[Plugin] 3D Text Editor

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby JuanV.Soler » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:34 am

............finally.............succeeded

1.1.3.png



....... tyuuuu....... :thumb:
0
_,_)))_,_

JuanV.Soler 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:39 am

:ecstatic:
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby matt.gordon320 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 5:26 pm

Hi Thomthom, thanks again for an awesome plugin. I have an idea for a feature that some might find useful if they're doing visualization work - vertically stacked text (like the following, perhaps).



Any way, just a thought! Thanks for creating so many awesome tools, it's inspiring. I'm slowly learning code, and it's great to see what you've written.

Thanks!

Matt
0

matt.gordon320 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Tue Sep 17, 2013 5:47 pm

Capture.PNG


FWIW, you can already make vertically stacked text. It would be nice to be able to control things like leading and kerning, though.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby glro » Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:12 am

i downloaded and installed you plugin an TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz

but then, when sketchup was launched, a message said i have to download TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

so i uninstalled TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz and installed TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

and then it worked

you did a great job

you managed to make a multilines editor...

would it be possible to ...? :P

have the 3d text in a red/blue plan, instead of red/green?

i would like to use your plugin to add comments to a scene, one comment per scene; usually, the camera is oriented so that vertical objects appear vertical

So, it would be easier to read if the text was in the red/blue plan.
0

glro 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby glro » Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:33 am

glro wrote:i downloaded and installed you plugin an TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz

but then, when sketchup was launched, a message said i have to download TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

so i uninstalled TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz and installed TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

and then it worked

you did a great job

you managed to make a multilines editor...

would it be possible to ...? :P

have the 3d text in a red/blue plan, instead of red/green?

i would like to use your plugin to add comments to a scene, one comment per scene; usually, the camera is oriented so that vertical objects appear vertical

So, it would be easier to read if the text was in the red/blue plan.


no, i just realised that you can change the plan by writing on a face of the model; so to write vertically, you just have to find a vertical face in the model
0

glro 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby tt_su » Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:38 am

glro wrote:i downloaded and installed you plugin an TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz
but then, when sketchup was launched, a message said i have to download TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz
so i uninstalled TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz and installed TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

Whaaat? :?
You shouldn't need to downgrade. Are you on Windows by any chance?
Maybe you ended up with some files in VirtualStore...
How did you install it?
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby glro » Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:36 pm

tt_su wrote:
glro wrote:i downloaded and installed you plugin an TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz
but then, when sketchup was launched, a message said i have to download TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz
so i uninstalled TT_Lib_v2.8.3.rbz and installed TT_Lib2-2.8.0.rbz

Whaaat? :?
You shouldn't need to downgrade. Are you on Windows by any chance?
Maybe you ended up with some files in VirtualStore...
How did you install it?


windows 7 64 bits

installed using preferences > extensions

downloaded vers 2.8.3 here
http://sketchucation.com/resources/pluginstore?pln=TT_Lib

but it didn't work so i downloaded the previous version using the link that appeared on my screen

but it's OK now;works great
0

glro 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby tt_su » Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:36 pm

That is strange. I need to look into that.
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby matt.gordon320 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:36 pm

Dave R wrote:
Capture.PNG


FWIW, you can already make vertically stacked text. It would be nice to be able to control things like leading and kerning, though.




Dave/TT - I'm glad to hear it's already capable, but here's the embarrassing part:I can't figure out how to do it :oops: . I've updated to the most recent version, but maybe I have an older version floating around in Virtual Store or something?

Thanks!

EDIT - Ok I'm stupid. I just realized what you meant @Dave.


download screenshot
0

matt.gordon320 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Thu Sep 19, 2013 6:02 pm

Matt, I hope this doesn't embarrass you further. Try using Enter between typing the letters. ;) I setting Align to Center. You may need to play with the leading (spacing) between the letters after you've created the text but that will depend upon the font you choose.

Edit: You edited your post while I was typing. :D Now you've got it and if anyone asked, it was a great day because you learned something. :thumb:
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby matt.gordon320 » Thu Sep 19, 2013 10:09 pm

Haha no worries Dave. I've frequently found that publicly making a fool of myself is the best way to learn, and I'm ok with that :D I'm sure you experienced programmers will have a good laugh when I finally get around to releasing an actual plugin.
0

matt.gordon320 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby tt_su » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:18 am

Don't be shy - it'll be great! Dig into it! Only way to learn. I make myself look silly every day. (Trust me!)
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby ntxdave » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:39 pm

I really like the plugin but have a couple of things I would like for it to do (if possible):
1. I would like for it to remember my selections (font, size, alignment, etc.) so that I do not have to go through the selections everytime.
2. I would like to be able to specify the color (both face and outline if possible). In fact, it would be great if there was a way to eliminate the outline. I have a lot of text to enter in my model and it is a pain to go eliminate the outline all of the time.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby tt_su » Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:42 pm

"Outline"?
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:51 pm

I suppose he means he's hiding the edges.

@ntxdave, how is it that you current "eliminate the outline" on 3D text?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby ntxdave » Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:52 pm

Dave R wrote:I suppose he means he's hiding the edges.

@ntxdave, how is it that you current "eliminate the outline" on 3D text?

Switch to wireframe style, Edit Component (the 3d text), select of the text, hide the text, then switch the style back to shaded with textures. This results with only the "face" of the text (if you colored it - which I do with the pain bucket tool).

While this works, it is a pain when you have a lot of text components in the model (which I do). Thus the desire to have the ability to do these additional things.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby halroach » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:03 pm

1. This plugin's download needs updating on the first post. On the plugins store it's 1.1.3
0
User avatar
halroach 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:42 pm

Sorted.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Bob James » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:04 pm

ntxdave wrote:I really like the plugin but have a couple of things I would like for it to do (if possible):
1. I would like for it to remember my selections (font, size, alignment, etc.) so that I do not have to go through the selections everytime.
2. I would like to be able to specify the color (both face and outline if possible).

1. It already does (at least for me)
2. +1
0
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby ntxdave » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:32 pm

Bob James wrote:
ntxdave wrote:I really like the plugin but have a couple of things I would like for it to do (if possible):
1. I would like for it to remember my selections (font, size, alignment, etc.) so that I do not have to go through the selections everytime.
2. I would like to be able to specify the color (both face and outline if possible).

1. It already does (at least for me)
2. +1

I just tried again on 2 different machines and #1 does not work for me. I really wish it did. I have also emailed these items to TT.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby halroach » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:10 pm

Hi Thom,

When I edit a rotated 3D text object, it bounces to a new position and resets it's rotation...
On the other hand if I have multiple instances, only the one I select to edit bounces and changes rotation, while the others maintain their position...
0
User avatar
halroach 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby dkdickial » Mon Nov 18, 2013 7:59 am

First good job thomthom.
But I got two problem while using it.
When start the plugin, this popup come up.
20131118141917.jpg

And when click the font, there is none fonts for chose.
20131118141955.jpg

BTW, my computer system is windows 7 and IE is 11.
Hope you can help me fix it, thanks.
0
User avatar
dkdickial 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby tt_su » Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:26 pm

What version of TT_Lib2 do you have installed?
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby dkdickial » Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:09 am

tt_su wrote:What version of TT_Lib2 do you have installed?

TT Library v2.8.3
0
User avatar
dkdickial 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby Dave R » Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:07 pm

Should the file path be .../SketchUp%202013/...? Could that be a problem?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:06 pm

It is... but the string breaks at the % because it can't fit in the dialog.
The error is that the font-list is empty so the js can't work with it...
So something is stopping the font-list getting made... or at least 'displayed' in the dropdown...
Perhaps the dropdown making code is at fault - that's why the newest Lib is required as that has reused methods for that kind of thing...

Assuming it is...
In tt's code if the fonts-list that the code tries to make is 'empty' it then uses a default fonts-list anyway... So there should be fonts listed ??
It does seem to be making some 3d text using Arial [?]...
So it suggests that you have somehow mis-installed the toolset's files ?
Is there any Windows Explorer > Compatibility Files / VirtualStore issues ?
Do you have FULL Security permissions to read/write files to the Plugins folder ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby Dave R » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:10 pm

I wasn't thinking of the line break in the dialog box but rather the %20 instead of a space. Maybe it doesn't matter in this case.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby dkdickial » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:21 pm

TIG wrote:It is... but the string breaks at the % because it can't fit in the dialog.
The error is that the font-list is empty so the js can't work with it...
So something is stopping the font-list getting made... or at least 'displayed' in the dropdown...
Perhaps the dropdown making code is at fault - that's why the newest Lib is required as that has reused methods for that kind of thing...


Uh, seems a little complex...
1. I'm login as administrator, so I think I have full security permissions to read/write files to the Plugins folder.
2. All plugins are auto-installed in the sketchUcation store, so I think the "mis-installed" question doesn't exist.
3. As for the "Windows Explorer > Compatibility Files / VirtualStore issue", I have no idea :(
0
User avatar
dkdickial 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.1.3) — 21 June 2013

Postby Dave R » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:50 pm

Being logged in as administrator does not assure full permissions to the Plugins folder are granted. You need to check that and change it if permissions are not granted. Not that complex.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: laughoutloud99, sabba and 44 guests

Visit our sponsors: