K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ktkoh » Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:36 pm

Well after all the questions I asked and got answered here I am finally ready to post the plugin I have been working on. This plugin works on components and the Joint Tools (Biscuits, Domino, Dowel, Loose Tenon, M&T ) add the joint feature to both components. For each of the joint tools there is a complementry tool that just adds the feature to one component. BoxJoint Fingers, Thru Dovetails, Blind Dovetails, Pocket Screw Holes, and Wood Screw Holes only operate on one component at a time.
Known Issues:
Blind dovetail pins need cleanup usually on one end of a board do this by deleting the outside edge. The tail board also may need clean up on one end and this requires deleting edges and some faces. I think the problem is with SU not my program as one end is clean.

Never enter the " to designate inches when entering data. If model is inches enter onll the number. If model is in mm then use inch following a decimal inch number to convert to mm.

UNzip the file in the plugins directory. This should leave a file loadK2WS_Tools.rb and a directory K2WS_Tools in your plugin directory. These tools are added to the tool menu but are loaded only when used thus not taking up memory if not used. There are also jpeg files in the directory and these can be viewed to get an idea of how the program expects you to enter data and identify the face on which the feature will be added. The status text will always indicate what your next mouse selection should be. The edeges are different for each program so check to see what is next.


Keith
0
Last edited by ktkoh on Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ktkoh 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby davidheim1 » Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:25 pm

The tool set sounds very intriguing. But I can't figure out where to put the files once I download and unzip them. In the tools folder? The plug-ins folder?I continually get an error message saying there's no file to load. I have to confess that I'm often bedeviled by where to park files like these. I'm running a Mac, OX X 10.5.
Thanks for your help.
dh
0

davidheim1 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ktkoh » Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:59 pm

The should be unziped in the Plugins folder. If not then copy the file loadK2WS_Tools.rb to the Plugins folder and then copy the dir K2WS_Tools and all its files also to the Plugins directory. I don't know the path to the Plugins folder for a Mac.

Keith
0

ktkoh 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby davidheim1 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:51 am

i have both files in the plugins folder, but I still get the error message when I start SU. The path I'm following is:
Applications>Library>Application support>SketchUp 8>Plugins. Any suggestions?
0

davidheim1 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:19 am

Keith, I finally got a chance to install this on my Mac. I also get an error:

"Error Loading File loadK2WS_Tools.rb
no such file to load -- K2WS_Tools\K2_ToolsLoader.rb"

I had a look and K2_ToolsLoader is in the K2WS_Tools folder. Mac uses a forward slash instead of the back slash. I wonder if that is the problem.

Edited to add: the back slash was indeed the problem. I edited the line
Code: Select all
require 'K2WS_Tools\K2_ToolsLoader.rb'


to

Code: Select all
require 'K2WS_Tools/K2_ToolsLoader.rb'


and it loads and works fine.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:18 am

Another issue is one of the require lines [I think in the 'T' code?] looks to your own PC's folder structure, rather than the Tool's folder itself - presumably this was left over from in house testing ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:47 pm

Keith, I'm seeing several problems. First, nothing happens when I choose the M-T tool. Perhaps it has to do with what TIG pointed out.

The Loose Tenon tool works but I see the same problem I saw before. That is, when putting the mortise on the second end of the rail, the tool deformed the legs. See the attached image. The legs started out as square and all was fine with the leg on the left. Then I tried putting the mortise in the other end of the rail and the legs ended up as you see here. I could avoid that by making the legs unrelated components but that doesn't make a lot of sense.

I wonder if you could just ask the user if they want the opposite end of the component to receive the same mortise and leave the second copy of the leg out of it altogether.

I played with the dovetails quickly last night. It seems to work as expected.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ktkoh » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:17 pm

Dave: Which tool do you use for the second end of the strecher?
Here is a picture of the M&T Joint tool on the Right end which makes the tenon on the strecher and the mortise in the leg. The legs are the same component flipped so the other leg has the mortise. Next I use the Tenon tool and added a tenon to the left end of the strecher. This is a picture of the results.
When using the loose tenon tool use the loose tenon Joint first then the mortise tool on the other end of the strecher and see if that gives the same results

I removed all the test directories the file and dir from the plugins dir restarted my computer and downloaded the zip file and installed it on my computer. So far no problems with any programs. Is there a better way to test?

Keith
0

ktkoh 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:20 pm

The \ OR the / work on a PC - but a MAC wants a / :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:44 pm

Keith, I see what you're doing, I think. As I said, I used the Loose Tenon tool. It isn't logical to me to have to use different tools on opposite ends of the rail. It does work that way, though. I'm not real keen on having to hide the second leg before cutting that mortise in the end of the rail but I couldn't select the top edge of the rail without doing so.

Also, while I've got you, could things like the dominoes and loose tenons be inserted as instances of the same component? You can see in the attached screen grab what happen in a cut list.
KK Tools.png


It's getting there, though.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ktkoh » Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:40 pm

Dave: I know you might need to hide the other component some times it seems to depend on what view you are looking at. You can do this without leaving the tool with a right click on the component and select hide the tool should stay active.

At this time I don't know of a way to add copies of an component in a plugin. If I find a way to do this I can update later. That was why when I first sent you this it only added one component and it seemed you felt the joint was not complete.

Mac users: I replaced the \ with / so the files should work on your systems.

I did find that the M&T Joint tool still had require pointin to my dir so I also changed that. The zip file has been revised.

Keith
0

ktkoh 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby alex_t » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:11 pm

Perfect plugin! Thank you!
0

alex_t 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby nanolin » Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:39 am

Hello.
Anyone who uses this plugin could tell me how the board is at 45?
(Spline Joint)

Make a video for all functions would be best.


thanks

sorry my English is google translator
0
User avatar
nanolin 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby eneu3 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 6:58 pm

Thanks for the really nice plug-in. I use it often. It saves me a lot of time.

I just downloaded Sketchup 2013 on both my Mac and PC. The tool still works just fine on the Mac, but I've run into an issue on the PC. When making a M/T joint, for instance, it won't save any edits to the parameters. And it won't do anything if I click "Save". If I click "Cancel", at least it lets me put in the mortise depth parameter, but then it won't do anything after that.

Like I said, no issue on the Mac!

Wonder!
0

eneu3 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Dave R » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:07 pm

What version is your OS? Perhaps you need to set the permissions for the Plugins folder for SU2013 to allow access.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby emlyn80 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:52 pm

I can't get the tools to work. I see them in the tool menu but nothing happens. I am using the free version of SU2013, is that the problem?
Thanks
0

emlyn80 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby eneu3 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:37 pm

Dave, you were correct about the permission issue.

After I posted my note, I did some digging around on the internet and saw that permissions can be a problem for some of the plugins. I could see the file where the preferences were being kept could not get updated.

I recently got a new laptop and it has Windows 7 installed. So I did some more web surfing and figured out how to get the permissions set properly. Basically, I had to make myself the owner of the CREATOR OWNER group.

All works well now!
0

eneu3 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Dave R » Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:44 pm

Ed, thanks for letting us know. Maybe that will help someone else down the road.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

3 out 4 people make up 75% of the population.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Studeag » Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:25 am

I've just upgrade to 2013 and it does not work, is there a solution, I've try a lot of things without success

Alain
0

Studeag 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:47 am

Have you double-checked the security permissions issues and running as administrator etc, as outlined earlier?

Then...
Exactly 'how' is it not working ?

Not installing at all?
Not installing properly?
Not loading?
Not making menu entries?
No doing what you expect?
Generating error message dialogs?
Generating error messages in the Ruby Console?
Causing bugsplats/crashes?

From this quick list you can see that there is considerably more information you could offer us, which might then help us to help you... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby Studeag » Thu Oct 24, 2013 2:31 am

I missed the security permission, lowered it and the program now works.

Thank you very much

Alain
0

Studeag 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools SU2013 Pro

Postby ettengerg » Sat Nov 02, 2013 5:49 pm

I am not able to get the tool to load in SU 2013 pro. The menu shows up but none of the joint tools work. I have tried to load thru window preferences renaming from zip to RBZ but still does not work? :( Any help would be appreciated.
0

ettengerg 
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ktkoh » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:13 pm

I am using SU2013 and I downloaded the K2Tools file from the Ruby Depot and changed the .zip extension to .rbz and installed it as a extension from the preferences menu and the tools worked for me.

As stated above file permissions are the first thing to check when a plugin fails to do anything.


Keith
0

ktkoh 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: K2WS_Tools a joint tool set for SU

Postby ettengerg » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:48 am

I changed permissions on the folder and it now works. Thanks
0

ettengerg 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: badmiton, Exabot [Bot], gullfo, hbanya, lidianeef, smb5823, yasemin and 23 guests

Visit our sponsors: