots of devs use this system and we already have a pool of reliable testers assembled.

Just throwing it out there if or when you need it.
1
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:47 am

Rich, thanks for that!
I won't need this until a more advance state, but I'll definitly get back to you in time ;)
0
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby solo » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:17 pm

JBB

You been reading my mind, hell yeah, that is what I'm talking about, let me know when I can start testing. :mrgreen:
1
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:38 pm

solo wrote:You been reading my mind

Well, for my rendering activity, I have similar needs as you ;)
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby Pixero » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:56 pm

Yes it looks very good. :thumb:
I would also like to test this if possible.
One thing, I see you are using Vray proxys.
Please make it so it will work with other renderers too.
1
User avatar
Pixero 
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Oct 14, 2014 1:59 pm

You can feed in any component you want.
The one I use in the video is actually both a Vray proxy and a Thea Proxy. It will be part of a library shipped with the plugin, and it'll be a proxy for all render engines possible.
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby duanekemp » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:23 pm

Pete, just gave me the heads up on this post. Thank you Pete. This is exactly what I've been looking for. I've been manually building a proxy replace me model to solve this issue. But, JBB, if it's possible, I would love to test this as well. This looks so promising!
0
Last edited by duanekemp on Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Duane Kemp

Kemp Productions
Puidoux, Switzerland
Gallery:
https://duanekemp.artstation.com/
User avatar
duanekemp 
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby andybot » Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:49 pm

that looks very nice! I've used Compo-spray for a long time, this looks to be a huge workflow changer!
0
my blog featuring recent projects
User avatar
andybot 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:06 pm

Pixero wrote:Please make it so it will work with other renderers too.

Here is how it performs with Thea 1.4. The render starts in a couple of seconds and the render itself took a few minutes with Presto.


Click for higher res.

This is a square surface roughly 130m*130m covered with dense grass.
475'000 instances of this grass patch:


Btw, this is what the model looks like:



Very lightweight, as all this vegetation is generated at render-time.
2
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby massimo » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:19 pm

:thumb: :thumb:
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby JQL » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:36 pm

jiminy-billy-bob wrote:
Pixero wrote:Please make it so it will work with other renderers too.

Here is how it performs with Thea 1.4. The render starts in a couple of seconds and the render itself took a few minutes with Presto.

This is a square surface roughly 130m*130m covered with dense grass.

Very lightweight, as all this vegetation is generated at render-time.


Bah, too good to be true, you joker ;) :D
1
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby leminilab » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:40 pm

JQL wrote:
jiminy-billy-bob wrote:
Pixero wrote:Please make it so it will work with other renderers too.

Here is how it performs with Thea 1.4. The render starts in a couple of seconds and the render itself took a few minutes with Presto.

This is a square surface roughly 130m*130m covered with dense grass.

Very lightweight, as all this vegetation is generated at render-time.


Bah, too good to be true, you joker ;) :D

:shock:
Yea, I think it's bluff too...
Isn't it? :?
This looks too awesome to be true... Not in 2014... 8-)
1
- "Live every day as if it were your last and then some day you'll be right."
- "ThomThom rules!!!"

leminilab 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:08 pm

leminilab wrote:Not in 2014... 8-)

You're right, it'll be available in 2015 ;)
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby bsfranza » Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:54 pm

so.. whats it with su skatter - alive dead or what
1

bsfranza 
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:56 pm

Very much alive, but not yet ready for public release.
It'll come!
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby Bob James » Fri Feb 27, 2015 8:04 pm

:bounce:
0
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby bsfranza » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:31 am

thanks for the info though...

will your skatter plugin work with any renderer availeable or is it somewhat bound to vray?
0

bsfranza 
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:35 am

For now it works with Vray and Thea. I will work with other render engines developpers to make it work with their product. But for now I can't guaranty anything behond Vray and Thea.
What engine would you like to use with Skatter?
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:44 pm

Here is an updated video preview :

2
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby solo » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:58 pm

jiminy-billy-bob wrote:Here is an updated video preview :




:shock:

So smooth on your system, I have to click, wait, click or it splats on my side
1
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby solo » Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:02 pm

Awesome video, this will sell many copies.

That grass proxy is also great, hope you share it at end ;)
1
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:04 pm

The video is a bit edited to cut waiting times when generating 500'000 instances (otherwise it would be boring to watch), and it fast-forward 2x.
You can disable "Live Preview" when dealing with big numbers of items.
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:05 pm

As a side note, there will also be more speed optimisations.
And I aim for multi-threading one day.
1
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby JQL » Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:24 am

It's looking great! Truly!
1
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby pilou » Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:28 am

Edens Garden! :fro:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [REQ] SU scatter

Postby DOD3R » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:11 am

Hi,
Great work!

I had some ideas, so here I am sharing:

1 - I would like to be able to save the scatter setting as a macro( or something ) containing the models and settings for easy reuse and sharing. I imagine myself having few macro packs named grass, forest, crowd, cars on the street. fallen, leaves.

2 - I like camera clipping and distance clipping features, those will be very useful, just make sure that those will reload and recompute between the scenes during the batch render. Without, that this feature will be useless for me.
3

DOD3R 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to SketchUp Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Visit our sponsors: