[Plugin] Roof.rb

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby sketchitbrk » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:33 pm

Thanks For the new update much appreciated
2

sketchitbrk 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby ervau » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:33 am

Hi!
Yes - it is a great plugin. But...

Can you imagine, what kind of error I'm producing with the Roof-Plugin here?
- On the first shape it worked fine (so you can see...) (Pic 1)
- When I want to use it on the second shape, all I get is a Bugsplat :-( (Pic 2)

Do you need the Buglog of SketchUp? (I can't read the .dmp-file...)


FYI: I'm using SU 2013 Pro (V 13.0.4124) and Roof 3.7 just new downloaded.

Thanks a lot!
Robert
0

ervau 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:58 pm

Delete the face and recreate it by drawing over the8 edges in a clockwise direction.
The face will reform try re-roofing...

Also try reversing the face.
Or copying it above, group it, delete the original, move the face-group over the original location and explode it, this can fix edge weirdnesses...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby ervau » Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:59 am

TIG wrote:Delete the face and recreate it by drawing over the8 edges in a clockwise direction.
The face will reform try re-roofing...


Thanks for the hint.
Doesn't work either - unfortunately.

I've deleted the face. By drawing the first edge, it reappeared - grrr.
So, I've copied it (z more than 0, I've learned above ;-) ) and drawn the eddes by reference lines. Deleted the face and the edges and drawn it all clockwise.
Bugsplat again.

Ha!!! There it was: Before I used the plugin, I turned the face correctly. Without turning it (the backside above) it works!

So long
Robert
0

ervau 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby sokeuyhaw » Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:46 pm

it's nice plugin and work as well in sketchup pro 2014 thanks TIG
0

sokeuyhaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby Mill29 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 12:18 pm

Very great tool, thanks a lot!
0

Mill29 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby grim » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:52 am

:thumbd: hipped does not seem to work in SU2015 is this correct for anyone else????
0

grim 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby TIG » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:54 am

It should work in all versions...
I'll double-check...
Did you install the latest version from the PluginStore ?
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=Roof
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby Dave R » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:22 am

It worked for me in SU2015.

Hipped.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby grim » Mon Jan 05, 2015 6:36 am

thanks for the input, i have removed it and reloaded it a couple of times it seamed to clash with onion dome which also did not work removing onion dome and reinstalling roof ----------- now works

thankyou
1

grim 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926 not working

Postby huckrorick » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:41 am

Hi,
I just installed the latest version.
I made a simple rectangle. Selected the face.
Went to Plugins>Roof>Hip
no matter what combination of parameters I use I get a message saying:
"Hipped Roof Error.
It was not possible to make a single pitch hipped roof from this face."

What could be the problem.

Using SketchUp 8 Pro, Windows 8.1
0

huckrorick 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926 not working

Postby Krisidious » Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:00 am

huckrorick wrote:Hi,
I just installed the latest version.
I made a simple rectangle. Selected the face.
Went to Plugins>Roof>Hip
no matter what combination of parameters I use I get a message saying:
"Hipped Roof Error.
It was not possible to make a single pitch hipped roof from this face."

What could be the problem.

Using SketchUp 8 Pro, Windows 8.1


just guessing here... broken edges? are you lines complete and unbroken?
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby pilou » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:09 am

Just Push Pull your surface (even 1 mm), select the top one then call the plug! ;)
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:16 am

As Pilou says, the roof face's plane must be 'flat', BUT it CANNOT be at z=0.

BUT this might not be the issue...

It is quite possible to make a face-shape that can't be used to make a properly resolved hipped roof - at least one with all faces at the same angle as needed by 'Roof' - e.g. a cranked star...
Try making the roof manually - it's not possible to 'hip-roof' some such forms unless you make some roof-faces slope at different angles...

Also sometimes a face's edge-order get 'jumbled' - the solution is then to select the face, group it and then explode it immediately, this often fixes the data-base jumble as the merged face/edges are properly ordered.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby LarryCarrerra » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:58 pm

Hi to all,
First of all, thanks to everyone in the Sketchup community, I'm new to it and I discover really fair people. Now to TIG, thank you for this great plugin, really powerful, a masterpiece ! A free masterpiece !
Unfortunately I'm too young here to send MPs so my request will be public.
Actually I have to teach Sketchup and I would like to put the "roof" plugin into the process. Issue : I'm french and not everyone understand english (especially technical terms), is it possible to get the "unscrambled" version so I can traduce it in french ? If it's possible I would be pleased to upload it here with your agreement.
Thank you in advance.
Larry
0

LarryCarrerra 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby TIG » Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:28 pm

It's not a 'scrambled' file :?
If you download the RBZ archive from http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=Roof
and change the file-ending to .zip you can then extract its contents, which is this RBZ is just a single .rb file.
You can then open that file in 'Notepad' on PC ['Notepad++' recommended] or 'TextWrangler' on MAC.
Edit it as you wish.
Translating English strings to French.
If you use 'Notepad++' the text-strings [which occur in between ' ' or " "] they are colored clearly so you can see them.
These occur in .menu, .statusbar and .messagebox methods...
Good luck...

Please don't publish the changed .rb outside of your immediate FR 'circle', without more discussions with me...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby LarryCarrerra » Thu Feb 12, 2015 3:54 pm

Oh right. I did that but for some reasons I though it was uneditable... I think I'm a bit slow..!
Thank you very much for your response and advices :)
0

LarryCarrerra 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby sherwood111 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:24 am

Hello,

Is anyone having problems using "roof" in 2017 pro ?

I get this in the ruby console (for a hipped roof) :
[it works fine in 2016 pro]

Error: #<TypeError: reference to deleted Face>
C:/Users/apache3/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/Roof.rb:287:in `outer_loop'
C:/Users/apache3/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/Roof.rb:287:in `hip'
C:/Users/apache3/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/Roof.v4.rb:4088:in `block in <top (required)>'
SketchUp:1:in `call'
0

sherwood111 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:47 pm

It currently does not work in v2017 because of the way they changed how SketchUp references/IDs exploded entities.
It was reported in a separate post just before Xmas, it's on my list of things to fix...
Meanwhile you can still use it in v2016 and import the roof geometry into a v2017 model
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby sherwood111 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:02 pm

TIG, Thanks for your reply and all that You do.

Yep, I'm finding that I have to utilize a
similar workflow as a workaround with other
plugins too ... (in my transition to 2017).

[slightly off subject]
In general, I also get the annoying extension
manager popup every session :
"There are 'x' extensions ready to be updated"
However, they won't update for various reasons.

Onward and upward, as they say. :)
0

sherwood111 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb v3.7 20110926

Postby tylovset » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:11 pm

Hi TIG, sherwood111

To make it work in su2017, simply comment out the line 'gp.explode' two places in the file.
The code is referring to entities from a group after an explode, which is not allowed...

Alternatively, move the lines mentioned down, e.g. before 'if sof==0###v3.0', to get rid of the group when no longer referred to. There are also other groups left in the model created, not sure if that is intentional.

Just a small contribution to thank for a fantastic plugin, has been most valuable!

-tyge
0

tylovset 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:45 pm

Here's v4.0
There are some minor tweaks and it has been adjusted for full certification in v2016/2017 and also full compatibility with v2017's id changes etc.

Download

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby sherwood111 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:24 pm

Excellent ..
Yes, it is a fantastic and valuable plugin (installed and working in 2017).
tylovset, Thank You for your time and input . . .
TIG, Thank You for the plugin, your time and update.
Very Much Appreciated !
0

sherwood111 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby utiler » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:11 am

Thanks for doing this, TIG. very much appreciated; as always.....
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby pbacot » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:42 am

Thanks TIG!!!!
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby seasdes » Wed Jan 25, 2017 2:36 am

20170125_122415.jpg
Hello TIG

I have installed V4.0 into SU2017.

I drew a simple rectanglular face and tried to create a hipped roof. However, I get the attached error message. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?
0
Using Sketchup Pro 2019

seasdes 
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby facer » Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:06 am

SketchUp 2016 W10 32 bit


I get the same error message in SketchUp 2016 Roof v4.0

Tried also for version Roof v3.7 and got the same error message
0
User avatar
facer 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:24 pm

This limitation is set out in the Help...

Your selected flat face cannot be at z=0 [i.e. on the ground].

Also it's best if the seed-face is looking upwards !

Yours is facing down AND at z=0

Try again, avoiding those limitations, i.e move the face up off the ground and reverse it so it's upwards... and it should then work [unless of course your face has such a complicated outline that it is just not possible to add a single-pitch hipped roof over it... but that's another issue]...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby Dave R » Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:29 pm

It works as expected for me. Thanks TIG!
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Roof.rb

Postby seasdes » Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:07 am

Thanks so much TIG.
I assume that the help file for V3 is still current :oops:
0
Using Sketchup Pro 2019

seasdes 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Extensions & Applications Discussions

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Visit our sponsors: