Save as legacy version

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Save as legacy version

Postby huajiet » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:38 pm

Hi Sketchucators, need your help:

I use SketchUp Make Pro 2014 on my work desktop, and a SketchUp 2016 (free) on my home laptop. I normally work on files synced to the cloud. To avoid version conflicts, I wrote a simple script that enables me to save in version 8 using the shortcut Ctrl+Alt+S. However, being human, sometimes I still forget.

How can I write a script that will remind me to save as version 8 every time I close a working file? i.e. Instead of simply reminding me to save my work, SketchUp will remind me to save in a particular version when I close the file.

Anyone? Much thanks!


Re: Save as legacy version

Postby Jim » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:25 pm

It is possible to have a plugin not only remind you, but to actually save the model as v2014 whenever the model is saved by normal methods (using File > save, or ctrl-s.)

I'll post something hopefully today.

One problem though is a doubling of the save time since the model will be saved once as the default version, then again as the v2014 version. So maybe this is not the best way.

Global Moderator

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago

Ad Machine 


Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brooksjasen and 6 guests

Visit our sponsors: