Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:35 pm

Hey guys I'm new to this forum :) and I have a problem...

I used sketchup on my PC and it works fine and all but when when I used it in my new laptop, it works, but when I open a File or try to save as... Sketchup Crashes! without a trace :x

My Laptop is Hp Pavilion dv2000 running Windows Vista Home Premium 2 Gb RAM 120Gb HDD Nvdia

BTW pls don't tell me about Google Sketchup Groups cuz I ask them a few months ago and they didn't answer. or say "did you use Run as Administrator?" cuz I did... or an even nubish qs like "Did you update my Graphic cards?"..... :x I reinstalled about 30 times and still have the same problems :x

umm I'm using Google Sketchup 6 hmm wondering if there'll be an update?

OMG jeez its already 10 mts after they made sketchup 6 and they still haven't made a Vista Compatible Sketchup yet??!! At least make Sketchup 6.5 or 7... I still have to put run in windows 98/Me :x or it gets stuck dead....Terrible....

Pls Help!! I miss using Sketchup :(

P: Farean
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Tobobo » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:36 pm

Firstly calm down mate. We are nicer here, even thought I can't help you, the mods can. They won't leave you hanging. Gaieus can you help this frustrated user?

Also try the search tool, you might find what you are after in there.

Sorry couldn't solve it. but don't worry we're all friends here.
0
Toby

Philippians 4:13

I can do everything through him who gives me strength.
User avatar
Tobobo 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:37 pm

try right clicking on the program icon before you open it, and look for something like properties and look for "run as XP comapatable" or the like.

I don't have Vista... still on 2000 Pro ;)

maybe screen shot your options so I can look at them.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:37 pm

0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby alpro » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:38 pm

Hi, I'm using the latest release of SU, 6.0.1099, Kris pointed you to the update, also Nvidia driver before current release, with Vista Home Premium and everything works fine so there is hope, I think as long as you have current Nvidia drivers and latest release of SU, you should be fine.


Mike
0

alpro 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Gaieus » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:38 pm

Tobobo wrote:...I can't help you, the mods can. They won't leave you hanging. Gaieus can you help this frustrated user?...

Thanks, Toby, for the trust but we are not magicians. I for instance don't have Vista so definitely cannot help Farean out.

But a forum is not based upon the mods so let's hope that Taff (for instance) drops by and will help Farean out!
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Daniel Bouchard » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:38 pm

I Farean,

I don't know if this link will help you but I used to have a problem like yours when I tried to use SU on my new computer with Vista and a Nvidia graphics card at home (follow the eight-steps installation instruction). Before following these eight steps I have used a normal upgrade for my graphics card but SU was still freasing.

Check out this link

http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/ ... swer=69299
0

Daniel Bouchard 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby TaffGoch » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:39 pm

Farean,

I hesitate to ask any additional questions regarding your problem, your system, your computer experience, or details of what you've tried already. I wouldn't want to offend, or imply by my questions, that you are a newbie (as if that were a bad thing. With Vista, everyone's a newbie!)

Note that Vista has problems with other software, not just SketchUp. Vista is technically still in a 'beta' phase, and will likely remain so until the first service pack is released. It has been released upon the general public, who serve as guinea pigs for debugging.

The 'newness' of Vista is also the reason so many deficiencies in the graphics card drivers provided by Microsoft and the card manufacturers. These drivers are likely to undergo frequent revisions, until (most) problems are resolved.

I just purchased a new laptop myself, through Dell business/office sales, rather than general public consumer sales. You can no longer buy a Dell consumer machine with Windows XP. They all come with Vista installed. Virtually all business sales, however, are XP, as most businesses are unwilling to deal with anything other than the most-reliable operating system. Once the general public has served to debug Vista, businesses will start to migrate (maybe another year or two from now.) Buying a business machine provided me with the opportunity to stick with XP.
______

The reason for asking details about your system, and the problem history, is that many people run SketchUp on Vista without problems. There is, therefore, something unique to your system causing the problem. All we can do is attempt to isolate the cause. To do that, you must be willing to experiment. This is a trial-and-error process. Some suggested trials won't work. We need to rule out possible problems, until success is achieved (hopefully.)

There is no formula or single fix that can be delivered upon demand/request.
________

The best way to start is to first remove as many variables as possible. This includes Vista variables, OpenGL variables and SketchUp variables.

Vista & Installation of SketchUp

I've periodically seen posts where Google Support personnel suggest uninstalling SketchUp, then reinstalling while in Vista 'Safe Mode' environment. This helps ensure that the installation is not somehow compromised by something running in the background. (Once installed, the Safe Mode should not be required to run SketchUp.)

The generic installation recommendations reference Vista and 'Administrator rights.' (This is likely the source of the advice previously suggested to you.)
http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=56085
(Take special note of step 9.)

Graphics support

The default Microsoft graphics drivers distributed with Vista are woefully out-of-date. Google recommends an immediate (and frequent repeated) update of the driver, especially for nVidia cards. The nVidia drivers receive special mention on this Help Center page:
http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=69299

SketchUp

Once installed, run SketchUp, go to 'Window > Preferences > OpenGL' and disable 'Use hardware acceleration.' Close SketchUp.
________

Reboot.
________

Test running SketchUp, including file access (loading and saving files.)

As for the 'running' environment, it is recommended that you...
"Exit any programs or utilities running in the background (anti-virus software, printer/plotter managers, pop-up blockers, security/firewall software, remote desktop connection software, and so on.)"
http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=36259
________

If it works, great. But note that all we've done is remove variables. We haven't actually isolated the problem.

To continue, re-introduce all that we've circumvented, one-at-a-time. Start with OpenGL (as that seems to be the most common deficiency.) Re-enable 'hardware acceleration,' close SketchUp, re-start, and test SketchUp functions again.

If everything works, then the new OpenGL driver may have fixed the problem. If the file problem re-appears, then the driver is definitely the fault.

Next, re-introduce background tasks, one-at-a-time, (firewall, anti-virus, blockers, etc.) testing SketchUp with each change in operating environment.

Eventually (hopefully,) you should be back to a 'default' operating environment, with all background tasks running (and SketchUp, too.)
________

Please note again that I don't have Vista. The above is simply a compilation of all that I've read in Help Group discussions and in the SketchUp Help Center. You don't mention whether you use SketchUp Pro or the free version. If the above does not resolve the problem, and you use SketchUp Pro, you can contact SketchUp Support.
http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=46781

The Help Group and the Community Forum are comprised of volunteers, and may not be able to resolve a unique situation. We can only speak from experience, limited as SketchUp users, not developers (although some SketchUp folks do monitor these groups.)
________

A very experienced computer tech could run background monitoring programs to watch what is happening with the system when a SketchUp error occurs. These system tools, like 'Event viewer' and the 'SysInternals' tools, are available on your system, or are available free from Microsoft. I've occasionally used these tools, but it requires intimate familiarity with operating system processes and services.

Event Viewer is already on XP systems, so I presume the same is true for Vista. The SysInternal tools, which can monitor just about anything, are available from Microsoft:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/default.mspx

Since I don't know your computer proficiency, I'm uncertain that you possess the expertise to apply these tools. I mention them in case you are one of the fortunate few who don't fear to tread where most dare not go (a most exclusive club.) Some of these tools may even be used by Google SketchUp developers who are trying to debug a problem. Even then, they need to be able to reproduce your problem on one of their computers. This is often the limiting block to resolving a problem. They may not be able to reproduce your error.
________

If all this fails, then you may be forced to wait until graphics drivers and Vista 'catch-up' to the requirements of SketchUp (most of this has to do with OpenGL compatibility.) SketchUp is on the leading edge of programming that relies on the OpenGL standards. Microsoft, on the other hand, isn't that interested in OpenGL because they developed the competing technology, DirectX.

Graphics card manufacturers do implement OpenGL, but typically only so far. They implement only those functions required to run OpenGL games, not the entire OpenGL standard.
http://sketchup.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=36252
________

Regardless of Toby's disparaging implication that the Help Group is unfriendly, I've seen (and hopefully contributed to) a lot of SketchUp users receiving help from the two groups. Several of the participants here also contribute to helping users there.
http://groups.google.com/group/SketchUp/topics
http://groups.google.com/group/sketchup-Pro-Groups/topics

I'm sorry that you didn't receive satifactory responses from your previous request. Please, don't let that stop you from availing yourself of future assistance or advice from all three communities. (I've learned most of the above by frequenting all three forums.)

I would like to be able to guarantee that the above advice will resolve your problem. Unfortuately, I sometimes don't know how to help further.

Please keep us posted regarding your progress. Others may have an identical problem, so we have an interest in hearing about both successes and failures.
________
Regards,
Taff
0
"Information is not knowledge." -- Albert Einstein
User avatar
TaffGoch 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:40 pm

and the worlds longest post award goes too.... lol

now thats what I call detailed and informative. thanks.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:41 pm

Tobobo wrote:Firstly calm down mate. We are nicer here, even thought I can't help you, the mods can. They won't leave you hanging. Gaieus can you help this frustrated user?

Also try the search tool, you might find what you are after in there.

Sorry couldn't solve it. but don't worry we're all friends here.


@Tobobo: thanks for the comfort... makes me feel at home here hehehe :mrgreen:

wow thanks for the replys guys :egrin:!! this is way better than google groups.. I'm sorry about how I just burst in here like a girl screamming with pms lol... since I was worried that everyone would ignore me and stuff

ahhaa yea I am Fustrated since my PC which was working well with Sketchup 6 is with my parents + sketchup didn't make an update yet to solve every problem on sketchup for windows vista..IMHO they released Sktchup 6 on the wrong time when Windows Vista is going to be relesed.. I'm surprised that they did not make any new updates yet...already 10 mts!

no this isn't about when I opened sketchup 6 freezes its that when I go to File>Open or File>Save as, Sketchup just dissapears... like when you exit a windows... hmm here's the video I made in youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Myf0u3lz1Q

^^ you kinda have to full screen it....

Krisidious wrote:http://docs.google.com/View?docid=ajg9d ... 925h&pli=1

latest update I think...


that's the version I'm using ii SU(6.0.1099) still had my problem.. :)

oya I updated my Videocard from windows update don't know but the Videocard update from Geforce somehow doesn't work....

P: Farean
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:46 pm

Craig had mentioned today here ... http://www.sketchucation.com/scf/viewto ... 286#p29286
that you may need to open your sketchup files directly by double clicking on a file. copy a skp file onto your desktop and try opening it by double clicking it. then try saving...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:48 pm

Krisidious wrote:Craig had mentioned today here ... http://www.sketchucation.com/scf/viewto ... =60&t=3324
that you may need to open your sketchup files directly by double clicking on a file. copy a skp file onto your desktop and try opening it by double clicking it. then try saving...



:o It worked! Finally! I thought I already did this ... weird... oh well... Thanks everyone! all of you've been so helpfull :ewink:

P: Farean
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Hi All I'm New..but need some help....

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:49 pm

ahhhhh fantastic, so glad you're up and running...

now let's see some of what you're working on. ;)
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alpt and 5 guests

Visit our sponsors: