Exporting to 3DS Max

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Exporting to 3DS Max

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:17 am

Hi there,

I've recently become familiar with 3DS Max, but haven't got quite quick enough in terms of modelling for it to be economical, so I have gone back to sketch-up, and then tried to export into 3DS to render my secne. But whenever I do this the model has really thick edges that I can't seem to get rid of, if someone could give me some advice that would be great

I have included an image of an example render below, left box is import from sketchup, right has been made in 3dsmax.



P: BMJT
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Exporting to 3DS Max

Postby Anssi » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:18 am

Hi,

Uncheck the box "Export standalone edges" from the Export options dialog box (the Options button is under the thumbnail preview in the Export File dialog box)

Anssi
0
securi adversus homines, securi adversus deos rem difficillimam adsecuti sunt, ut illis ne voto quidem opus esset
User avatar
Anssi 
 

Re: Exporting to 3DS Max

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:19 am

That's brilliant, thanks!

P: BMJT
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Exporting to 3DS Max

Postby CraigD » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:19 am

Anssi is absolutely correct.

You'll see mention of this in the SketchUp Release Notes as well. ...there's a good reason to read them right there! ;)

Here's a link: http://sketchup.google.com/gsu6/relnotes.html

Cheers,

- CraigD
0
Google SketchUp
User avatar
CraigD 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Visit our sponsors: