[Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 27-Mar-2014

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame

Postby trimguy66 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:48 am

Thanks for all the replies !!

I uninstalled the plugin, and then reinstalled, by saving to my desktop and then dropping in to my plugins folder. I am still getting the same results.

I am running Windows 7 / SU 8

I haven't tried removing all my other plugins, and restarting SU yet.
I am hoping that the ruby console will shed some light on my problem, before I go through removing all the plugins.

Thanks,
Wayne
0

trimguy66 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:52 am

Wayne

You have helpfully posted the RC error message BUT you have scrolled it, so the most important lines telling us what has just happened are missing. :roll:
Could you recreate the error and post the entire error message again.
Once we know what the error says then sdmitch can probably go :idea: and see what to trap/fix...

I doubt very much it is a clash - more likely a simply coding error that occurs when particular parameters are chosen for a certain form of face etc... I'd expect it to be relatively easy to fix once the full RC error is known
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:59 am

Don't worry about the RC message...

I now see that an RC screenshot that was posted earlier shows the error to be in line #433...
pts<<p.offset(xa,dx/2).offset(ya,-dy).offset(za,(dx*@tpcnt+0.01)*sign(v.z))
The method 'sign' is not defined in the tool's code and it's not a standard Ruby method either BUT it is defined in DC stuff... so perhaps users with the DC extension loaded will get it working OK anyway... or maybe another tool that not all users have is making it ? No unencrypted script is making it, so it must be an rbs file ?

It is only called once in the whole file...
The way to find the 'sign' of a value would be work for everyone as:
...*((v.z)<=>0)

OR you could add a new method into this tool's code, so if you use it more than once
Code: Select all
def sign(n=0)
  return n<=>0
end
Usage: *sign(n)

Sdmitch to fix !
It's easily sorted...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame

Postby trimguy66 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:51 am

Tig,
Thanks for your response, but I must admit coding is greek to this carpenter, I did attach a shot of the ruby console,scrolled in the proper position, in case it helps any.

I also added a shot of my plugin folder, to see if anything in there would help.

Thanks for everyone's help
Wayne
0

trimguy66 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:11 pm

That is the 'sign' error.
Which means for some reason you do not have the 'sign' function added to Ruby by some other tool...
It's easily fixed by editing the script at line #433.
I have PM'd you [and Sdmitch] a working copy...
BUT Sdmitch ought to fix it officially and post an update...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby sdmitch » Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:46 pm

Sorry about the sign function problem that some have experienced. It never was a problem for me.

A new version with TIG's fix has been posted.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby trimguy66 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:09 pm

Thank You sdmitch and TIG, the updated plugin work perfectly. :ecstatic:

This place is such a wealth of knowledge and sharing!!!

Now off to sdmitch's blog, to check out some of the very cool sounding plugins........

Have A Great Day!!!!!
Wayne
0

trimguy66 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:37 pm

Glad it's fixed. :D

:? I've never come across this 'sign()' method before, although I can confirm that I have it auto-loaded into my Sketchup Ruby, even without DCs loading, and there's no 'sign' of it in any RB scripts I have that I've grepped - so I suspect an unidentified RBS file adds it, and if a user doesn't have that loading then they are screwed...
I'd be interested to learn where 'sign()' originates...

Meanwhile using the 'comparator' n<=>0 returns either 0, 1 or -1: which, when used with * effectively uses the 'sign' of the number 'n' in a calculation, without passing its real numerical 'value'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby sdmitch » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:32 pm

I'm really not 100% sure where I found the sign function but I believe it was in the Ruby Console. Apparently I typed something like sign(-5) and it returned -1 so I assumed that it was a common function. I do have Ruby 1.8.6 installed so maybe that's why it works for me.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby TIG » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:46 pm

I too get sign() in the RC... but with a standard SUp-Ruby only installation and DCs etc disabled I still get it.
And it's not deined in any .rb files I have loading...
So I must assume that there a .rbs file loading from somewhere that adds the global method...
The alternative 'standard' way of n<=>0 is easy enough though...

Another one that sometimes trips up scripters is group.definition [which is needed for adding instances of a group into another entities context etc, when 'copying' or 'moving' it to mimic Copy/Cut/Paste_In_Place...] - the method component_instance.definition does return the component's definition and some 3rd party tools add group.definition to the mix... but if you use that method and the recipient of your script hasn't got the other 3rd party script that adds it, then they'll get errors. The 'safe' way is to use group.entities.parent which returns that group's definition properly...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby gullfo » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:07 pm

this is a very cool script! :ecstatic: attached are a couple of examples of it in use. couple of things - the header spacing looks like there is overlap. also, after using the tool it's somewhat arbitrary if the dialog comes back or not :? in example #1 i'd also tried to use it on a floor and on a ceiling. it's mostly there. in example #2 i tried to use it for a "soffit" and the vertical bits work as expected but the horizontal ones (like #1) are not computing right. this is definitely a great bit of work however it ends!
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame update 6-apr-13

Postby sdmitch » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:46 pm

Given the fact that the plugin was designed for vertical walls, I'm not surprised that it had a problem with floors and ceilings.

The apparent overlap of the headers is the 3/4" plywood spacer between the headers.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:06 pm

The apparent overlap of the headers is the 3/4" plywood spacer between the headers.


Yes that was my addition... Here in America on the jobs that I've worked we use Plywood in our headers.

0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby mics_54 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:32 am

I haven't laminated headers in a decades...energy efficiency dictates 4x10 or 4x12 headers with 2 inches of foam insulation or spray foam on fully sheathed structures.
0

mics_54 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:43 am

mics_54 wrote:I haven't laminated headers in a decades...energy efficiency dictates 4x10 or 4x12 headers with 2 inches of foam insulation or spray foam on fully sheathed structures.


Rich Boy... :roflmao:
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:45 am

I must admit I have not framed a house in probably 20 years and I don't provide framing details as framers from different areas do things differently and I assume know their trade better than I. So I would defer to those who know better.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby mics_54 » Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:18 am

You're warm weather too...I do arctic construction.
0

mics_54 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby gullfo » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:48 pm

i wasn't sure if that was a laminate or not but it's ok. in general, i see a lot of newer construction with the laminated i-beam for the headers (similar to floors and rafters) and a foam fill. i think the headers work as-is and folks can draw any details necessary to describe their preferred approach :) it would be really cool if you could "x" the ends of the lumber so a 2D / wireframe view can show it like a construction plan would...
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 6-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:19 pm

gullfo wrote:i wasn't sure if that was a laminate or not but it's ok. in general, i see a lot of newer construction with the laminated i-beam for the headers (similar to floors and rafters) and a foam fill. i think the headers work as-is and folks can draw any details necessary to describe their preferred approach :) it would be really cool if you could "x" the ends of the lumber so a 2D / wireframe view can show it like a construction plan would...


I considered that X as well, but not only at the ends but two faces all the way through studs, so that any stud in any location would show in sections as such. It would jump the polys up quite a bit but I don't think that would be a very big issue.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby sdmitch » Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:44 pm

Just posted an update to Face2Frame. Now does floors, faces on the XY plane, and adds "X"s to ends of studs, headers and/or joist.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby LAUFERON » Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:32 am

I'm french and i'd like the same famous plugin in metric units !

A dream for woodworkers....
0
User avatar
LAUFERON 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby sdmitch » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:34 pm

lauferon wrote:I'm french and i'd like the same famous plugin in metric units !

A dream for woodworkers....



Sorry, I don't do metric.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby TIG » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:53 pm

You can 'metricate' it relatively easily...
Code: Select all
@wall_type = "Ext" #unless @wall_type
@stud_size = "2X4" #unless @stud_size;
@stud_space=16.inch #unless @stud_space
@header_size = "2X8" #unless @header_size
@corner_type = "A"
@thickness=0.0
could become
Code: Select all
@wall_type = "Ext" #unless @wall_type
@stud_size = "50mmX100mm" #unless @stud_size;
@stud_space=400.mm #unless @stud_space
@header_size = "50mmX200mm" #unless @header_size
@corner_type = "A"
@thickness=0.mm
Then in the html code... make similar edits so
<option value='2X2'>2x2</option>
...
<option value='16\"' selected>16\"</option>
becomes
<option value='50mmX50mm'>50mmx50mm</option>
...
<option value='400mm' selected>400mm</option>
and so on...
Now the cases for the stud sizes...
case @stud_size
when "2X2" : dx = 1.500.inch; dy = 1.500.inch;

...
becomes
case @stud_size
when "50mmX50mm" ; dx = 38.mm; dy = 38.mm;

OR whatever...
Fix all 8 or so of those sizes...
unless @wall_type=="Int" || (@stud_size!="2X4" && @stud_size!="2X6")
case @stud_size
when "2X4"
case @corner_type
when "A" ; studs=self.A_2X4(xa,ya,p,v,dx,dy)

...
Needs to be looked at...
unless @wall_type=="Int" || (@stud_size!="50mmX100mm" && @stud_size!="50mmX150mm")
case @stud_size
when "50mmX100mm"
case @corner_type
when "A" ; studs=self.A_50mmX100mm(xa,ya,p,v,dx,dy)

...
Then rename the matching
def A_2X4(vx,vy,p,v,dx,dy)
as
def A_50mmX100mm(vx,vy,p,v,dx,dy)
etc
The parts like 1/2" plywood spacer need 0.5 replacing with 12.mm or whatever is the equivalent ?
Parts of the code like dx+0.01 which add a 1/100" spacing could be adjusted to 0.25.mm or some other small metric equivalent ?
As can dx*2-0.02 to be dx*2-0.5.mm
It just a matter of steps through every line and deciding what is needed...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:05 pm

Counting in multiples and intervals of 10 is sorcery... Witch craft I say! Someone get a rope and a rock.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby virtualelvis » Wed May 01, 2013 7:57 pm

What am I doing wrong? I cannot figure out how to find this
plugin to use it..
I put it in my plugins folder.. but I can't figure out how to use it...
I looked under draw and plugins...
thanks for helping a noob.. d
0

virtualelvis 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 14-apr-13

Postby Krisidious » Wed May 01, 2013 8:52 pm

Go to Plugins>SDM Tools>Face Tool>Face2Frame
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 27-Mar-2014

Postby sdmitch » Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:02 pm

Updated to be SU2014 compatible.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 27-Mar-2014

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:44 pm

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 27-Mar-2014

Postby Krisidious » Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:37 pm

Not using 2014 yet, but thanks for the work guys...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Face2Frame - Updated 27-Mar-2014

Postby utiler » Tue Jan 17, 2017 5:12 am

Hi Sam, I note above you said you haven't considered converting this plugin for metric use and TIG has outlined how to 'metricate' it. I'm a little unsure how this is done; Do I try and open the script and edit it? A little risky given I nothing about coding....

Cheers.
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: