[Plugin] Lattice Maker

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby utiler » Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:36 am

TIG wrote:
dhonzie wrote:TIG, i really appreciate all your plugins.... THANK U!!!!! :ecstatic: :ecstatic: :ecstatic:

can you or somebody upload a tutorial for this so that i could apply this to my school project???

Thank u n advance...... :D


There are several examples in the thread[s]...
There are some movie tutorials for various plugins in the pipeline, but I can't say when they might be going public...


I really look forward to these video tuts too, TIG. Always good to see it in action from a pro!!!! :thumb:
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby arjunmax09 » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:20 pm

Is it possible to delete in one go the original linear path used for lattice making??
0
when you fail at something....you haven't really failed...you've found one way the thing will not work out

arjunmax09 
Banned
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:29 pm

arjunmax09 wrote:Is it possible to delete in one go the original linear path used for lattice making??

Lattice Maker does NOT leave a linear path - it uses the selected mesh faces to make the 'panes' so the 'path' is consumed ?
EEbyRailsToLattice does leave the Profile and Rail Curves... BUT on completion asks if you want to delete them -on a Yes they go too ??
Please explain yourself differently... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby arjunmax09 » Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:07 pm

TIG...I've uploaded images to clear my question
0
when you fail at something....you haven't really failed...you've found one way the thing will not work out

arjunmax09 
Banned
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:13 pm

Ah! You mean 'coplanar' edges - not easy removed because of the inner face. Because the LatticeMaker is for 3D meshes to Lattices each 'pane' is made separately.
I suggest you get my 'Latticeizer' - that is intended for 2D forms and it does remove the original center-lines if specified. You draw the form and group it, then 'Latticeize' it - you should then get the results you want without center-lines...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

My Pain

Postby bagatelo » Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:52 am

TIG: Please note if is possible to solve my problem: viewtopic.php?f=323&t=16599&p=316794#p316794
0
While the cat's away, the mice will play
User avatar
bagatelo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:38 pm

Bagatelo

I have replied in the other thread you linked to - I think perhaps you mean Latticeizer NOT LatticeMaker ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

have mercy

Postby bagatelo » Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:05 pm

I am sorry having traded the place where it I should respond.
Please note the presentation that I have made in the attached file. That's exactly what I need. In some cases, I do not use handles in aluminum bar. I use ordinary handles. So I do not pull over 3cm from top face to bottom. In some cases, I use different spaces for 0.5cm, as requested by the woodworker or architect that I work. Thank you for your attention.
0
While the cat's away, the mice will play
User avatar
bagatelo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby Niffler » Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:30 pm

Thank you, TIG for all you do.

Although you are in the UK, I still would like to wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday and to all you "Sketchers" out there. I lift my pint of (alcohol-free) nog to you, mates.

Peace
0

Niffler 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby broomstick » Sat May 26, 2012 12:33 am

I am truly in love with this piece of code! :)
0
User avatar
broomstick 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby monivanh » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:37 am

I need it, i want it.

Thank you
0

monivanh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby anciano » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:35 pm

SOLVED
After more persistent searching of the forums, I have finally found the answer so please ignore my post below.
So simple..the rails and profiles must be identical to produce square "Holes" using Lattice Maker.
Sorry for not finding that before posting..

--------------------------------

Hello..I have searched the forums but cannot find a solution to my blundering attempts to create this:-


Using EEbyRails and following the instructions (also have tried every combination of those)and then Lattice Maker, the result i always get id this:-


No matter what I try, I cannot create the "Square" holes, only triangular ones.
If I remove the triangular lines prior to using Lattice Maker, the faces disappear making Lattice Maker not function.

Any help would be greatly appreciated ..
Thanks..
0

anciano 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pjbazel » Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:34 am

TIG I have a request for this fantastic tool.

I have been using lattice maker on vonoroi tessellations (as you know, thanks again for the help), and since they have irregular shapes the offsets produce crossing edges in some cases.

I have noticed when using Fredo's tools on surface that offsets can be 'simplified' to eliminate the crossing edges. Is there any chance that you could incorporate this feature into lattice maker? That would be fantastic.

Thanks again,
0
User avatar
pjbazel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:03 pm

Maybe you can use Clean Up by Thomthom ?
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pjbazel » Fri Dec 14, 2012 5:38 pm

Pilou wrote:Maybe you can use Clean Up by Thomthom ?



That could be one option, but, I suspect that won't work.

The offsets edges produced by lattice maker do not intersect one another when they cross. For some reason you have to tell SU to intersect to break the edges at the crossing. This generates a additional face, which must then be intersected with the edges to form the 'pane'.

This really creates a lot of work. And though I would love to use lattice maker, I found it was faster and cleaner to use ToS offset on each cell, before JPP-ing. However, if lattice maker had a simplify offset feature I would have saved a ton of time.

Do you think clean up would work for that? I haven't used it before.
0
User avatar
pjbazel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:45 pm

Can you post a 3D SU example model of your Voronoï problem of intersection ?
(save as V6)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pjbazel » Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:47 pm

Pilou wrote:Can you post a 3D SU example model of your Voronoï problem of intersection ?
(save as V6)




Sure, I will post it this weekend. Just at work now :)
0
User avatar
pjbazel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pjbazel » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:46 pm

Pilou,

Here is an example of the problem I was describing above. I made notes on the model, so you should see exactly where the issue is.

If you think there is a quick way to fix this that would be great. I have never used cleanup, so if you find a way to fix the offset & intersect problem with that plugin please tell me.

Thanks for helping with this.
0
User avatar
pjbazel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:45 am

Thx for the V6! ;)
Edit your Style for avoid bold lines and extremities!
ANd more easy for see tiny segments! :idea:
(if you love it, you can re put them at the end of the session ;)

Look in mega zoom where you have problem on the original!
It's normal at some few places on the original result you have
this very very tiny line!!!
Problemo.jpg


In fact just in one place ! :enlight:
problemo1.jpg


So you must first collapse all these crossing Lines / vertices and all will work like a charm! :)

You have also a cool one Multiface offset by Remus for make like lattices or some tricky things ;)

0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:12 am

As Pilou explained...
You have one very tiny edge - resulting in the unframed section, when Sketchup fails to process its all but coincident vertices as separate points in space - a known tolerance issue with some tools like INtersect, FollowMe etc. That rogue edge is only 0.00874214349270001" long !
There are also several edges shorter than the frame width.
When Sketchup does an 'offset' if one of the edges is shorter than the offset distance you get a 'bow-tie'. Because LatticeMaker uses the same principle that's what you get if you try to use a face that has a short edge.
To see this use the Offset tool on a face with a short edges, with the 'frame-width' and you'll get a bow-tie...

It's easy fixed, using the Move tool on vertices to make these edges longer, or to combine two all-but-coincident vertices into one, so that the edge vanishes.
The attached is a mesh made using adjusted bits to avoid 'bow-ties'.

Incidentally, your mesh is facing down so the Lattice will be made upside down, unless your Reverse the faces - as in my example.
Capture.PNG


PS: I do have an unpublished SmartOffset tool that avoids the bow-tie issue with all offsetting...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:16 pm

this unpublished Smart Offset will be a hit! :enlight:
The Christmas gift ? :)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:32 pm

Pilou wrote:this unpublished Smart Offset will be a hit! :enlight:
The Christmas gift ? :)
I'll need to dig it out, dust it off and see... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:10 pm

Cool :)

pop.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:42 pm

"TIG-Smart_offset" viewtopic.php?p=446462#p446462
Merry Christmas, Pilou !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pilou » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:32 am

Yep! Many thanks! That's astonishing! I will try that! :enlight:

But careful I am champion of the Murphy's law! :mrgreen:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby pjbazel » Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:29 am

TIG, Pilou,

Thanks for taking a look. I didn't understand why that one face with the ultra short edge wasn't intersecting. Now I get it!

As for the bowties, yes, I realized this was an issue that results from having a side shorter than the offset distance.

I ended up using fredos tools-on-surface offset with the 'simplify contours' setting enabled to fix the bowties, as opposed to changing the vertices before using lattice-maker, which is a great option. I imagine Fredo's offset would produce a similar result to using TIGs smart offset. Only problem is then I have to do all the lattice modeling myself, and it would really be nice to be able to use TIG's lattice-maker.

If your planning to do any updating for lattice-maker, which is awesome, it would be great to see a option for TIG's smart offset incorporated directly into the lattice-maker process. but then I don't know anything about programing rubies, and maybe that would be a real pain in the butt.

Anyhow, thanks for all the help once again. Oh, and all the toys, or perhaps im supposed to call them tools :)
0
User avatar
pjbazel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby usmanhussain » Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:51 pm

Hi Guys,

I have installed the latticeMaker.db.plugin for sketchup. I have followed the steps in the following video...
http://34dmedia.wordpress.com/tutorials ... uctions/...

i am at the stage where i need to extrude the lines but the command extrude lines is no where to be found in the Tool menu in sketchup.

CAN ANYONE HELP ME!!! PLEASE...TRYING TO CREATE A GRIDSHELL EFFECT FOR THE ROOF CONSTRUCTION TO MY UNIVERSITY PROJECT!!

If you can message me on here or email me on usmanalihussain @ hotmail.co.uk that would be much appreciated.

cheers

usman
0

usmanhussain 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.2 20101027

Postby TIG » Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:24 am

@Usman

You seem to be muddling up several quite different tools. :?

The LatticeMaker is in The Plugins menu - not in the Tools menu.
If you want to 'Extrude Edges' then you will need to install the 'Extrusion Tool' set to get a various tools to make surafces.
There are also other tools to extrude edges into 3d profilesetc...

From what you say you are trying to make a curving glazed roof [?]... I would use ExtrudeEdgesByRails - using four curves that define the perimeter, to make the roof's curving surface.
Then process that selected surface with LatticeMaker, to create the desired frames and panes of glass etc...
Perhaps an example image of the kind of thing you are trying to get would help us help you...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.3 20130528

Postby TIG » Tue May 28, 2013 1:00 pm

Version v1.3 is now available
viewtopic.php?p=244981#p244981
Download its RBZ archive from the 'SketchUcation PluginStore' page...
OR AutoInstall it from the 'SketchUcation Plugin Store' dialog within SketchUp itself...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lattice Maker v1.3 20130528

Postby charly2008 » Tue May 28, 2013 4:40 pm

Hi TIG

Some may not know that there are two "Lattice Plugins" from you. I find both very helpful. Would it be possible for you to bring both together in order to get these different results.

Charly
0
He who makes no mistakes, makes nothing
User avatar
charly2008 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rockhiey, seksit and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: