[Plugin] follow me rotate

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:53 am

Do you have to group the polygon first? No?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:18 am

I will get a boat and try it. Thank you, Dave.

Thanks, Pilou. I figured my interpretation of the scale setting was the problem. I assumed it was over the entire path and that the number would be the result, i.e. 20% of the original at the end. A few extra words in the setting dialog might save a lot of dead drouge drag. Did you miss my construction point? I managed that.

I think another problem is the helix has too many segments to be workable and I am trying now to work that but so far the routine reverses the helix, etc.
0
Last edited by brookefox on Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:31 am

You pick the face and the path, face and curve, no group.

Getting somewhere, at least.

I'm sparing you the mis-starts, by which means I absolve myself of error.
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:33 am

I think that degrees of rotation and scaling over the entire path would be useful settings, saving much perhaps tedious calculation for the machine, which does it so much faster.
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Wed Apr 25, 2012 3:19 am



I had to play a little. ;)
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pilou » Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:15 am

The curious is that works for the v6 but not for the V7 for me :roll:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:02 pm

My main problem at the time of my first post, apart from understanding that the settings were per segment rather than per curve, was that I had picked the edges of the face as well as the face. You must not pick the face edges.

The movement of the path from its original location seems inconsistent, though I don't doubt it is obeying some rule. My faces lie on the path and my control points are at the end of the path and on the face, but sometimes the routine moves the path to have its other end meet the face and point. Once with the same entities but a simplified curve it did not do this.; at the moment it is so instead of decreasing from the big end I contrive to increase from the small end.

Use Simplify curves to reduce the segment numbers in a curve if it suits your purposes as it does here for me as I want the faceted look.

Pilou's pics by Takesh, with Pilou's notes, at the wonderful site pushpullbar.com: http://www.pushpullbar.com/forums/showt ... by-Scripts

What happens for you now, Pilou?

This is close to the kind of thing I was looking for.
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:20 pm

Suggestion for settings dialog, with a tweak.
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pilou » Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:17 pm

Yes I have made some tuts images for this cool series! ;)

Must be "Rotation Angle per segment"

Try also 2 faces + Path by Kyrill 2008
Very funny plug with options! :enlight:
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:15 am

I downloaded the zip version on page 4 or 5, extracted to V7 Plugins. No sign of any part of the script in the menu. No info in preferences>extensions. No toolbar selection. Nothing in the tools menu. Is it a right click context thing? Did I miss something?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:29 am

Did you try page 1: far.rar?

C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google SketchUp 7 or 8\Plugins\FollowAndRotate_en.rbs

Called by name in plugin drop down menu...
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:11 am

The files are in the correct Plugins folder, they just don't "install(?)" to be seen in the drop downs.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:10 am

It didn't work for me until I put the ...cn.rbs file in, too. And it shows at the bottom of my Plugins menu
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:57 am

I had the "Far" folder in the Plugins menu. Opening that and copy/pasting the files out of that folder to the file list was the next step. I don't know why the folder would not deploy the files at the last step. So, now I will experiment.
And yes, I see the FollowAndRotate call in the Plugins Menu, now.
Thanks, y'all.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pilou » Thu Apr 26, 2012 12:13 pm

Curvy Loft by Fredo6

Not exactly the same thing because you have only one progressive rotation between the start form and the End form
(if you take just 2 forms)
Rotate forms by hand ;)

But it's very more friendly and more optional options and you can put any number of different forms (section) on the path!!! ;)
So possibility to have the same rotations than the present plug Rotate and follow! ;)

PS Click very preciselly with zoom inside the internal surface and not on one edge!

heliox.jpg
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:10 pm

And here is my third and fourth attempts.
The large circular group is approximately 19,000 feet in diameter, according to the tape measure tool. The inputs were 20 rotations, 2.0 scale on a Bezier curve with a 24s circle roughly perpendicular and touching the end of the curve. The circular disc has a sinusoidal cross section mimicking the shape of the Bezier path.
The foreground object is the same items with 10.0 rotations and 0.95 scale.
The Bezier curve used the default parameters and two control points.

On my first try, I got the "drogue" shape.
As Pilou points out, Curviloft does have better controls on the outcome.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Thu Apr 26, 2012 5:20 pm

Well, Tim, I 'achieved' what you achieved (that interesting large giant clam shape). Do you want to try some more? If so it would help if you show your initial entities which you can easily do by simply moving the creation off to one side, make the picks and invoke the routine again, which will then still show the settings you used and we can see the before and after all in one view. And then we can 'help' you. Ha.

Merci, Pilou, for that very useful alternate.
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby mitcorb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:59 pm

Hi, brooke:
You can surmise from the "successful" foreground figure that in both cases I used a circle mounted to the left end of the Bezier curve, more or less perpendicular to the end segment. From this, I gathered that there is a range of numbers within which you should select your parameters for both Rotate and Scale. If you pick numbers on the extremes you get drogues and discoids. Of course, I am often wrong in my assumptions. I may experiment a little more as time permits and of course there is the distraction of the change of ownership of Sketchup being discussed next door. Over 9 pages of comments since early this morning, my time.

EDIT: That's 8 pages at this edit.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby brookefox » Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:21 pm

This is a somewhat cleaned up failure, which I believe you have also in your collection. I think it is very cool.

follow me and rotate-yin yang clam-1
0
~ Brooke
User avatar
brookefox 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby hamedmemar » Sat Oct 26, 2013 12:40 pm

Thank you my fiend. :)
it is very useful and is a nice plugin . ;)
0
User avatar
hamedmemar 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby frankfiv3 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:39 am

no funciona, lo selecciono y no pasa nada
0

frankfiv3 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby marialuiz88 » Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:31 pm

hi im maria luiz and im new to sketchup :) may i know how to install this plugins to my su? thanks alot :)
0

marialuiz88 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:14 pm

Look at
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=Far
Downloading this gives you an RBZ archive.
Then use Preferences > Extensions > Install... button to install it for you...
Read the tools usage guidance and other related posts...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pep75 » Fri Jun 27, 2014 9:59 am

Dear All,

After installing this plugin in SU14, and after a restart, I got this error message. Am I missing something? :oops: Isn't this plugin compatible with the 2014 version? Thanks!!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:27 am

It does work with SU2014.
Screenshot - 6_27_2014 , 4_20_45 AM.png


Did you install it via the Extension Warehouse?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pep75 » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:31 am

Thanks Dave. Uhm yep, via Extension Warehouse and later(after getting the Error)via the "install extensions" option in the preferences...mmm...still the same error.
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:40 am

Well, that's odd. It worked for me as you can see above but that was immediately after installing it via the Plugin Store. I closed SketchUp and reopened it and get the error you got. Now I would say it sort of works. The error is typical of plugins that need to be updated to be compliant with Ruby 2.0.

Alright! Where's wikii? He's got work to do.

By the way, the plugin still functions for me after clearing the error.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:34 pm

This is a weird issue. :shock:

"FaR" comes in the RBZ archive with two rbs files, with 'cn' and 'en' suffixes.
These are versions of the same file, with only minor text differences.

If you have both files auto-loading, then the 'cn' one loads first and that would prevent the 'en' one from fully loading and making a menu entry, as it already claims its menu spot: however, both ought to 'load' [and do pre v2014].

The 'cn' one should use ChiNese wording for the Inputbox and the 'en' one ENglish...
BUT a typo in the author's code reverses that logic, and actually 'cn' is in English and 'en' is in Chinese.

So if you have both auto-loading then SketchUp loads the 'cn' version first [simple alphabetical order], that is successful in all SketchUp versions and you'll get English in the dialogs :roll: - BUT in v2014 the encoding of the Chinese characters in the 'en' version cause it to mis-load with that error-message.

When you freshly install from the FaR RBZ the 'cn' version auto-loads OK and makes the menu item.
The 'en' version fails 'silently'.
BUT when you restart SketchUp you then get the load error for the 'en' version, although the 'cn' version has already loaded OK - unless of course you have Disabled in the PluginsManager it or you have partially Uninstalled or removed that file...

So to stop that error message... :geek:
Find the 'en' version and remove it from the v2014 Plugins folder [find that folder using the appropriate utility in the SketchUcation submenu].
From now on, when SketchUp loads, the 'cn' version [that's actually in English], it will be successful and there'll be no errors.

You sanity's sake you could also rename the 'cn' version as the 'en' version - or with no 'version' suffix at all...

The Chinese language version will not work with v2014 [but of course remember that arrives out of the RBZ named as the 'en' version !]


Another thing to bear in mind is that you need to preselect a single curve [path] and a single face [without its edges], and thirdly you can also include an optional guide-point, then use the tool from the Plugins menu...
Without the two minimum selections it will produce Ruby Console errors in all SUp versions...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Fri Jun 27, 2014 12:42 pm

Good catch, TIG. I see back a few years ago I made the comment about putting the CN version in and getting the plugin to work. I didn't realize the CN version is really in English and never tried removing the "EN" version. Hmmm....
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pep75 » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:38 am

mmm...okay...I'll analyse TIG's "essay" thoroughly again, en then I'm going to test it...Thanks!!!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alsyfu, ballyae, bibo0402, CKN, ohs1967 and 18 guests

Visit our sponsors: