[Plugin] Pen Tool +

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby TIG » Mon May 23, 2011 9:05 pm

The 'edge' tools doesn't form faces like the 'pen' tool [or for that matter the other line drawing tools].. The 'pen' tool is like native 'Line'... BUT it has some different inferencing etc... Try the different ones to see what I mean... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby utiler » Mon May 23, 2011 9:20 pm

Hey, I've missed this so far!!!!! haven't you got enough to do, Rich?
Well done mate!
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby driven » Mon May 23, 2011 10:22 pm

hi Rich,

this is great, works on the mac except the
Code: Select all
 ###new_toolbar.show ### ONLY show if was visible before...
    new_toolbar.restore if new_toolbar.get_last_state==TB_VISIBLE

[this may be due to the slightly different RUBY_VERSION i.e. 1.8.5]
however it does work if I cut and paste it to line 1175, directly under
Code: Select all
new_toolbar = UI::Toolbar.new("Pen Tool +")

tooltips, custom menu items and the tools themselves all work as advertised...

well done

john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Rich O Brien » Mon May 23, 2011 10:27 pm

Thanks for the Mac feedback John. Glad you got it to work :thumb:
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby yellow peril » Thu May 26, 2011 12:18 am

I have just downloaded your pen tool, i am working on mac, it appears to workfine but with no icons.....any ideas?
0
User avatar
yellow peril 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby driven » Thu May 26, 2011 12:31 am

hi,
if the icons folder named, rob_hsltool is in your plugins folder, then you might just need to turn on the menu in View >> Tool Palettes >> Pen Tool +

john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby boofredlay » Thu May 26, 2011 8:38 pm

BTW, TIG solved my problem stated earlier in this thread. Thanks TIG.

It turns out if you click the "Compatibility Files" button between Burn and New Folder it showed up.
0
User avatar
boofredlay 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby hungnguyenpham » Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:40 am

Thank you!
0

hungnguyenpham 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Panga » Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:52 am

Thanks a lot for this usefull plugins !! :thumb:
0

Panga 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.3 (Update 18/5/2011)

Postby jgb » Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:52 pm

Dave R wrote:Comes of drinking American beer at high elevations for a week when you're not used to either. :D

Canadian beer will do that at sea level in less than a day. :roflmao:
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby mitcorb » Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:35 pm

Hi:
Just trying out Pen Tool last night, I noticed that occasionally for one click I got 2 Cpoints. Also, one or two of the other pen settings doubled the endpoints which were placed short distances apart in a series of quick clicks randomly in the model space. Hard to explain. I did not save the file. This was in Sketchup 7. This mouse has shown no other misbehavior in other applications.
Has anyone else seen this?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:02 pm

Mitcorb I think this is down to you keeping the mouse-button pressed and dragging.
Most of this kind of line tools allow for you to press+hold+drag+release to make the line, as well as more usual click+click to provide two ends.
There's a short timer delay built-in to spot a real button-hold as that - obviously you're on the top limit time-wise and it's assuming a drag is wanted...
Is your mouse-button sticky?
For the cpoint tool if you don't do a clean click. but do more of a press. then it assume a drag and places a second cpoint at the release point - which might be only a short distance away if the mouse moves slightly.
So to avoid this ensure a clean click with no holding down of the mouse button with a drag unless you want two points...
:?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby mitcorb » Thu Jun 16, 2011 4:37 pm

Yes, thanks, TIG:
It is obvious from only one test that I wasn't tuned in to the appropriate procedure. I am not usually what you would call a fast clicker, partly because of my system response, and partly because of my own internal wiring. :mrgreen:
A salute to you and Rich for this excellent concept.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby nanfar » Sat Jul 02, 2011 6:47 pm

thank you for you plugin.
0

nanfar 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby austin457 » Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:32 am

Awesome. I joined this site specifically to get this plug-in. It's been a bane in my rear end that Sketchup couldn't simply draw dashed (or construction lines) that didn't go into infinity. Couldn't make a clean diagram that way. (And I know SU is more for 3D than CAD- but it makes sense to model something and then CAD it out in the same app. I also know Layout can draw them, but that gets messy too).
I literally just used the plug-in, but something I noticed right off I want to ask about:
I see that drawing the Construction lines flags to SU they are indeed construction lines. When I "Delete Guides" they are deleted as well. I tried grouping them and locking, but they still get deleted if I use the command. Is there a way to makes these lines unique to SU so they won't get deleted when cleaning up my drawings with the Delete Guides command?
Thanks again. This will cut down on a lot of cursing 'round here! ;)

Win XP, SU 7
0

austin457 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Gaieus » Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:55 am

Unfortunately no. Guides are deleted even in locked groups. I'd call this a bug but officially it is called a "feature".

I am not really sure but as if in some earlier versions construction lines hadn't been deleted if they were in a group and you were outside that context. Just like how "unhide all" works now.

You can always put these guides into a component (along with something else) however then right click and "Save as..." Later when you clean up your guides, right click on this component again and "Reload".

I know it's a poor workaround but should do it.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby TIG » Sun Jul 10, 2011 1:45 pm

There are several tools knocking around that I and others made ages ago...
Mine erases only those guide-lines or guide-points or both in the active context or current selection or 'all' if there's no selection - see here viewtopic.php?p=341048#p341048 [I just modernized it a bit]
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby boilingsnow » Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:45 am

Thank you Rich O'Brien!
But the weld draw doesnt work by me.
It always start from the origin point so I can't draw the line I want.
Can you tell how to fix it?
0

boilingsnow 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby irwanwr » Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:14 pm

:thumb: i am going to use this often
thank you
0
User avatar
irwanwr 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby eyein12 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:29 pm

:thumbd: all pens draw from origin and thats it. is there something i'm missing
0

eyein12 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:15 pm

:roll:

It works fine for me. So, you must be missing something.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Gaieus » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:17 pm

:lol:
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby massimo » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:35 pm

:roflmao:
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Gaieus » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:43 pm

Ian, I see you have just joined and this was your first post. It's not too late to start over: register another account and ask nicely. No-one will know it's you and you will find these gentlemen very helpful.
;)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:48 pm

I was nice :roll:
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Gaieus » Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:54 pm

I know. Me too. I was even happy! (And Massimo even happier) :)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby eyein12 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:19 am

Gaieus wrote:Ian, I see you have just joined and this was your first post. It's not too late to start over: register another account and ask nicely. No-one will know it's you and you will find these gentlemen very helpful.
;)



Lol I see you guys have a good sense of humor. I'm sorry for the harsh post. I model 3d trains for railworks 2012 train simulator and was interested in this pen tool. But for some reason it draws an edge from the origin everytime instead of a series like the pencil tool. do you guys know what is wrong? I have sketchup 8 pro. the newest patch too. Thanks for the help! :D
0

eyein12 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby Gaieus » Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:42 am

OK, now we are talking.

I cannot even imagine what may be going on there. Which tool are you actually using? (There are a bunch of them in here) Where are you starting the lines? I also have the latest SU build and have no issues at all.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby eyein12 » Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:51 am

Gaieus wrote:OK, now we are talking.

I cannot even imagine what may be going on there. Which tool are you actually using? (There are a bunch of them in here) Where are you starting the lines? I also have the latest SU build and have no issues at all.



well I got this pen tool+ v1.4 found here http://rhin.crai.archi.fr/rld/plugin_de ... hp?id=854; is this the same as the one in this thread?

I start my line just from the origin of SU to practice using this tool. but using the pen tool there are 6 different types of which only the guide pen works correctly. when i draw, it starts from the origin and ends at the endpoint, then it starts again from the origin rather than from the endpoint, unlike the pencil tool.
0

eyein12 
 

Re: [Plugin] Pen Tool + v1.4 (Update 23/5/2011)

Postby mitcorb » Sat Dec 31, 2011 3:53 am

Is your Template or Style setting part of the problem? Or is your precision set too high? Or are you modeling some really tiny items? I don't know, just trying to shake some ideas.
0
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bchbill, dwayneburgess and 13 guests

Visit our sponsors: