Taper?

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Taper?

Postby 3eighty » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:10 pm

Is there a way to taper a long cyl??? Like an airplane body.
0

3eighty 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Krisidious » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:10 pm

yes

create the cylnder...

select the top circle...

select the scale tool...

scale about the corners... should create a cone.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby not registered yet » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:11 pm

To taper a cylinder, you simply need to scale the face at one end either larger or smaller. But I think there's more to the shape of an airplane fuselage than a tapered cylinder.

See what you think of this:

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/ ... 821a0d6b6c

-Gully
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby alan wood » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:12 pm

Hi guys,
I think there were a few people on the old forum who did a teach package on this. I think, one was Jean Lemire who is a member of this forum.

Alan.
0

alan wood 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Gaieus » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:13 pm

Hi 3eighty,

Gully's tuts are very intuitive, I'd suggest it to you .
I also made a tut about tapering into a non-parallel shape (see it here) but for a fuselage a simple follow me would also do it. However an airplane body is not axisymmetrical (correct my English, Gully, if the term is not correct, please...)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby dylan » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:13 pm

Again, nice simple effective tut Gulley, good stuff!

Another way to taper a cylinder similar to Kris's method is to highlite the top edge and in the Entity Info box and change the circle radius.
0

dylan 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Krisidious » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:14 pm

speaking of that dylan, have you ever wished you could change the square footage manually, by typing in that info box?
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby 3eighty » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:14 pm

As always a BIG thank you to you all...Off to play now..
0

3eighty 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby dylan » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:14 pm

krisidious wrote:speaking of that dylan, have you ever wished you could change the square footage manually, by typing in that info box?

I have never actually thought of that, but now you mention it..
0

dylan 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Krisidious » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:15 pm

I can never get an acre to be an arce by drawing it. in a square... it's always off just a little in square feet...

if I could type it in that would be great... but then it would have to push it'self out along some edge and chose that edge.

ahhh to wish
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Gaieus » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:16 pm

I don't have any problem with hectars though (100 metres by 100 metres = 10,000 square metres).
Why don't you convert to some more logical measurement units?!
:D
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Jean Lemire » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Hi folks.

See attached SU file. This an acre with an error of about 0.0000004 %.

Just ideas.

Acre.skp
0
Jean (Johnny) Lemire from Richelieu, Quebec, Canada.
User avatar
Jean Lemire 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Krisidious » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Gaieus wrote:I don't have any problem with hectars though (100 metres by 100 metres = 10,000 square metres).
Why don't you convert to some more logical measurement units?!
:D


from your lips to our goverment's ears... we pray...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Krisidious » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:19 pm

yes Jean, that's very good... but you've got your units set to decimal. so it's for some reason much more accurate.

I'm set on imperial... so taking Jean's que...

I took his? drawing... and converted it to imperial. and then it's exactly an acre. or 43,560 sq. ft.

so I guess if an imperial person wants a precise drawing, we need to draw in decimal then convert to imperial....

well thanks for the work around Jean... boy or girl, not sure?

don't take offense, my name is Kris with a K so I know...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: Taper?

Postby juju » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:20 pm

Looking at the signature it reads "(Johnny)" so I guess Jean is male and not female then. ;)
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Taper?

Postby Jean Lemire » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:21 pm

Hi folks.

Yes, I use Johnny with my English speaking friends.

Jean is the french for John.
0
Jean (Johnny) Lemire from Richelieu, Quebec, Canada.
User avatar
Jean Lemire 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Visit our sponsors: