[Plugin] Super Drape

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:57 pm

Here's v1.5 viewtopic.php?p=358314#p358314
It includes some adjustments to minimize fails on texturing or intersecting faces.
It still might occasionally make odd draped faces - this is a shortcoming of Sketchup's intersect_with tolerances that I haven't yet found a tweak to fix it...
A little manually repair after super-draping will usually fix such glitches...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby jorge2011 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 3:08 pm

hi tig.
thank you very much for this update.

In some models (horizontal faces) are generated errors
And in other sketchup closes.

I'm doing something wrong?
is a mistake and can be corrected?

see model

Thanks for your time
0

jorge2011 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:44 pm

Jorge

It's a weird bug - but you can minimize its affect by not using rotated groups, so rotate then explode and regroup before draping... so the axes then are matching.

The right-hand one returns an error because one group IS below the max. bounds of the other - look at their bounding boxes when they are selected...

The middle set is an oddity because = if you slide the text-group a few mm so it doesn't drape exactly centrally it will then drape OK with no missing faces and a proper intersection... :?

I'm reviewing issues and will be back with some ideas asap... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby pep75 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:25 pm

mmmm....version 1.5 is not working properly. When I click the second group (the one to drape on) I hear a "bell"(windows error sound or something), and it doesn't do anything....

anyone that problem?
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:32 pm

pep75 wrote:mmmm....version 1.5 is not working properly. When I click the second group (the one to drape on) I hear a "bell"(windows error sound or something), and it doesn't do anything....

anyone that problem?

The 'ding' is added to tell us the processing is finished.
If you run it with the Ruby Console open do you get any error messages ?
Can you post the problem SKP so we can try it...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby pep75 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:38 pm

What a quick reply! I installed 1.4 and it works....okay now i'm going to install 1.5 back again!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby pep75 » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:46 pm

Okay now it works....but...sometimes is doesn't....can that be true? I mean I sometime mis a line on the draped surface so I don't get an intersected shape...
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:38 pm

Is it a scale issue - very small or very large objects ?
There are occasional glitches - just as with the native Drape tool - Sketchup is prone to glitchy imperfect intersection results.
Indeed, sometimes when I'm testing I can get a fail followed by uninterrupted successes! I have optimized the code as best I can to minimize the number of fails... If it fails then try repeating it immediately and it'll probably work! :roll:
Post the SKP if you can so I can test it too...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby thomthom » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:17 pm

TIG wrote:There are occasional glitches - just as with the native Drape tool - Sketchup is prone to glitchy imperfect intersection results.

I often experience that the native Drape fails on edges that are not too small. edges 1m or larger even fails some times... no idea why.... :roll:
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:43 pm

The simplistic way my tool works is that it makes a temp-group and projects all of the vertices of the draped edges down through the 2nd form and it also makes faces.
It then intersects the temp-group with the 2nd group to 'cut' all of the faces passing through the surfaces.
It then erases all 'verticals' that are not connected to the original vertices so only the top part of the temp-group is left, it then erases all 'non-vertical' faceless edges - except those left hanging if the two forms don't fully overlap [any faceless edges that have a vertex that has a face are saved and the lone vertex is re-healed with a new face/edge].
This mean that the temp-group is now perfectly molded to the 2nd group [unless there's a fail]
Now the temp-group is lowered slightly to ensure that the 2nd group's surfaces intersect with it and then there's an intersection.
The material adding part is a different issue...
One of the reasons for a fail is that the intersected edges returned are occasionally [randomly] incomplete - this is usually a missing segment of edge that clearly should result if you intersect the temp-group and 2nd group's entities - doing it manually to an aborted set of groups will not give an intersecting line either - although the face in one clearly passes through one in the other entities set. The other issue is that the intersected edges within the modified 2nd group do not always intersect with faces [in code, unlike when you do it manually OR explode one object onto another] - however. this is [usually] rectified by intersecting the 2nd group's entities with themselves a few times! BUT again occasionally you get a loop of edges that is coplanar with a face but refuses to intersect with it - I have found that such edges have their vertices the tiniest fraction off the face so these edges won't intersect with the face, BUT attempts to uses transform_by_vectors on these vertices by the tiny distance involved so they are truly coplanar and will then intersect fails too... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby marleus » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:59 am

Thx Tig :sketchstatic:

Now I can make some decaling jobs ....
Great plugin.. will post a pic
0
Markus Sillander
Vantaa, Finland
I'm on FormFonts now
www.formfonts.com
User avatar
marleus 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby marleus » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:18 am

This keeps bugsplatting me :cry:

No special in Ruby console.... just down it goes
Must be doing something wrong :?:
0
Markus Sillander
Vantaa, Finland
I'm on FormFonts now
www.formfonts.com
User avatar
marleus 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby jarynzlesa » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:19 am

super tool :thumb: thx
0
User avatar
jarynzlesa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:21 am

Marleus

It's one of those problems compounding...
First the letters' faces are upside down and only have back-materials - so reversing them gives a better chance of it working and getting a good material exchange [I used my FixReverseFaceMaterials tool to reverse them and flip the materials].
Next there are lots of tiny edges in the groups - I scaled everything up x10.
The letters are also at a strange angle in 3d - I flattened them.
The letters aren't placed over the sofa in plan - Top view + perspective OFF and relocated it so wholly over the sofa's seat surface!
I then did the SuperDrape and it crashed :roll:
I then did a standard Drape... and it crashed - so no worse off there then !
I then edited the letters-group and did a ExtrudeEdgesByVectorToObject, keeping the vector constrained to vertical [blue] and passing through the seat... it made an extrusion up to the seat's surface [which is much like SuperDrape does...]; I then erased the vertical edges/faces to leave the original letters and the outlines draped over the seat; selected all of the outlines and Edit>Cut; close the group edit and edit the sofa group, Edit>PasteInPlace to add the outlines - they don't all 'cut' into the surface so Select All and Intersect with Selection to force it - even then some things like the circle in the O-centers doesn't cut properly - to fix that select an edge and use a AddFaceToEdge tool...
Move the letters-group vertically down so it's nearer the sofa surface and there is less likelihood of errors in reading the materials.
Then use my earlier 'Drape Materials' tool on the selected faces of the letter-outlines now on the sofa.
They should all transfer - a couple of small triangles etc didn't - with Hidden Geometry on, sample the sofa material and paint it onto those to fix - see image...
There are just some combinations of things that fail to drape and you managed to have all of them in one test :shock:
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby marleus » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:31 am

Thx Tig... :shock:
I think I got it now LOL

I'll try on an other model ....
0
Markus Sillander
Vantaa, Finland
I'm on FormFonts now
www.formfonts.com
User avatar
marleus 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby marleus » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:17 pm

Nice...... :berserk:

FlyMe.jpg


Thanks Tig :D
0
Markus Sillander
Vantaa, Finland
I'm on FormFonts now
www.formfonts.com
User avatar
marleus 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby AcesHigh » Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:19 pm

what exactly is happening?


it worked only if I first used the standart drape tool from Sketchup, and then used the Super Drape over it.
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:48 pm

Try it again with Hidden Geometry ON - or post the example SKP...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby AcesHigh » Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:37 pm

tried with Hidden Geometry On, but problem persisted.

I am attaching the file below...
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:52 pm

Looked at it and I agree it's flaky...
I can't see what the issue is immediately.
I'll investigate :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby AcesHigh » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:16 pm

well, it worked when first using normal DRAPE and then using SuperDrape. Cant you add the code from normal DRAPE to your plugin to perform the first operation, then your plugin only does the second operation (material transfer)???
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.5 20111010

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:41 pm

My 'SuperDrape' does a [supposedly better] version of 'Drape' before adding the materials...
Clearly in your case it isn't :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby TIG » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:43 pm

Here's v1.6 viewtopic.php?p=358314#p358314
It has improved methods for ensuring full intersection of the forms... as a result of AcesHigh's feedback issue with a draped road that was longer than the mesh below it failing to form proper edges...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby Luigi987 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:16 pm

Been trying this for a bit, works great in most cases, but when I tried to drape a road to a smooved group, this happened...

I'm using the latest revision as of 22/10.

Thanks~! :3
0

Luigi987 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:47 pm

Can you post the SKP so that I can test it :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby Luigi987 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:13 pm

TIG wrote:Can you post the SKP so that I can test it :?

Right, here it is:

test.skp
0

Luigi987 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:35 pm

The faces are all backwards. [see enhanced rear-face material 'blue']
Capture.PNG

I reversed them all.
Capture1.PNG

The SuperDrape was weird.
Capture2.PNG

I checked the size of the model for very small or very large dimensions.
The mesh is 10s of thousands of feet across!
I scaled the model to a more realistic size and re-SuperDraped, this time it's fine...
Capture3.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby Luigi987 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:54 pm

Alright, that fixed it for me too, thanks~!
0

Luigi987 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby shri » Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:05 am

great plugin indeed.thanks a lot for sharing.
but.when i tried with text it did'nt worked.then
i exploded the text and make it group again and super draped it worked
on sphere it worked.and in case of cylinder the text didn't make plane.

please help..
0

shri 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v1.6 20111021

Postby thomthom » Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:54 am

Shri, can you share the test model?
What is the scale of the objects? Are they very small by any chance?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MakeItRein, SANAFZALNAWAZ and 18 guests

Visit our sponsors: