[Plugin] Super Drape

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby Dave R » Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:20 pm

The .rbz file for this plugin is available at the bottom of the first post in this thread. Download that and use Install Extension to install it. You should remove any files related to this plugin that you have tried to install, though.

And make sure you have full admin rights before trying to install it.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby Box » Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:37 pm

It's not the install extension section I was referring to. In the box above the install extension button you need to see super drape there and tick it's box.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby parsleybrain » Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:51 pm

Box wrote:It's not the install extension section I was referring to. In the box above the install extension button you need to see super drape there and tick it's box.


That just did the trick and it was the only place I didn't check a second time - so thank you very much!
0

parsleybrain 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby gonashvili » Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:57 am

Any vid/tuts about using this? Can't get this to work....
0
User avatar
gonashvili 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:18 am

Please be less cryptic.

How isn't it working ?
Is it installed OK ?
Did you follow the guidance and image in the first post/download thread... ?

Reiterated:

You need two groups.
The draper-group must be located above the receiving group.
Its faces are replicated, projected onto the receiver's surfaces, maintaining the materials.

Possible issues:
The draper/receiver geometry contain tiny edges or facets that can't be intersected using SketchUp's methods, simply because of its tolerances [~1/1000"] - where the start & ends of a tiny line are deemed to occupy the same point in space and so the edge won't form, and then its related face can't form.
Scale up both drape and scale-down - tiny edges can exist but cannot be created [this is the same issue with Sandbox-Drape]
View the groups in Monochrome mode with a distinctive back-face material.
If any 'backs' are facing up in either group you will get unexpected results.
The edges might drape successfully, but then it seems like the draped materials are missing - they are not, they are just on the 'underside' [front] of the faces in the receiver. The materials on the draper's face-fronts will be used and of course this might not be the top-side you expected, if faces are wrongly oriented.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby gonashvili » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:35 pm

TIG wrote:
How isn't it working ?
Is it installed OK ?


Think so, basic geometry (circle's,etc) worked OK, once it gets a bit more complex I get no respond (or a 'freeze').

Here's a very simple shape made with the Uniform B-Spline, no idea what's wrong as it seems 'clean' enough :shock:
0
User avatar
gonashvili 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby Box » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:53 pm

The problem with that one is that it is rotated. The small group's blue axis is running along the green axis, therefore it is "Draping" in the wrong direction. If you explode and regroup it it will work. Orientation is the key.

As a side note it's worth pointing out that you have drawn it outside and under the ground plane, not that this is causing your problem.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby gonashvili » Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:14 pm

Thanks for the tip man!
0
User avatar
gonashvili 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby sketchydog » Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:05 pm

I'm trying to get an effect where I'm draping roads, parking lots, etc. ONTO the imported google earth terrain. Super Drape and Drape both take the top group and "cut" it onto the TIN of the terrain. What I'm looking for is something that will drape the roads and so forth, onto the TIN below, but stay a completely separate group. In this way I can still control layers, etc.

Also, with Super Drape, I'm not getting the top donor materials to "take" in the google earth terrain. I get generic "white" skin where the new faces are cut.

I'd appreciate any comments or help. thanks!
0

sketchydog 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby mitcorb » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:04 am

I tried to answer in your other post that I think you want the Stamp tool in the Sketchup Sandbox Tools. But I could be wrong.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:46 pm

@Sketchydog

Are your faces upside down ?
Either in the mesh or the 'road' your are trying to project 'down'...
Use a Style with a distinctly color back-face - say bright-blue or magenta.
Now view in Monochrome mode...

If you see that when it should be a front color you have some 'reversing' to do... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby pep75 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:08 am

Is it true that Supderdrape doesn't work in 2014 when installing it with the PluginStore manager? I can't see it anywhere :(!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape v3.1 20111204

Postby pep75 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:11 am

...I found it...you'll have to active the toolbar in the extensions-list in the preferences window. mmmm
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:24 pm

It already worked in v2014... but FTAO I've relaunched it as v3.2 viewtopic.php?p=358314#p358314
New version now in the PluginStore http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=SuperDrape
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby kaas » Fri Apr 18, 2014 9:41 am

Could I ask for some help? I'm trying to drape a textured road on a terrain mesh. Using Super Drape the resulting mapping coordinates are messed up somehow.

Already checked: units, regrouped both, edge inspector results in no errors, face normals are ok, removed smoothing and all edges are visible. I have no idea why it doesn't work.

Any help would be appreciated.

kind regards, Max
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:45 am

@Max

I confirm I get similar results.
The UV-mapping of the upper faces' textures should be transferred to the facets in the draped version, with adjustments for their relative normal angles: but clearly this is not happening...

I will investigate...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby kaas » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:15 am

TIG wrote:@Max

I confirm I get similar results.
The UV-mapping of the upper faces' textures should be transferred to the facets in the draped version, with adjustments for their relative normal angles: but clearly this is not happening...

I will investigate...

Great Tig! Just wondering, the terrain uses projected textures - cause of problem maybe?
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:42 pm

It may be a projected texture issue... :?

How did you apply/edit the textured 'yellow stripe' material on the 'flat' faces ?

I found that if I added the material afresh and used Texture and/or My Texture Tools Plugin to adjust its rotation/position I could then get it to SuperDrape acceptably - see the first 6 facets in the screen-shot - I defaulted the next two facets to show the differences between my effort and your original :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby kaas » Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:57 pm

TIG wrote:It may be a projected texture issue... :?
How did you apply/edit the textured 'yellow stripe' material on the 'flat' faces ?

I applied the texture using Fredo's ThruPaint. By doing so the mapping for the entire road is aligned to the curves of the road in just 2 mouse clicks.
TIG wrote:I found that if I added the material afresh and used Texture and/or My Texture Tools Plugin to adjust its rotation/position I could then get it to SuperDrape acceptably - see the first 6 facets in the screen-shot - I defaulted the next two facets to show the differences between my effort and your original :?

Tig, thanks for your time and effort. This method sounds a bit more time consuming. Will try as well.
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:04 pm

So maybe ThruPaint is messing with the UV-mapping in a way that SuperDrape can't unravel into a suitable way onto the surface?
Can you use it to reverse engineer the problem after SuperDraping ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby kaas » Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:14 pm

TIG wrote:So maybe ThruPaint is messing with the UV-mapping in a way that SuperDrape can't unravel into a suitable way onto the surface?
Can you use it to reverse engineer the problem after SuperDraping ?

The draping proces changed (divided) the mesh in such a way ThruPaint doesn't pick up any quads anymore so using that result in a mess. Trying to figure out some workarounds...

edit: tried copying UV with UV toolkit but didn't work. I guess due to the difference in vertex count.

edit2: exporting the original flat road as 3ds / dae reports: 80 different textures are being made. Importing that 3ds / dae results in 80 different materials for the road. One for each face. Strange..

edit3: exporting the draped UV's to roadkill is no solution either. Even after welding it doesn't look good and individual points can't be moved.
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby kaas » Sun Apr 20, 2014 4:42 pm

Had another go at trying to find some workflow to get roads, rivers, ponds or any textured flat custom shape into a 3d terrain mesh (or actually into any 3d mesh - otherwise I could just as easily buy instantRoad).

I tried copying the edges of a flattened version of the original terrain into the original textured flat road so the number of faces and edges would be the same as in the superdraped road. I hoped I could then use UVtoolkit2 to copy the uv coords of (3) into (2) but it didn't work at all (see result 4).


I wanted to know if there's something strange happening with the UV coordinates so I had a go at ruby and google-searched-copy-pasted some code to investigate them:
Code: Select all
ss = Sketchup.active_model.selection
@tw = Sketchup.create_texture_writer
side = true
hash = {}
ss.each do |i|
   next unless i.class == Sketchup::Face
   uv_helper = i.get_UVHelper(true, false, @tw)
    i.vertices.each{|v|
      p = v.position
      uv = (side)? uv_helper.get_front_UVQ(p) : uv_helper.get_back_UVQ(p)
      uv.x /= uv.z; uv.y /= uv.z; uv.z = 1
      hash[v] = [] if !hash[v]
      hash[v] << uv
     puts ("ux=" + uv.x.to_s + "   uy=" + uv.y.to_s)
    }
end

I hoped for some really strange results but I'm no export on the UV coordinates so I have no idea what I'm looking for. What's strange though is that some faces have the same UV coords but still look different (see picture).

I hope somebody has a clue what to do...
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby Chimaera13 » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:55 am

This is hopelessly broken. I just keep getting a complaint that the group needs to be above the other group... and no matter how many ways I adjust things it just keeps doing that. Only once did it do anything else, and it wasn't draping. Just added a bunch of extra geometry that roughly corresponded the object I was trying to drape. WOrse, it breaks the ability to create grids.
0

Chimaera13 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby Box » Wed Jul 02, 2014 1:02 pm

When a plugin like this is hopelessly broken it is usually down to user error.
More infomation on what the problem is would help. Some images or the model to test.
First thing that springs to my mind is you have your model orientated incorrectly, solid blue is up.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:26 am

Perhaps if you posted the SKP with it set up in the way you get a fail, then we'd be able to see better what was up.
Also, do you have any Ruby Console output?

It should never break anything else...
Are you sure it is not something else that is breaking it?

And what 'Grid' thing is 'broken' exactly?

SuperDrape works when one group is placed over another and they are selected in the appropriate order...

Are your axes visible?
Are they set to the default??
etc...

Possible issues arise if either of the two groups have very tiny geometry - SketchUp's intersect fails to make edges < ~1/1000th"...

Have you tried using The native Sandbox > Drape ?
If so what happens ??

I guess that it is either 'user error' or 'inappropriate geometry' :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby djengle513 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:24 pm

For the last couple days now I've been messing with this to try and get this to work with no luck UNTIL I finally realized all the faces were oriented backwards :x now that i've gotten passed that setback I've encountered a few more issues and was wondering if I'm doing something wrong still or if SuperDrape isn't capable of doing what I'm looking for. Long story short instead of having a topography mesh or skin I flattened the topo lines, closed the faces, and pulled them all up in 1 foot increments to graphically represent grade. Now here's the issue, when I superdrape my streets/pavements/materials unto the topo group 1) the lines don't drape down the vertical faces like they would if I was using regular drape tool and 2) the materials don't drape down the vertical faces either.

Can anyone help?! I'd rather not flatten the topo group back to a plane and superdrape but the more I mess with it the more it seems that's the best solution. The issue there being the extra hundreds of faces draping the streets onto the topo will create when i go to pull them up in 1 foot increments again. Hence why I was hoping to make the topo, then make the flat streets with materials, and combine them in one easy step. otherwise I'm either spending a bunch of time painting all the verticals or re-pulling all the topo faces.
0

djengle513 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby TIG » Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:41 am

Vertical faces won't get draped/colored.
Meshes with vertical facets are always an issue in many tools.
If you make the face very slightly off vertical it will work...
Of course you could always use sandbox's drape first to get vertical divisions, and then super-drape for the materials [or at least most of them].
You can always edit the mesh group and use the material-browser eye-dropper to sample the adjacent face's material and paint that onto the non-colored faces ?
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby djengle513 » Tue Apr 05, 2016 2:08 pm

Thanks TIG! Because of the workflow I'm adhering to I'm using one foot steps to represent grade at topo lines and modeling a huge area of downtown Milwaukee. To paint the thousands of vertical faces to match it's surrounding color I felt would have taken me a lot longer than flattening the topo, super draping the street/sidewalk materials and then using Fredo's tool to push pull multiple selections at once. This way I just followed the topo lines and selected all faces within each level and boom, vertical faces paint themselves! Thanks again for your help and this amazing plugin!!
0

djengle513 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby rstanley » Mon Feb 20, 2017 6:01 am

TIG,
I seem to be well outside the user learning curve here;
Have read ad reread the process for super drape and your more recent suggestion to explode and then re group to no avail.
Am running os 10.11 and skp 2015 pro.

it s simple brick pattern image set just over a z axis-distorted rectangular surface
Thanks in advance
Richard

/Users/richard/Desktop/Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 8.47.52 PM.png
0

rstanley 
 

Re: [Plugin] Super Drape

Postby pilou » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:50 am

Fine for me :)
By precaution subdivide more the Groupe2 ! :ugeek:
fine_forme2.jpg

fine_forme.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: devon3, janejbf64, jkkim_tbm1, kiean27, MMML and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: