[Plugin] Sketchup Ivy

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Krisidious » Wed May 09, 2012 5:36 am

I had to resave each of the leaves as a new sketchup file with the original name. I also saved them using png textures that I saved into the same textures folder so I could have transparency.

this fixed the issue of the vine not producing leaves or branches.

here are the default settings if you mess them up and can't find your way back.

suivy default.jpg


suivy default1.jpg
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Krisidious » Wed May 09, 2012 6:48 am

SketchupIvy.0.6.4.beta.zip



repacked with working leaf skp files and transparent png textures also included default setting jpg's.
0
Last edited by Krisidious on Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby jellybean2012 » Wed May 09, 2012 11:05 am

Hi
I hope you can help because your render looks awesome - I've installed it and followed your instructions which all seem to work perfectly - however, when I try and render it in vRay it's not visible -- it's like it doesn't exist...

am i just being thick?
0

jellybean2012 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Wed May 09, 2012 12:25 pm

Can v-ray render 'images' inside a SKP ?
Some renderers can't.
Perhaps they need exploding ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Krisidious » Wed May 09, 2012 5:12 pm

I have no idea about that... sorry.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Krisidious » Fri May 11, 2012 2:45 am

love this plugin... still trying to get the hang of it. I don't seem to get consistent results. like adhesion doesn't seem to really make the vine adhere as it does make it grow shorter distances with each click.

Horizon_3D_005.jpg
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby tomot » Sat May 12, 2012 11:56 pm

Krisidious wrote:I don't seem to get consistent results. like adhesion doesn't seem to really make the vine adhere as it does make it grow shorter distances with each click.


This Ivy generator is a got attempt at copying Thomas Luft's Ivy generator , but still has some minor problems such as collision detection which the SketchUp API may not not contain. :(
0

tomot 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby the.pjt » Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:37 am

is it possible to change the SKP files located in the Plugins\LiveIvy\Textures and replace its JPEG textures with PNGs ?
so this plugin could results transparent textured leafs ...
because now we should change textures every time

can I do it ? ...or ... will the plugin make bad results ?? longer time ??

thanks ... ;)
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Rodrigonotor » Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:16 pm

Hi Pj, is not problem change the files, only make shure you put the same names for components.





You can use the *.png file inside the leaf component.

Here are the leaf component I use.

ivy_leaf_enavas.rar
0
Sketchando.netwww.arqcad.net
User avatar
Rodrigonotor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Krisidious » Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:47 pm

the.pjt wrote:is it possible to change the SKP files located in the Plugins\LiveIvy\Textures and replace its JPEG textures with PNGs ?
so this plugin could results transparent textured leafs ...
because now we should change textures every time

can I do it ? ...or ... will the plugin make bad results ?? longer time ??

thanks ... ;)


yes you can... that's what I did to allow transparency.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
http://www.aboveallhouseplans.com
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby the.pjt » Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:56 pm

thanks ..

so I have another question .. why Pierreden (author) have used JPG textures in Plugins\LiveIvy\Textures ? he could use PNGs ... couldn't he ? ...

I'm going to change components in the directory (Plugins\LiveIvy\Textures) .. :D
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby bigstick » Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:19 pm

This still doesn't work on the Mac. In case anyone is tempted to try the updated version in the hope that it will work on the Mac, nope. Not for me, and after all the posts so far, I'm not the only one having trouble with this. This updated version doesn't actually fix anything as far as I can see.

To summarise:-

The dialog works. This latest version has the default values as krisidious shows in his post. I'm grateful for this, it was one of the things I thought that might be the cause of the plugin not working. However, the ivy will still not 'grow'.
Also the problem where this plugin inserts the leaf components into every single model still persists. This is a bug in my opinion.

I'm guessing that it's bad etiquette to modify someone else's plugin, but I really wish someone would fix these issues. It's one I have been itching to use for a *long* time, and it's still frustrating that it almost works.

I haven't seen anything from Pierreden for some time, but surely he wouldn't mind someone else fixing this...
0
User avatar
bigstick 
 

New Version

Postby the.pjt » Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:42 pm

Hi Dear Sketchucators :D ..

I have Updated This Nice plugin


all I have done is Making a Toolbar and an Icon For this little Nice Ivy Plugin ..
And I also made it an Extension .. So You can temporary disable it ...and then enable it
I have NOT changed Its codes so it's still vr 1.6.3

but you will see 1.6.3.1 version in SU's preferences panel because of these little changes ...

Have a nice day :P .. and a nice toolbar :D


:thumbd: DOWNLOAD IT NOW
LiveIvy.zip


important : it's not an a stand alone plugin because it doesn't cautions TEXTURE folder .. you should extract it to your plugins folder and replace its files with existing rubies
1

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Oxer » Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:45 pm

Thanks for the toolbar!! :thumb:
0
"The result is the end what is important is the process" by Oxer
http://www.oxervision.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Oxer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Gus R » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:48 pm

Noticed something the other day. When I open a new instance of SU8 it loads all of the "ivyleaf" components into the new model. It also loads these same components if I open a drawing from Windows Explorer or using the File -> Open command. It won't load if I open a drawing from the pull down menu withing SU or if I start a second new drawing.

This is using the latest version of Sketchup Ivy from the first page. Not really a critical issue for me but I thought you might want to be aware of this. Didn't see if this was brought up in the previous discussion.
0
User avatar
Gus R 
 

Re: New Version

Postby pololo » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:21 pm

the.pjt wrote:Hi Dear Sketchucators :D ..

I have Updated This Nice plugin


all I have done is Making a Toolbar and an Icon For this little Nice Ivy Plugin ..
And I also made it an Extension .. So You can temporary disable it ...and then enable it
I have NOT changed Its codes so it's still vr 1.6.3

but you will see 1.6.3.1 version in SU's preferences panel because of these little changes ...

Have a nice day :P .. and a nice toolbar :D


:thumbd: DOWNLOAD IT NOW
LiveIvy.zip



important : it's not an a stand alone plugin because it doesn't cautions TEXTURE folder .. you should extract it to your plugins folder and replace its files with existing rubies



Hello Friend, I have problems with your toolbar, I can't see your toolbar or icons ,Could you show me step by step how to make it work?
I have downloaded your file, but doesnt work. What should I do to fix this? :?
I have Sketchup 8 on win7 64 bits. Thanks!!
0

pololo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby jacimta1 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:30 pm

I have problema installing this. I have attempted to install it both in windows and mac, could you please explain me the installing process on both? Thank you in advance :)
0

jacimta1 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby bulbangs » Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:39 pm

i am experiencing an error installing this:

Error Loading File C:/Program Files (x86)/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins/LiveIvy/LiveIvy_Base.rb
can't convert nil into StringError Loading File LiveIvy.rb
can't convert nil into String
0

bulbangs 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby the.pjt » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:23 am

HI everybody .... sorry for my delays ..
:P
first of all : there is an important note : I'm not the developer , I just want to help Pierreden ... and you dear members ..
I will release the Full version or this plugin and toolbar .. I works good for me .. tested in my own computers ..
here you are
copy - paste and replace it all (not just LiveIvy.rb )


to Pierreden : please please use my works to improve your cool plugin , release it in the first post Pierreden and develop it more and more ;)
0
Last edited by Rich O Brien on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed Error Plugin File

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Rodrigonotor » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:36 am

Hi PJT, still not working. Do it in clean install.

29-07-2012 06-21-28 p.m..jpg


Thanks anyway.

Regards
0
Sketchando.netwww.arqcad.net
User avatar
Rodrigonotor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:05 am

This telling you that it can't find a file to load...
../Plugins/LiveIvy/LiveIvy_Base.rb
This almost certainly means that the tool's subfolder of files in not in the 'Plugins' folder where it must be!
Can you post a screen-shot of your 'Plugins' folder showing what you have actually installed...
Also check your security permissions - these should be FULL for all Sketchup's subfolders, like 'Plugins'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Rodrigonotor » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:19 am

Hi TIG, thanks for your support.

He´re the screenshoot of my Plugins folder:

30-07-2012 04-11-52 a.m..jpg


Change security permissions in folder plugins

30-07-2012 04-17-03 a.m..jpg


And still not working, make the same error.

Regards
0
Sketchando.netwww.arqcad.net
User avatar
Rodrigonotor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:49 pm

Now the real mystery...
I had to install LiveIvy to check this...
There is no file called LiveIvy_Base.rb in any of the three zip archives you can download... Where'd that come from?
BUT there is a Textures folder that should contain 10 files, missing from your LiveIvy folder too...
The file inside the Plugins folder called LiveIvy.rb should make no attempt to 'require' that file. It should read
require "LiveIvy/LiveVector_core"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_branch"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_node"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_leaf"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_tool"

And nothing more...
It seems to be trying to load the LiveIvy_Base.rb file unsuccessfully.
Not surprising, as it doesn't/shouldn't exist...
EDIT: See next post where the issue is clarified :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:57 pm

Now I realize what's up! :roll:
Someone*** has been messing on with the zipped set [see a few posts ago] and you have this faulty version installed !!! ***Pejman :(

The LiveIvy_Base.rb that does exist in that butchered version's subfolder is called from an also changed [auto-loaded] LiveIvy.rb file, and the LiveIvy_Base.rb file now includes the text to try and load the required tools...
require "LiveIvy/LiveVector_core"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_branch"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_node"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_leaf"
require "LiveIvy/LiveIvy_tool"

BUT this should work because those files do exist, as the path is relative to the $LOAD_PATH list - and there's a subfolder of that name in Plugins!

BUT it ain't! :?

However, this way should work too:
load "LiveVector_core.rb"
load "LiveIvy_branch.rb"
load "LiveIvy_node.rb"
load "LiveIvy_leaf.rb"
load "LiveIvy_tool.rb"


If you are going to mess with scripts ensure that they work properly afterwards !!
Pejman :evil:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby thomthom » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:26 pm

TIG - require doesn't work relative to the file it's being used it. It's relative to the search paths. Prefixing the folder relative to the plugins folder should be correct.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:31 pm

Doh!
You are right.
So why isn't it working ?
The files seem to be there - though we can't see the main Plugins contents...
The 'require' can simply get replaced with 'load' and it should work ??
I've edited the post.
The error message says it can't 'load' the file - presumably this is via 'require' ?
I give up!
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby thomthom » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:42 pm

Did you get the error as well? Or has it been just that user?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:46 pm

I haven't installed the 'rogue' version...
As far as I can see from the code it should work, so I suspect it's a half-baked installation issue... BUT who knows?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby the.pjt » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:10 am

oh oh oh ... I'm so sorry ....and a stupid person ... sorry
I have uploaded previous file ...
that was not the new ZIP files ...

here is the full files ...
LiveIvy-1.zip


dear TIG , I's sorry for that mistake agane , I'm sorry for taking your time downloading ,reading it and writhing frum post .. sorry TIG ...

dear ThomThom .. I's sorry

:(
:?

I hope this This toolbar and its Icons could be usefull for you sketchukators ...
zipped from my own plugin folder
100% tested :)
here is a screenshot
Ivy-screenshot.jpg
0
Last edited by the.pjt on Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Sketchup Ivy 0.6.3 20110513

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:36 am

@Pejman

I removed your original faulty file so as not to confuse members which file to download.
0
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Barack81, enigmatic, Luizep, ras101 and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: