Newbie with Mac Questions

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Newbie with Mac Questions

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:38 am

Hello Everyone-

I have been using SU since the spring of 05. I recently started my own company (architecture) and decided to switch to Mac. I purchased a new IMac (2.8 Ghz Extreme with 2G of RAM) to run ArchiCAD and SU. Last week I purchased SU Pro and have been working on an interiors model that is approximately 13MB.

Here is my frustration: I was under the assumption that the hardware I was purchasing was powerful enough to handle SU with no problems (according to the Genius I spoke to). However, I am now finding out that the graphics card that came with the Imac is considered lower end for what is on the market today. I am not too impressed at all with the hardware ability to work with this model that is only 13MB. It is jumping when I pan and the rotate function stalls out a lot. I see that SU requires a min of 512MB on the video card and the card that came with the Imac has only 256MB.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Any suggestions on how I may speed up my productivity? I have turned off the 'fast feedback' function but I do not see any difference. Also, I have deleted all of my materials and I am using simple colors only. That helped the most.

Thanks

Dan

P: yuri00
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Newbie with Mac Questions

Postby Edson » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:40 am

hi yuri,

as a fellow mac user i know exactly what you feel. i started using SU in my eMac (32 Mb graphics card). just imagine how slow that was. after that i bought an iMac intel with 3Mb RAM and a 128 Mb card (i was stupid enough to overlook the possibility of buying one with a 256 Mb card). of course, things improved enormously but not to the point of handling any file.

quite recently i got a macbook pro with 4Mb RAM and a 256 Mb graphics card. it runs very well but, to tell you the truth, there was no noticeable change from the imac.

all this to tell you two things: the only machine that would handle anything would be the mammoth mac pro but who needs a bazooka to kill a bird? the other is: james is right, one has to resort to some strategies to keep the file manageable. one useful thread is this one on the use of layers.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Newbie with Mac Questions

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:41 am

Thanks for the help. I ordered 2 more gig of ram that I should get tomorrow. I don't know if that will make a difference but it is recommended by ArchiCAD to have 4G.

I have used the layer management techniques a lot and that seems to help.

P: yuri00
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Newbie with Mac Questions

Postby not registered yet » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:42 am

I am not sure if it is simply my imagination but I have noticed a big difference with jumping up to 4 gig.

Is that possible???

P: yuri00
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Newbie with Mac Questions

Postby Edson » Fri Nov 30, 2007 3:42 am

i surely think it is! doubling your RAM has to have some effect on your machine.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Visit our sponsors: