[Plugin] SectionCutFace

[Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:03 am

Click the button below to read its usage/documentation and download its RBZ from the 'SketchUcation PluginStore'

Download


Or AutoInstall it from the 'SketcUcation Plugin Store' dialog, from within SketchUp itself...
http://sketchucation.com/Fresources/Fpl ... e-download
3
Last edited by TIG on Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:24 pm, edited 4 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.1

Postby massimo » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:19 am

Now it works fine! :thumb: Only a little thing: the edges are not included in the section cut group. Is that normal?
Thank you.
Massimo
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:08 pm

massimo wrote:Now it works fine! :thumb: Only a little thing: the edges are not included in the section cut group. Is that normal?
Massimo

Yes it's quite normal in all versions up to v2.1: however I have just added two more options to the dialog with v2.2, one let's you keep un-faced edges (default=No) and the other let's you hide all edges (defaults=Yes)... get it here viewtopic.php?p=172583#p172583
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby massimo » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:13 pm

Now it's really good!! Thanks again.
Massimo
1
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby Ben Ritter » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:05 pm

Thank you TIG for the wonderful plugin.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby boofredlay » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:06 pm

Thanks TIG.
0
User avatar
boofredlay 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby MALAISE » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:28 pm

TIG the man who writes plugin faster than his shadow.... :thumb: :thumb:

MALAISE
0
La Connaissance n'a de valeur que partagée
User avatar
MALAISE 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby utiler » Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:00 am

Legend...... :berserk: :berserk:
1
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby sepo » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:22 am

Cheers... I have been using this plugin from the day one.... :thumb:
0

sepo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby Sekta » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:36 am

Thanks TIG, I couldn't do without this plugin :thumb: :thumb:

SEKTA
0
User avatar
Sekta 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby dylan » Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:33 pm

Thanks TIG
0

dylan 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby simon le bon » Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:24 pm

Dear TIG,

The white sheet becomes black with the thanks we give you at each new script you offer to the community!!

I had used this one with a total pleasure here: Modeling] A PoorFlatEllipsoidIndian Bowl into this video: SketchUp/PotterSC_S&S_Quarter2(sorry to advertise this way my own products: I have presently nothing better done with SectionCutFace to show)

+++simon
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby broomstick » Wed Jul 15, 2009 5:55 pm

I absolutely looooove this plugin :)
0
User avatar
broomstick 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby AcesHigh » Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:45 pm

I am sorry, what exactly does this plugin do? Its like a Zorro?
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby TIG » Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:57 am

AcesHigh wrote:I am sorry, what exactly does this plugin do? Its like a Zorro?

No.
To see what most scripts do you can download them and if they don't have a separate readme or pdf then open the .rb file with a plain text editor (NotePad.exe etc) and read the first part which is almost always a description and helpful notes...
Basically SectionCutFace is a tool that lets you fill in the faces of a section cut, coloured etc as desired...

SectionCutFace adds a right-click context-menu item 'Add Section-Cut Face' that becomes available if you have selected one (active) section-plane. It opens a dialog and you can then set options - the cut's face colour, the section-cut's colour+width, the cut's layer, if its un-faced edges are kept and if all its edges are finally hidden etc... On 'OK' it adds a group to the model that is placed on* the section-cut plane (*actually it's 0.2mm inside so you still see it !). This group contains faces on what should be the solid parts of the section: it is coloured and setup as you've specified, put on its own layer as you might want it 'switched-off' in other views... It isn't foolproof - you can invent a section with ambiguous areas of solid/void but if it guesses the faced/unfaced areas wrongly then you can simply edit the group and fix them.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby cyan.archnet » Tue Jul 21, 2009 3:37 am

really GREAT plugin, THANKS A LOT!
0

cyan.archnet 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby ideas_arte » Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:03 am

Thank you very much....! :berserk:
0

ideas_arte 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby drewpoeppel » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:53 pm

Thank you so much for this! I just had a project where I spent half the day trying to create what your .rb did in 5 secs. Essential for all architects.
0

drewpoeppel 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.2

Postby utiler » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:34 am

TIG, I have a request for this great little script.
Generally when i as a section cut, I only want it in the current scene; I assume most others would also.

Is it possible to edit the script to view the cut layer active only in the current scene?
[Just like Jim's [Add hidden Layer" does]
:thumb:
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:33 am

Here's v2.3 28/07/09 CUT-x's layer now only 'on' in current page/scene.
viewtopic.php?p=172583#p172583
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby utiler » Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:17 am

You're the man, TIG!!!! :berserk: :berserk:
Thank you sooo much....
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby rhankc » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:23 pm

Many thanks Tig. Have a great day!
0
Hank

rhankc 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby massimo » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:03 am

Sorry TIG, I got this error with the 2.3 version with a simple box model
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `set_visibility' for nil:NilClass>
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:383:in `face'
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:451
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:451:in `call'

and i don't understand how the plug works with the scene/page transition. Draw a cube, add two scenes, in second scene make a section and add "section cut face". Is the below result the expected one?
Thanks.
Massimo.
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:11 pm

massimo wrote:Sorry TIG, I got this error with the 2.3 version with a simple box model
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `set_visibility' for nil:NilClass>
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:383:in `face'
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:451
C:/Programmi/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/SectionCutFace.rb:451:in `call'

and i don't understand how the plug works with the scene/page transition. Draw a cube, add two scenes, in second scene make a section and add "section cut face". Is the below result the expected one?
Thanks.
Massimo.

Do you have any 'Pages' [Scenes] ?
EDIT: see next message for fixing update...
0
Last edited by TIG on Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.4

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:25 pm

Here's v2.4

viewtopic.php?p=172583#p172583

Trapped layer visibility setting error if no pages/scenes set...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.3

Postby massimo » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:27 pm

This is the situation after the cut with no scenes added, but if i add a scene before the cut no error occurs.
EDIT: TIG answered with the 2.4 version before my reply :)
0
Last edited by massimo on Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.4

Postby massimo » Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:33 pm

No error now, thanks. Real time plugins... :D But about the result?
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.4

Postby dimario » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:43 pm

this is just a fab plugin.
thank you a lot. very helpful!!! saves a lot of time...

kind regards...
0

dimario 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.4

Postby Gaieus » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:21 am

Works really cool, thanks, TIG! :thumb:

(And now... If only the section cut face would also move when I make a section animation/transition between two scenes! But sigh... I know, I know...) ;)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.4

Postby massimo » Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:47 am

If only the section cut face would also move when I make a section animation/transition between two scenes! But sigh... I know, I know...

That's exactly the result I was looking for, Gaieus. :)
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: goga63, Google Bot, Yahoo Bot and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: