[Plugin] Mirror

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 27, 2014 12:09 am

A "bit of a falling out" in the pre-EWH days... while SCF PluginStore was already being setup...
A loooooooooooong story...
I might forgive them one day ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:54 pm

Here's an updated v4.2, in the PluginStore

Download


I have adjusted the description in the tool's page to explicitly say it's PC & MAC compatible, for all SketchUp versions ! Some users were misunderstanding and assuming it was PC only !
I have also adjusted the script so that now it only installs the additional toggleWindows script [now loaded from .txt] and Win32API.so if the computer is a PC AND the SketchUp version is old [<v2014] - this workaround was introduced to sidestep rare Outliner crash issues, in older SketchUp versions on PCs. This is not needed for newer SketchUp versions, or on any MACs at all - so now if the files were previously installed they are now deleted to keep things tidy.
:geek:
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:31 pm

Mucho gracias
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby kaas » Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:44 pm

Great plugin. Thanks for the update. I use it quite often. Quite strange this function has never been added to the native SU tools.
0

kaas 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby josephkim626 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 6:40 pm

Probably this is a single plugin I use most often.

On that note TIG, I have a small request to make. Can you change or allow us to change the settings to have the newly generated object/geometry to be selected after the mirror command?
0
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:29 pm

josephkim626 wrote:Probably this is a single plugin I use most often.

On that note TIG, I have a small request to make. Can you change or allow us to change the settings to have the newly generated object/geometry to be selected after the mirror command?
I'm not changing the established selection staying with the retained original.
BUT it's quite easy for you to adjust your own RB file yourself.
Use Notepad/Notepad++ [PC] or TextWrangler[MAC] to edit it - NEVER use a Wordprocessor with Ruby files.
The existing code at line #392 needs a new line of code adding - just before the 'commit_operation' -
Code: Select all
 @ss.clear; nents.each{|e|@ss.add(e) if e.valid?}
Now the selection always passes to the copy, whether or not you have chosen to keep the originals.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby josephkim626 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:45 pm

TIG wrote:
josephkim626 wrote:Probably this is a single plugin I use most often.

On that note TIG, I have a small request to make. Can you change or allow us to change the settings to have the newly generated object/geometry to be selected after the mirror command?
I'm not changing the established selection staying with the retained original.
BUT it's quite easy for you to adjust your own RB file yourself.
Use Notepad/Notepad++ [PC] or TextWrangler[MAC] to edit it - NEVER use a Wordprocessor with Ruby files.
The existing code at line #392 needs a new line of code adding - just before the 'commit_operation' -
Code: Select all
 @ss.clear; nents.each{|e|@ss.add(e) if e.valid?}
Now the selection always passes to the copy, whether or not you have chosen to keep the originals.



Great! I can try that.

Thank you so much TIG


-----------------edit

Works great.
Thank you so much for your help TIG!
0
Last edited by josephkim626 on Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby seasdes » Sat Feb 28, 2015 12:30 pm

Will this plugin work with SU2015?
0
Using Sketchup Pro 2019

seasdes 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby Dave R » Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:20 pm

It works fine with SU2015. Do you have some reason to think it wouldn't?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby seasdes » Sat Feb 28, 2015 1:26 pm

Thanks for your reply. The reason that I ask is that SU 2015 is not listed in the Sketchucation store.
0
Using Sketchup Pro 2019

seasdes 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:18 pm

seasdes wrote:Thanks for your reply. The reason that I ask is that SU 2015 is not listed in the Sketchucation store.
Currently the choices offered for 'compatibility', to authors when they are setting up their PluginStore entries are <=v8, v2013 and v2014.
If there were a v2015 it'd be used.
I've PM'd Gábor about adding that choice - OR changing to ">=v2014".

The good news is, if a Plugin is compatible with v2014, then it is almost certainly going to be compatible with v2015.
The big changes in coding came at v8/v2013 and then the biggy at v2014, as that used a newer version of Ruby which handles a few things slightly differently, and is less forgiving of sloppy syntax etc, so there were potential issues stepping up versions.
However, most authors updated their Plugins to suit the new Ruby when v2014 came along around a year ago.
The main outstanding incompatibility was with Dider Bur's tools - but with his permission I have recently finished updating those to be compatible with the newer SketchUps - now available in the PluginStore.
A v2014 compatible tool is almost certainly going to work in v2015, but it might have some issues when used in v2013 or even more likely <=v8, particularly if it now relies on some of the new features only available in the newer Ruby version etc, and there the author has included no workarounds for the earlier versions.***
There are a few new methods now available in v2015, but that is more likely to mean that a v2015 based tool will not work [or be restricted] in earlier versions, which lack that new functionality.

***For example the SCF PluginStore toolset itself makes use of several of the new features available in the newer Ruby [v2014/v2015], but it is written to find the version of SketchUp running it, and where needed it runs alternative code - this may be slower, more clunky etc, but at least the user still gets most of the toolset's functionality, even when they have an old SketchUp version...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby seasdes » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:22 pm

Thanks for your reply TIG.
0
Using Sketchup Pro 2019

seasdes 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby kimi kimi » Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:39 am

Hi TIG,
First of all, I really appreciate all of your work! Everything you created is so awesome. I just wanted to ask you one thing. Could you make another plugin, almost the same as this one. It's also a mirror plugin. But it mirrors only against a vertical plane. 90% of these mirror operations, at least in my experience, end up by choosing the blue axis. It would be cool if we could just make 2 clicks instead of 3. I hope you can consider this request.
And one more thing I would probably change is that "Erase original selection?" question. It's sometimes really hard to focus and "talk" to SketchUp after a long day. I often forget if it's asking me to erase or to keep, and I'm too tired to read. So, my preference would be to have these two possibilities as two separate commands or shortcuts.
I know I'm getting to 4 different outcomes now with all that I wrote. Maybe call it mirror pro? :D
Anyway, I never had any problems with your plugins. It always executed perfectly without any problems. I just thought you could save us a few clicks. And since I use this thing at least 100 times a day, it would really mean a lot to me.

Best regards!
0
User avatar
kimi kimi 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby cotty » Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:40 pm

You can change the dialog in such a way that the more often used answer is the default one which you can simply choose by hitting the enter key without reading the text...
viewtopic.php?f=323&t=31410&p=510289&hilit=dialog#p510289

(The mirroring with two clicks is occupied by the mirror through an axis)
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby Bob James » Sat Aug 15, 2015 3:52 pm

cotty wrote:You can change the dialog in such a way that the more often used answer is the default one which you can simply choose by hitting the enter key without reading the text...
viewtopic.php?f=323&t=31410&p=510289&hilit=dialog#p510289

(The mirroring with two clicks is occupied by the mirror through an axis)

Since my most likely next operation is to move the new mirrored object, I've made the changes Tig provided. In doing so I noted that 12 additional lines have been added to the original post noted by cotty. So note the following nit-pick update to Tig's great plugin:

***Edit the "Mirror.rb" script with a plain-text editor - like Notepad++ - and find line #367 and change
@msg = "Mirror: Erase Original Selection ?"
to read:
@msg = "Mirror: Keep Original Selection ?"
so that the stausbar prompt is in step...
Then go to line #379
if UI.messagebox("Erase Original Selection ? ",MB_YESNO,"")==6 ### 6=YES 7=NO
edit it to read:
if UI.messagebox("Keep Original Selection ? ",MB_YESNO,"")==7 ### 6=YES 7=NO
which reverses the question and the result of Pressing 'Yes'...
For tidiness's sake also on line #381
else ### NO
change the rem note 'NO' after the ### to:
else ### YES

UPDATE

Since my most likely next operation is to move the new mirrored object, is there something I can change so that after I hit Return that the copy is selected rather than the original?
1
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby pbacot » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:41 pm

Using this GREAT tool a lot lately in framing models. Thanks for the note James. I really never want to erase the original, it seems, and it would be easier to just delete it rather than answer that dialog.
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby Bob James » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:54 pm

pbacot wrote:Using this GREAT tool a lot lately in framing models. Thanks for the note James. I really never want to erase the original, it seems, and it would be easier to just delete it rather than answer that dialog.

If this is directed to me, I don't understand your reply.

What I would prefer is that the new mirrored object be the one selected so I can immediately move it. This leaves me with the original in its location and the mirrored copy in the moved location.

No big deal: super extension :thumb:
1
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:27 pm

I'll consider your ideas in any future updates...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby pbacot » Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:09 pm

I thought your edits would obviate answering whether to erase original each time. I guess COTTY was actually the one to show that. I don't care regarding selection afterwards as I do NOT usually move the object.
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:15 pm

Here's v5.0.

Download


It's now an extension and is future-proofed...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:22 pm

Here's v6.0

Download


It has some improved security features.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby mariocha » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:51 pm

Wanted to learn some more Ruby.
Added LanguageHandler to it. French included.
Tested on Mac and PC.

update: Attached the Localized version. This version also selects the mirrored copy at exit.

Comments welcome.
0
Last edited by mariocha on Fri Feb 05, 2016 1:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby mariocha » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:58 pm

Bob James wrote:... I would prefer that the new mirrored object be the one selected so I can immediately move it.

Being a big user of that extension, I often had that thought. So I second that. :fro:
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby josephkim626 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:23 pm

@MARIOCHA

Just in case you missed it :D.
TIG did mentioned the way to change that behavior in earlier reply.
1
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby mariocha » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:48 pm

josephkim626 wrote:@MARIOCHA
Just in case you missed it :D.
TIG did mentioned the way to change that behavior in earlier reply.


I had indeed missed it. Thanks.
Line number to insert code has changed to 337.
Works fine. :)
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby josephkim626 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:52 pm

mariocha wrote:
josephkim626 wrote:@MARIOCHA
Just in case you missed it :D.
TIG did mentioned the way to change that behavior in earlier reply.


I had indeed missed it. Thanks.
Line number to insert code has changed to 337.
Works fine. :)


I assume that you are enjoying that as much as I am! :D
1
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby mariocha » Sun Apr 24, 2016 4:57 pm

I tweaked the localized version so that it can show the toolbar icon properly.
In Mirror_code.rb : png=File.join(DATA, "Mirror.png")
Previously the png file name was linked to the name of the extension. But that name changes upon localisation. I made it so that the link to the png filename is not variable.
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby Stardown » Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:31 pm

Hey TIG. Thanks for this plugin, very useful. I run a small CNC from home for personal improvement, and test different software. To do so I export my sketchup files to dxf. I've noticed that when using your mirror plugin, some geometry (usually curves) exports wrong into 3D dxf... even though they appear to be just fine in SketchUP. Do you know anything about that issue or how to fix it?

If you need a sample file to check let me know.
0

Stardown 
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:07 pm

Here's v7.0 which is fully compatible with v2017 in all Loading Policies.

Download

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Mirror

Postby mariocha » Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:54 pm

Pity that LanguageHandler is not there.
It was all done. :(
with fr strings file also. :roll:
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

cron

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dgorman3, GaryGB and 31 guests

Visit our sponsors: