[Plugin] Curvizard - v2.4a - 24 Feb 19

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby TIG » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:59 pm

There are lots of 'gaps' in your contours etc which are probably causing the issues.
You could always draw a few lines in to heal the critical ones before doing anything else...

I ran your contour-lines [without any other processing] through the Sandbox Tools > From Contours.
After some processing it made a complex terrain mesh...
Capture.PNG
I assume this is something like you hoped for ? Perhaps you need to choose your tools... "When the only tool you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail..." ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby fredo6 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:07 am

The erreor 'reference to deleted vertex' may occur in some situations and not easy to fix.

I suggest you use the mode "Erase and Create" rather than deform.

Were you processing all (or many) contours at once?

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby matt.gordon320 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:18 am

TIG wrote:There are lots of 'gaps' in your contours etc which are probably causing the issues.
You could always draw a few lines in to heal the critical ones before doing anything else...

I ran your contour-lines [without any other processing] through the Sandbox Tools > From Contours.
After some processing it made a complex terrain mesh...
Capture.PNG
I assume this is something like you hoped for ? Perhaps you need to choose your tools... "When the only tool you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail..." ;)


Yes, I tried running the "From Contours", and it worked fine, I was just trying to test the difference in file size that Fredo's tool might save. I'm pretty much the only one in the office who bothers to try to keep file size down, so I figured I'd try it.

Fredo6 wrote:The erreor 'reference to deleted vertex' may occur in some situations and not easy to fix.

I suggest you use the mode "Erase and Create" rather than deform.

Were you processing all (or many) contours at once?

Fredo


I'll try to see if "Erase and Create" will work for me. I was running all of them at once. It's my first time using the tool :oops: so I was more just testing than anything. Is running all of them at once a terrible idea, like I'm currently realizing it might be?
0

matt.gordon320 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby marszbrowse » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:10 pm

Hi There,

First of all thanks for all your good work!

I've installed your plugin(s) and all worked like a charm. Unfortunately I've been kind of a dumb ass by moving some of the files out of the Curvizard folder. Tought they were in the wrong folder at the time. Since then on every load, SU keeps reporting missing *.rb files from the loader. Even with all the Curvizard files removed and all so with them installed (and working) What can I do, there is no info about this in the manual.

TIA

Marsz
0

marszbrowse 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby TIG » Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:26 pm

marszbrowse wrote:Hi There,

First of all thanks for all your good work!

I've installed your plugin(s) and all worked like a charm. Unfortunately I've been kind of a dumb ass by moving some of the files out of the Curvizard folder. Thought they were in the wrong folder at the time. Since then on every load, SU keeps reporting missing *.rb files from the loader. Even with all the Curvizard files removed and all so with them installed (and working) What can I do, there is no info about this in the manual.

TIA

Marsz
I'm afraid tools' authors can't make accommodations for every user's stupidity... :roll:
Even some full error messages from you would be helpful - rather than your précis...
Re-get all of the needed files/subfolders again.
Now look at what is in these.
Find all matching files/subfolders inside the Plugins folder and remove them.
Now reinstall the newly got files correctly...

There are clear instructions about where the files/subfolders and helpers etc go, reread that and make sure you know what to do... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Dec 12, 2012 11:18 pm

marszbrowse wrote:I've installed your plugin(s) and all worked like a charm. Unfortunately I've been kind of a dumb ass by moving some of the files out of the Curvizard folder. Tought they were in the wrong folder at the time. Since then on every load, SU keeps reporting missing *.rb files from the loader. Even with all the Curvizard files removed and all so with them installed (and working) What can I do, there is no info about this in the manual.

Here is the footprint of Curvizard files and folders, so that you could reorganize your Plugins directory

Detailed footprint Curvizard.png


Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby Rich O Brien » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:09 am

Hi Fredo,

The tooltips for Smooth contours are showing as Simplify Contours for the toolbar icons, onscreen HUD and in the Status bar.

The tool works as expected it is just the tooltips that are incorrect.

Great update by the way :thumb:
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby marszbrowse » Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:19 pm

Thanks TIG and Fredo6,

Of course I realize that stupidity isn't something you should support. As a matter of fact you should do nothing at all, and I appreciate your work deeply. So Respect from my side.

I've searched my whole folder file by file, and first removed all the files that also came in the zip. Thereby completely installed the plugin.

Now when I open a file, which I've recently edited, it keeps giving the error:

Error Loading File bootstrap_Curvizard.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6Error Loading File CurvizardAlgo.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6Error Loading File CurvizardTool.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6

Thought a new install will fix this, but it won't. My folders are now exactly as listed above, and works super! Regardless of the load error I keep getting.

I there a location I could look?

Thanks for your help.

Marsz
0

marszbrowse 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby fredo6 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 10:08 pm

@Marsz

This seems to be an error related to the installation of LibFredo6.
You should check the foot print (just one file, LibFredo6.rb and one folder LIBFREDO6_Dir_47).

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby humbertorb » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:21 pm

Hi Fredo,

First: you tools are great, thank you very much.

I installed Curvizard 1.2d today and got similar errors as above:

Error Loading File __loader.rb
uninitialized constant TraductorError Loading File bootstrap_Curviloft.rb
uninitialized constant Curviloft::T6Error Loading File bootstrap_Curvizard.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6Error Loading File CurviloftAlgo.rb
uninitialized constant Curviloft::T6Error Loading File CurviloftCurveMover.rb
uninitialized constant Curviloft::T6Error Loading File CurviloftPalette.rb
uninitialized constant Curviloft::T6Error Loading File CurviloftTool.rb
uninitialized constant Curviloft::T6Error Loading File CurvizardAlgo.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6Error Loading File CurvizardTool.rb
uninitialized constant Curvizard::T6Error Loading File FredoTools.rb
uninitialized constant FredoTools::T6Error Loading File FredoTools__ConstructFaceNormal.rb

I have LibFredo6 installed:
LibFredo6.rb
LIBFREDO6_Dir_47

Are in my plugins directory and I'm running other Fredo plugins (Round Corner, Tools on Surface) without any problem.

Am I missing anything?

PS: my Sketchup is version 8.0.15157 running on a Mac OS X 10.6.8

Thanks
0
User avatar
humbertorb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby Dave R » Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:22 am

It looks like an installation error. My guess is that you either took the contents of the Curvizard_Dir_11 folder out and dumped them into the Plugins folder or you have that folder inside another folder which makes them not load correctly. Go back to the first post where the footprint for the plugin is clearly shown and make sure yours looks like that.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby vame9 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:05 pm

really amazing and usfull ty
0

vame9 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby humbertorb » Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:01 am

Thanks Dave! That was exactly the case. The way I read the instructions gave me the impression I had to dump all the files instead of moving the directory.

Cheers

HB


Dave R wrote:It looks like an installation error. My guess is that you either took the contents of the Curvizard_Dir_11 folder out and dumped them into the Plugins folder or you have that folder inside another folder which makes them not load correctly. Go back to the first post where the footprint for the plugin is clearly shown and make sure yours looks like that.
0
User avatar
humbertorb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby jeff hammond » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:16 am

i haven't checked this out since last time i talked with you about it. it's awesome :thumb:
(and i still havent thoroughly checked it out.. only weld and smooth)
(havent read the thread yet either :oops: )

not sure if youd be into it but with make curves, a speed mode would be great.. hypothetical usage:

• push W (or whatever your welding shortcut is)
• the curvizard cursor comes up
• select your line (i.e.- up til now, everything is the same except there's no palette up top)
• the line turns orange except only for a split second.. a flash.. then the line welds as per your previous(? or otherwise customizable) settings **
• the tool exits (maybe back to the previous tool if possible or even practical?)

• then there's also multispeed™ mode which is ⇧W (or whatever).. that makes the curve but doesn't exit.. its ready for another..
• click blank space to exit..


i dont' really think they should be added to the icon menu because it might clutter it up but it doesn't really matter.. these are mainly hotkey tools

ala jean.. just ideas :mrgreen:




**[edit] - basically, it's acting like my current welding plugin with the benefit of not needing to preselect as you have your own cursor...

also, the flash gives some visual feedback in two ways.. first, you get to see that something actually happened and you'll also see what actually was made into a curve.. (whereas with recurve, i always (every single time) find myself reselecting the line to make sure a) the plugin worked and b) to see what was welded..

+ you have control over the settings
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby fredo6 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:28 am

Jeff,

I understand the requirement, but the capability of Curvizard to know exactly which segments will form a curve is limited (the Follow mode is based on angle continuity).

However, Curvizard include an autoexit feature (See Default parameters). You preselect the segments by the SU Selection tool and then call Curvizard (icon or context menu) that will just make them curves and exit. I can easily do the brief highlight (actually I implemented the feature and disabled it). Instead, you have the highlight in pale green of any SU curve you mouse over.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby rv1974 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:00 am

I have a feeling that curvizard could help me in my specific case:
Here's some kind of square put on very primitive ugly mesh. I'd like to refine (normalize, smooth out) the curb's polyline (copied upward) to redefine the squre surface.
Could anybody post step-by-step instructions? the plugin became a bit over-complicated :?
Thanks in advance.
0

rv1974 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby victor hugo » Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:18 pm

RV1974 I'm not a user of this plugin but I saw the demo on the attached link, it looks it will help whit what you're wanting to do.

http://artisan4sketchup.com/

other one can be Vertex tools at http://www.thomthom.net/software/vertex_tools/
0

victor hugo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.1e - 07 Dec 12

Postby jeff hammond » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:12 pm

Fredo6 wrote:However, Curvizard include an autoexit feature (See Default parameters). You preselect the segments by the SU Selection tool and then call Curvizard (icon or context menu) that will just make them curves and exit. I can easily do the brief highlight (actually I implemented the feature and disabled it). Instead, you have the highlight in pale green of any SU curve you mouse over.

Fredo


oh.. yeah.. that's good for preselecting then welding :thumb:
pretty much what i was imagining to myself earlier in the thread.. ha! :oops:





Fredo6 wrote:Jeff,

I understand the requirement, but the capability of Curvizard to know exactly which segments will form a curve is limited (the Follow mode is based on angle continuity).


right.. that's how recurve is set up too.. the angle is 1 radian.. the main reason i use recurve is because you only have to select one segment then it follows/selects anything under a radian.. (well, also because i don't have to answer any questions at the end as in weld.rb)

i was thinking in the speed idea, the follow mode is using whatever number is listed in the palette.. (defualt 40 but if i change it to 60 at some point, then it will use that next time i use the speed mode)
[sorry for this 'speed mode' talk.. sounds kinda corny.. i don't know what else to call it though]


further, the mode could combine preselect & no selection.. (everything is already written/functioning.. i'm just suggesting (in my non-ruby-knowing-head) moving some of the wires around for a different style of user interaction)... usage-

• select a segment
• press keyshortcut
• curvizard's follow mode kick in then selects accordingly and welds
• auto exit

-AND-

• have nothing selected
• press the same keyshortcut
• curvizard's cursor comes up
• select a segment, follow mode, weld
• auto exit


i honestly think that would be the best welding tool yet.. by far
not sure how others would feel about it but i can't grasp someone not liking it much better than weld.rb

anyway, thanks for listening :D
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby fredo6 » Sat May 18, 2013 1:55 pm

NEW RELEASE: Curvizard v1.2a - 18 May 13

Curvizard 1.2 is an technical update dedicated to the management of big number of edges and contours. It also fixes bugs related to operating on duplicated groups[/list]

Duplicated groups are groups which are just been copied from an existing group (via the Move+ tool or Copy / paste). Until they are edited, Sketchup treats them as pseudo components. This creates a lot of issues for Ruby scripts and is the source of potential crashes or errors of type "Reference to deleted entity".

Here is a short video showing the visual effect on a Make Curve process on 13,000 edges.
Curvizard 12 big contours.gif


Curvizard 1.1 requires an upgrade to LibFredo6 4.9 or higher.

See main post of this thread for Download.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby CadFather » Sat May 18, 2013 2:37 pm

Thanks Fredo ...some alternative icons just in case.

cv.png


CV.zip
0
User avatar
CadFather 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby Oxer » Mon May 20, 2013 7:41 pm

Hi,
I have installed the last versions of Curvizard and LibFredo and an error appears now.
I work on Mac.

Curvizard Error.png
0
"The result is the end what is important is the process" by Oxer
http://www.oxervision.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Oxer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby fredo6 » Mon May 20, 2013 8:52 pm

Oxer,

This is very strange that the value for angle max is written 40,0 (with a comma).
I can't reproduce how this has been made possible, because even if comma may be the decimal separator in Spanish (like in French), the Ruby code only uses the notation with '.' as the separator.

Just to be sure, could you type the following in the Ruby console:
{ :a => 40.0 }.inspect

To fix it, you may start any Curvizard tool and click on the AngleMax value of the edge picker section and type another value. Tell me if this work.

Thanks

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby Oxer » Mon May 20, 2013 9:36 pm

Hi Fredo,
I typed in Ruby Console and I obtain this:
> { :a => 40.0 }.inspect
{:a=>40.0}


I select a curve then I press an icon tool of Curvizard but I can't see the Tool Options Menu.

EDIT:
I deleted the sketchup preferences and for the moment it works fine again (it's possible that the preferences file was corrupt).
0
"The result is the end what is important is the process" by Oxer
http://www.oxervision.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Oxer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby nesh70 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:42 pm

I just wanna say thanks for all your amazing SU tools!!!

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
0

nesh70 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby utiler » Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:24 am

Hi Fredo, when converting an arc / circle to construction lines a point is added to its segment end. Is there a way of not doing so?

And once again, thank you for what you do for SU!!
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby utiler » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:22 am

utiler wrote:Hi Fredo, when converting an arc / circle to construction lines a point is added to its segment end. Is there a way of not doing so?

And once again, thank you for what you do for SU!!



Anyone? Here's a screenshot of what I'm referring too...
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby pilou » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:37 am

Select all
Right Click /Select Only Guide Points / Delete ?
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby Dave R » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:51 am

;)
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby massimo » Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:21 am

utiler wrote:
utiler wrote:Hi Fredo, when converting an arc / circle to construction lines a point is added to its segment end. Is there a way of not doing so?

And once again, thank you for what you do for SU!!



Anyone? Here's a screenshot of what I'm referring too...

Like this? :)
Cattura.JPG
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Curvizard 1.2a - 18 May 13

Postby pilou » Wed Jun 26, 2013 11:44 am

Efectively more speedy than my basic method! :mrgreen:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

Visit our sponsors: