Shortcut to ungroup

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Shortcut to ungroup

Postby NickGenerator » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:21 pm

Hi.

I am using CTRL + G to group, but wasn't able to create a shortcut like SHIFT + CTRL + G to ungroup. Is it my fault or not possible?
0

NickGenerator 
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby massimo » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:31 pm

What do you mean with "ungroup"? Explode? You can customize your shortcuts going to window-->preferences-->shortcuts. Remember to select a group first.
0
Last edited by massimo on Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
massimo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:34 pm

It's called 'Explode'.

Select a Group.
Open Windows > Preferences > Shortcuts.
Filter for 'Explode'.
Select the command and set up your preferred shortcut...
OK/Save/Close

Some shortcut commands are context-sensitive - for example if you want to shortcut face-reversal you will need a Face to have been selected BEFORE opening the dialog for you to be able to see 'Reverse' as one of the available commands...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby NickGenerator » Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:56 pm

TIG wrote:It's called 'Explode'.


Not in my version. Sorry.

TIG wrote:Some shortcut commands are context-sensitive


Thanks a lot. That is news to me.
0

NickGenerator 
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:02 pm

Marcus

When you select a Group the relevant context-menu IS 'Explode' on a PC - I'd be surprised if the MAC version were different, because you can select a combination of Groups AND Components and 'Explode' them all at once... what'd your context-menu say then ?
You may well have some third-party tool loading that adds 'Ungroup'... but it's not a native tool, and God knows what it does...
:?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby NickGenerator » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:25 pm

TIG wrote:When you select a Group the relevant context-menu IS 'Explode' on a PC ... what'd your context-menu say then ?


No, my version is just German.
0

NickGenerator 
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby Gaieus » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:36 pm

Okay, what do you have here (in the context or "right click" menu)?

explode-1.png

or here (under the edit menu)?

explode-2.png

For both, you need to pre-select the group first - and also you need to pre-select it in order for the available shortcut to appear in the Preferences list.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
Administrator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby lecra » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:55 pm

People,

I noticed the same!! In the shortcut menu 'Explode' is only available if you have already grouped an object! Maybe a bug.

Draw some objects and group through the CTRL+G and then go to the shortcut editor and search for Edit/Item/Explode. Assign the new shortcut. I used U for ungroup. It is assigned to another command but I took it anyway.

Greetings to Germany
0
KR; Lecra

I'm new to SU but so thirstily to learn all the stuff. Help me fighting against my thirst

lecra 
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby massimo » Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:01 pm

lecra wrote:People,

I noticed the same!! In the shortcut menu 'Explode' is only available if you have already grouped an object! Maybe a bug.


massimo wrote: Remember to select a group first.

TIG wrote:Some shortcut commands are context-sensitive - for example if you want to shortcut face-reversal you will need a Face to have been selected BEFORE opening the dialog for you to be able to see 'Reverse' as one of the available commands...

Gaieus wrote:For both, you need to pre-select the group first - and also you need to pre-select it in order for the available shortcut to appear in the Preferences list.
0
User avatar
massimo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby Dave R » Fri Jan 27, 2012 12:43 pm

lecra wrote:People,

I noticed the same!! In the shortcut menu 'Explode' is only available if you have already grouped an object! Maybe a bug.


No it isn't a bug. If you haven't selected a group or component, there's nothing to explode so it doesn't show in the context menu or the Shortcuts editor. It's supposed to work that way. There is a large number of other items that only show in the Shortcuts editor when something is selected on which that shortcut can be performed.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby cotty » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:18 pm

lecra wrote:People,

I noticed the same!! In the shortcut menu 'Explode' is only available if you have already grouped an object! Maybe a bug.



In german it is called "In Einzelteile auflösen" and the possible bug is not in the contextmenu but in the preferences:
- If no group or component is selected, the entry is not there (see picture)
- If a group is selected, you can find the entry in the shortcut list
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:32 pm

Cotty

You misunderstand - 'Explode' [or whatever it's called in your locale] will only appear in the Preferences > Shortcuts filtered list IF an appropriate object is selected in the SKP.
You can 'Explode' Groups/Components [same 'Explode'] BUT note there are other 'Explode' tools too - for a selected 'Image', and a selected 'Curve' - these are both different 'Explodes'. So if you want to shortcut to Explode a Curve select an arc and filter for 'Explode' and then shortcut to that [using a different key-combo]. Then one shortcut key-combo will Explode Groups/Components, the other key-combo will Explode Curves etc.

There are many commands that only appear in [context-]menus IF certain criteria are met - in turn these commands will not show on the list for shortcutting if they are not in the menu - so if you don't select a Group you don't see Explode in the list, if you don't select a Face you don't see Reverse in the list, if you don't select one Section-Plane you won't see SectionCutFace in the list etc etc...
It's quite logical ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby Dave R » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:37 pm

cotty wrote:
lecra wrote:People,

I noticed the same!! In the shortcut menu 'Explode' is only available if you have already grouped an object! Maybe a bug.



In german it is called "In Einzelteile auflösen" and the possible bug is not in the contextmenu but in the preferences:
- If no group or component is selected, the entry is not there (see picture)
- If a group is selected, you can find the entry in the shortcut list


The short of it is, there is no bug.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Shortcut to ungroup

Postby cotty » Fri Jan 27, 2012 4:45 pm

TIG wrote:There are many commands that only appear in [context-]menus IF certain criteria are met


Yes, I knew that, but I thought that in the general preferences there should be all possible entries independent of the model or the selection. So the general preferences are not as general as I expected... good to know ;)
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Visit our sponsors: