[Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby thomthom » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:30 pm

Hmm... That message about not being supported - it would indicate you have an OSX version older than 10.7. Though that seem rather old - as it incorrectly matching your system? What is your OSX version?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Efrado » Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:05 am

HI Thom, this is what I have:


So what do I have to do in order to get your plugin works under this circumstances?
0

Efrado 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby TIG » Tue Apr 12, 2016 10:16 am

You have an old [now unsupported] OSX 10.6
As TT said, you need to have at least 10.7...

Can't you update your OS ?
There is the 'Software Update...' button on the 'About This Mac...' dialog...

If for some reason you can't upgrade your OS, then several Extensions [including this one] will not work...
That is the limitation, unless you change things...

Also SketchUp no longer supports v8 [and v2013 will cease shortly] - also several Extensions will no longer work in older SketchUp versions [this is often irrespective of the computer's OS, since they might rely on new API features, which are unavailable in those older SketchUp versions] - so why no 'bite-the-bullet' and upgrade both your OS and SketchUp version ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby thomthom » Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:28 pm

I'm afraid the 10.7 requirement is because I no longer have machines to build for older systems. For every release of OSX it gets harder to support these as well as older versions. I might have to drop 10.7 soon as well given the frequency of OSX releases. :/
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby thomthom » Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:30 pm

Only thing I can think of to run 10.6 would be to try one of the older versions of TT_Lib: https://bitbucket.org/thomthom/tt-library-2/downloads

Though you will then have less features and bug-fixes.

I'm also not sure which version might be compatible.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Efrado » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:35 pm

It is a pity.
Thank you Thomas, and you too Tig.
I will look forward to upgrade every thing.
Thank you again and continue with the great job for us the sketchupers.
1

Efrado 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby HornOxx » Thu Nov 03, 2016 9:30 pm

Hi All, I was just playing something around this evening

Some people succeed in lasering or engraving contours into a thick glass somehow - I have no idea how
thay do it :-) so this little exercise, to put the author Thomas Mann in thick glass, should just imitate this nice gimmick …

such a great plugin - thanks for it!
3
never trust a skinny cook
User avatar
HornOxx 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:39 pm

Version 1.0.0

See first post for more details: viewtopic.php?f=323&t=31339#p275772
1
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Leander_Galanodel » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:33 am

Hello!
I just wanted to say THANK YOU for this great plugin! It saved me a lot of time. I could just import a heightmap instead of having to trace over a topographical map by hand. You saved me about a few weeks of work!
If I ever upload my finished "project" to the 3D-Warehouse I will put a link to this plugin in the description.

Thank you very much!!!
1

Leander_Galanodel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby SpookyChick1013 » Wed May 15, 2019 1:28 am

2017/SketchUp/Plugins/tt_bitmap2mesh/error_reporter/error_reporter.rb:289:in `each'
C:/Users/Mistress Venhallyn/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/tt_bitmap2mesh/error_reporter/error_reporter.rb:289:in `trigger_event'
C:/Users/Mistress Venhallyn/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/tt_bitmap2mesh/error_reporter/error_reporter.rb:250:in `block in create_dialog'
SketchUp:1:in `call'


Having problems with this plugin not generating things Bitmap iin this case was 128 pixels on a side, no colorspace info, etc. Just the way it's supposed to be. I'm now stumped.

Thanks in advance help is greatly appreciated
0
https://kuromatsudriveyards.com

Fo-su to tomo ni aran koto o...

SpookyChick1013 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Dave R » Wed May 15, 2019 1:49 am

How about sharing the BMP file so we can see it and maybe help you out?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby SpookyChick1013 » Wed May 15, 2019 2:33 am

Thanks Dave; I would, but .bmp extensions are not allowed. (just tried to upload the bmp as an attachment) Besides, I think the problem may be something tweaked with the plugin in regard to it's interaction with SU 2017. Since I updated a few days ago, the plugin keeps trying to make a second copy of the mesh at the time when it completes the first, and throws an error.


By the way, been meaning to say this for years, I like your signature.
0
https://kuromatsudriveyards.com

Fo-su to tomo ni aran koto o...

SpookyChick1013 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Dave R » Wed May 15, 2019 3:05 am

How about uploading the BMP to DropBox and sharing the link.

What did you update a few days ago?

Thanks on the signature.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby SpookyChick1013 » Wed May 15, 2019 3:56 am

I no longer do business with Dropbox. Long story.

I did solve the problem. Somehow an earlier version of the plugin got left behind when I updated it the other day. Removed it, no more problem.

Thanks anyway. :)
0
https://kuromatsudriveyards.com

Fo-su to tomo ni aran koto o...

SpookyChick1013 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby sketchartist023 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:07 pm

Think I could get a working script of this for sketchup8? I cant seem to want to update because I have a LOT of plugins that work well together already :P
0
User avatar
sketchartist023 
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby TIG » Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:15 pm

I guess that thomthom's code uses Ruby API calls that are only available with newer versions of SketchUp.
So looks like v8 can't hack it ! Sorry.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby david_h » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:25 pm

So team: I haven't used this plugin in a while, and I may be doing something wrong. I am trying to make a mesh obviously. .. from a BMP of this image and all it does is stall out my Puter. What am I doing wrong? Something wrong iwth the image? not enough contrast?

thx,

D
Austrian drape.jpg


p.s. I guess i could crop it to one panel and just repeat the model. Would that help?
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Dave R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:32 pm

Holey buckets! There's a lot to process there. I can imagine your puter needing to take a break now and then. It would help if you can reduce the size of the image to one panel although it might still be a lot of work. It'll certainly create a lot of geometry.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby david_h » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:34 pm

So i discovered. I got it to work with one panel, but the results were underwhelming. I think I will just use the image and a call it a day. :shock:

Holy Buckets??? :mrgreen:
1
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby Dave R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 5:05 pm

Probably a good idea to use the image as a texture. Reminds me of the curtain slides that would show during intermissions in the old black and white films.

Holey if the water won't stay in. ;)
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Bitmap To Mesh

Postby david_h » Wed Sep 04, 2019 6:00 pm

The texture is fine, using Photoshop of course. i was just playing to see if I could get it to work in 3D

Thx,

D

There's a hole in the bucket. . .dear Liza.. .dear Liza. . .
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cain3369, dz1sfb, kenythedude, riccardongc89, xtov and 15 guests

Visit our sponsors: