[Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby galinette » Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:00 pm

Well, I deleted all plugins, re-downloaded all, everything works...

Sorry for the mess

Etienne
1

galinette 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby TIG » Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:04 pm

Weird! :shock:
But at least it's fixed.
Although we don't know how exactly... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:05 pm

Perhaps the problem has to do with the order of events? I've assisted several users who have Win7 and had problems getting plugins to work. They tried installing the plugin prior to setting the admin privileges for the Plugins folder correctly. Removing the .rb file from the folder and installing it anew allowed it to work.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby sicksickisck » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:44 pm

great plugin :ecstatic: but I need more shapes maybe shape editor [in commercial version :sketchstatic: ]
0
User avatar
sicksickisck 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby thomthom » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:53 pm

sicksickisck wrote:great plugin :ecstatic: but I need more shapes maybe shape editor [in commercial version :sketchstatic: ]

Drape or intersect?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby sicksickisck » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:43 pm

Intersect 8-) [difficult ?].



edit : ...or both... I like how "tools on surface" works ;)
0
Last edited by sicksickisck on Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sicksickisck 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:47 pm

No. Intersect isn't difficult and it is a fundamental thing to know how to use in SketchUp.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby metagamer » Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:42 am

I've been playing around with this tool for a day, and I really like its potential. But I'm having a really hard time getting the shapes I draw to turn into surfaces to use with the Joint Push Pull tool. For example, I extrude a simple cylinder (using built-in tools), and then draw a rect, a circle and a hexagon on the side using ToS. Sometimes it creates a face that I can use with JPP, sometimes it doesn't, and I can't figure out why. Any clues?
0

metagamer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:46 am

JPP.png


It works for me. How large is the cylinder?

JPP2.png


Or are you getting a result something like this?

In this case the left edge of the rectangle falls on one of the natural softened edges of the cylinder. You can see that edge if you turn on Hidden Geometry under the View menu. You'll have to unsoften that edge to separate the rectangle from the rest of the surface. You can do that with the native Line tool or the Line tool in ToS and just connect the ends of the adjacent edges of the rectangle. Or you can display Hidden Geometry, select that edge and unsoften it.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby jgb » Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:47 pm

Dave R wrote:
You'll have to unsoften that edge to separate the rectangle from the rest of the surface. You can do that with the native Line tool or the Line tool in ToS and just connect the ends of the adjacent edges of the rectangle. Or you can display Hidden Geometry, select that edge and unsoften it.


Faster; easier ..... Shift+Ctrl Erase (tool) Just click on the soft "missing" line segment.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby dakenyon27 » Sat May 25, 2013 6:50 pm

Hi,

I can't seem to get this fantastic plugin working on sketchup 2013. Can anyone help?

David.
0

dakenyon27 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Sat May 25, 2013 7:08 pm

Sure. But we need some useful information. What do you mean you can't get it working? What happens when you start SketchUp? Do you get an error message related to the plugin?

Did you install the required LibFredo6 files as spelled out in the first post in the thread? How did you install the files? Do you have Administrative privileges for the Plugins folder?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby thomthom » Sat May 25, 2013 7:10 pm

dakenyon27 wrote:I can't seem to get this fantastic plugin working on sketchup 2013. Can anyone help?

Can you please describe the problem?
Installation problems? Operation problems? Errors?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby martosurf » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:51 pm

FRedo thanks a lot for all good plugins
You a great thanks a lot
0

martosurf 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby alek_mc » Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:43 am

hi... I have a problem with this plugin... I installed the sketchup pro 2013 and when I started the program, one message said that the plugin can't been uploaded... what can I do?
0

alek_mc 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby TIG » Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:57 am

Reread this plugin's main-page instructions.
Is it installed exactly like that page says ?
Have you also installed the very latest version of 'LibFredo...' from the link that is given [or the SCF PluginStore listing] ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby ibrahim zambak » Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:02 am

tools on surface v1.8a plugin, sketchup 8 does not work. windows 8 operating system
0

ibrahim zambak 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Gaieus » Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:18 am

Ibrahim,

More info is needed here. I have SU 8 on Windows 8 and the tool works fine on my computer so a "general doesn't work" is not enough.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby sasrabirawa » Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:42 am

works fine on SKP 8 but doesn't work on SKP 2013. The libfred doesn't compatible w/ SKP 2013. even if I use the latest one... can anybody tell me how to fix ??
0
Just an ordinary Sketchup user

sasrabirawa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby TIG » Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:28 am

The latest LibFredo... and several related tools were remade to be compatible with all previous versions and v2013.
We must assume you are using the latest versions available from the SCF PluginStore...

So you must be doing something wrong ?
Are you properly installing things ?
Since you haven't told us your OS I must guess at PC.

If it's a new v2013 installation into the usual 'Program Files' folder, then Windows will have given the new SketchUp folder [and all of its subfolders] Read-only permissions. Then you can't Write new files into the Plugins folder; but to confuse you Windows might make it look like you have, but it has a actually put the files into a VirtualStore to protect you from yourself, so they don't auto-load as SketchUp starts! A link/button in the top-bars of the Plugins folder's Windows Explorer window is an indication of such limitations...

If you use an RBZ archive and then 'install' button under Preferences > Extensions, or use the SCF Plugin Store dialog's AutoInstall feature from within SketchUp then it might still install properly, despite your own limited permissions; but that depends on several other things though...

It is always best to have your Plugins folder set to have FULL read/write permissions for every entry in the 'users' uder the Security list: to do this...
right-click > context-menu > Properties > Security > Edit ... tick FULL for each and Apply & OK...
[you will need admin rights to do this].
Note that even if you are setup in the Users Control Panel to have full 'admin' rights, that will not change the initial permissions the OS sets to the SketchUp folder and its contents, even admins are limited.
Note that it is also advisable to always install apps as as admin... AND for SketchUp.exe I'd also set its Properties > Compatibility, with the 'Run this program as an administrator' box ticked...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Tools on Surface showing up in extensions but no tool there!

Postby elisaha » Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:12 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a SU-newbie with SU 8 on a Mac with OS X 10.7.5, however I have troubles installing ToolsOnSurface 1.8a. I do have the ZLoarder, LibFredo and the Tutorial Offset on Surface in the correct plugin folder. It even shows up in my extensions, but there is no line-up. What can I do?

I do have a general problem with installing plug-ins.. I don't know what I would be doing wrong, please help!

Thanks alot,
Elisa
0

elisaha 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby mitcorb » Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:40 pm

Hi:
On the very first page of this thread under Installation, for Mac is this:
[On Mac the SU plugin directory should be:
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/plugins]
In your case, it will be Sketchup 8 but the rest of the path should be correct.

Alternatively, go to the top of this page, mouse over Resources, and select Plugin Store Download. This automates the process. Watch the video, read the information.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby giltora » Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:23 am

tools on surface not responding.. help please!!!!
0

giltora 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby TIG » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:31 am

giltora wrote:tools on surface not responding.. help please!!!!
More info is needed.
HOW isn't it 'responding' ?
Do you get the extension/toolbar ?
Are there error messages?
[Try it with the Ruby Console window open...]
Did you get the latest versions of this tool AND the required LibFredo...
Both are available in the SCF PluginStore...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby popfunky » Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:55 am

Thank but i can't install :cry:
0

popfunky 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby TIG » Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:30 am

popfunky wrote:Thank but i can't install :cry:
Please explain your problem better, so we can help you properly.

How are you trying to install this ?

Do you have the required support 'Lib' installed as explained in the download details ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby archdeacon » Sat Sep 21, 2013 3:04 pm

Fredo thank you for these great tools. i am having a hard time installing this one though. I am on sketchup 8 pro - Windows 7. any ideas...? i have observed the footprint and everything. I do not appear to have the LibFredo6.rb that you are mentioning (i have the newer library). Is this because you have updated the lbrary to the new version? can you instruct me on how to cure this problem.
thanks for your help.
0

archdeacon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby fredo6 » Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:33 pm

archdeacon wrote:Fredo thank you for these great tools. i am having a hard time installing this one though. I am on sketchup 8 pro - Windows 7. any ideas...? i have observed the footprint and everything. I do not appear to have the LibFredo6.rb that you are mentioning (i have the newer library). Is this because you have updated the lbrary to the new version? can you instruct me on how to cure this problem.
thanks for your help.

Since you have Sketchup 8, you should
- first, install the Sketchucation Plugin Store tool
- Then Auto-install my scripts with this tool. You'll have zero problem and it's much easier and faster than with the ZIP file. You will also get the latest versions available

You may need to do a clean up of your SU Plugins directory before if you had a wrong installation

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby archdeacon » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:51 pm

oops...
i just restarted sketchup (i had done it before as well and it did not work)
BUT IT WORKS FINE NOW!
thank you very much! :ecstatic:
0

archdeacon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:05 pm

Hi! I have a question. The construction lines are not showing every time I click on the surface after picking the initial point, so I cant pick an end point. Uhm, how can I solve this? Thanks.
0
Last edited by kdrr1607 on Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kdrr1607 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ria21, TRANTHAIQUI and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: