[Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

[Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:50 pm

EEbyRailsToLattice.PNG
###
Copyright 2010 (c), TIG
All Rights Reserved.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED
WARRANTIES,INCLUDING,WITHOUT LIMITATION,THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF
MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
###
extrudeEdgesByRailsToLattice.rb
###
Description:
Takes a set of curves [Profiles/Rails/Both] and forms 'Lattice' groups.
The Lattice can be plain curve 'lines' only, i.e. a set of profiles,
rails or both, that you can use for other purposes later; or it can be
made as a 3D form offset by frame given width and depth, and pane inset,
you can also assign limited materials to the frame/pane for ease of
future selection/manipulation.
###
Usage:
Run 'Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice', from the Plugins Menu, or the
Extrusions Toolbar...
You are then prompted to pick 2/3/4 curves to be used in forming the
'Lattice' - a Profile, Rail1, Rail2 [this can be Rail1 again] and a
Melding-Profile [can be the Profile again] - please see EEbyRails for
more details on this...
A dialog then prompts you to choose 'from Profiles', 'from Rails',
'from Diagonals' or 'from Profiles/Rails' [i.e. default = full 'grid'].
Choose option: 'Cancel' exits, 'OK' continues.
If you chose Lattice 'from Profiles' or 'from Rails' or 'from Diagonals'
then the result can only be curves as lines: these are now made -
they are grouped to avoid intersecting with other geometry.
Note that the order in which you pick rail-1 and rail-2 determines the
direction of any 'diagonals' it will make.
If you chose a Lattice 'from Profiles/Rails' you are next prompted to
choose a 'form' for the Lattice - as 'Lines' or as '3D'.
Choose option: 'Cancel' exits, 'OK' continues...
If you chose 'Lines' then a set of curves as lines only are made,
the profiles and rails sets are individually grouped and grouped
separately so the do not intersect with each other or other geometry.
If you chose '3D' a dialog now asks for the 'Lattice Properties':
'Width' - default is 50mm/2" - this is the width centered on the
lines so it's effectively a 100mm/4" 'frame' overall where faces abut.
[if <=0 it defaults]
'Depth' - default is 50mm/2", this is measured 'in' from the face
[if==0 there is no 'depth', if <0 it defaults].
'Pane Inset' - the amount the pane is inset from the frame's top-face -
default is 25.mm/1" [if ==0 there is no 'inset', if <0 it defaults;
it can never be more than the depth, and reverts to that if it is].
'Pane Thickness' - the thickness of the pane measured inset from the
pane's top face - default is 5mm/0.25" [if ==0 the pane is 'one sided'
(facing 'out'), if <0 it is 'outset', this -ve 'outset' cannot be > the
pane_inset, the pane_thickness is limited to the frame_depth-pane_inset].
It is best to give the pane a thickness if it is to be seen from both
sides and the lattice might be exported to a 3rd party renderer.
'Lattice Material' - default is <Default> - additional choices are 'Red',
'Orange', 'Yellow', 'Green', 'Blue', 'Violet', 'Black', 'White' or 'Gray'.
'Pane Material' - default is <None>** - additional choices are <Default>,
"Glass"***, 'Red', 'Orange', 'Yellow', 'Green', 'Blue', 'Violet',
'Black', 'White', 'Gray'.
**Note: if Pane Material == <None> then the faces that would form them
become 'holes' in the final lattice.
***The 'Glass' material will be made if it doesn't exist - it is colored
'bluish-light-gray' with 30% opacity.
A faced mesh is made [like EEbyRails] with triangulation to ensure that
any twisted shapes get 'faced'.
You are asked if you want to 'Reverse Faces' - Yes/No: important as the
mesh depth/insets etc are from the 'top', i.e. front face of the mesh.
If there are any 'Coplanar Edges' then they are highlighted and you can
choose to erase them Yes/No: removing them will result in some
non-triangular lattice panes.
The Faces' edges are now offset to suit, then pushpulled to suit and the
materials applied.
Note that faces too small to have a 'pane' are made 'solid'.
A closing dialog asks if you want to delete the originally selected
curves - Yes/No.

Donations:
Are welcome [by PayPal], please use 'TIGdonations.htm' in the
../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder.
OR

Version:
1.0 20100428 First release.
1.1 20100429 Glitches with display fixed, included 'offset.rb' updated
to latest version and trapped for a fail.
1.2 20100430 Minor tweaks to text for lingvo files. New ES=Defisto and
FR=DidierBur + Pilou. Flat faces at z=0 auto-reversed.
1.3 20100504 Offset now reworked and 'in class'. Pane has back_material.
1.4 20100506 'Diagonals' option added.
1.5 20100507 Glitch with Line only versions Grouping fixed.
1.6 20100517 All lingvo files updates - adjusted ES by Defisto.
1.7 20101023 Pane thickness option added and lingvos updated.
1.8 20101027 Missing db on 'Processing...' corrected.
###

NOTE: the latest versions of these files is in the zipped set downloaded from here http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtop ... 63#p217663
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby pilou » Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:13 pm

0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby mitcorb » Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:30 pm

TIG:
Excellent concept!
Some obvious considerations: I am just going to throw these out with no disrespect intended, just food for further thought?

The profile of the lattice members will be rectangular.
Then, someone will ask if a circular or other section will be available, and this will be problematic for "pane-ing" the lattice.

And then, Lattice Deformation? requiring gradient selection techniques.

And then, discussion might ensue regarding precision, and best practices scale factor of model.
And then the question, why doesn't Sketchup have built in selectable scale factors to avoid a lot of tedious side calculation. But that's for another thread.

Thank you, again TIG.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:05 pm

Mitcorb

Try EEbyRailsByFace - that lets you preselect a circular [or any-shape] flat-face to use in the 'lattice' section [rails/profiles only], but you must then repeat the mesh with EEbyRails to make the 'pane' skin...

This EEbyRailsToLattice tool is limited to pushpulling the faces, so 'square' forms it has to be...
:)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby ken28875 » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:20 pm

Awesome, TIG! :berserk: :thumb: :thumb:

Thank you!

_KN
0
Follow Your Dreams.
User avatar
ken28875 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby pilou » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:44 pm

Playing with numbers can give some funny results ;)
Infinite possiblities :fro:
result.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby utiler » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:50 am

I wish I could express in words what your efforts and generousity to this community means, TIG......

:thumb:
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby d12dozr » Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:38 am

utiler wrote:I wish I could express in words what your efforts and generousity to this community means, TIG......

+1
Well said...thanks TIG!
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:30 am

Here's a study made with the tool...
eebyR2L.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby olishea » Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:51 am

this looks really really tasty!

thanks infinitely! gonna have a play now. man ive been waiting for something like this for quite a while!
0
oli
User avatar
olishea 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby pilou » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:17 pm

The new paracloud modeler by TIG ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:03 pm

Pilou wrote:The new paracloud modeler by TIG ;)

I'll write that before dinner ?
:roflmao:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby Chris Fullmer » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:49 pm

Hehe, TIG, I also used it to make that same shape last night. It was very easy to do. But I noticed a few things. The extrude by face by rails that I tried first did not ever allow me to have the triangulation. It just cleaned it up automatically, or else never even put it in place - I'm not sure which.

But this lattice one did add the triangulation, but only if I chose to use a 3d shape. If I just did a line, then it never add the triangulation.

I wouldn't mind ALWAYS having the option to keep the triangulation.

Seriously awesome stuff TIG, keep it up!

Chris
0
Lately you've been tan, suspicious for the winter.
All my Plugins I've written
User avatar
Chris Fullmer 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:02 pm

Chris Fullmer wrote:Hehe, TIG, I also used it to make that same shape last night. It was very easy to do. But I noticed a few things. The extrude by face by rails that I tried first did not ever allow me to have the triangulation. It just cleaned it up automatically, or else never even put it in place - I'm not sure which.
But this lattice one did add the triangulation, but only if I chose to use a 3d shape. If I just did a line, then it never add the triangulation.
I wouldn't mind ALWAYS having the option to keep the triangulation.
Seriously awesome stuff TIG, keep it up!
Chris

To get a full mesh that's triangulated use plain 'EEbyRails'.
When the mesh done don't smooth it etc.
Then you edit the mesh-group and select all, then deselect the edges [there are various tools to do this - I have my own but thomthom's selection-toys works well...].
Delete the faces - now you have the full mesh with triangles make from lines only...
The tool 'EEbyRailsToLattice' was written to do a 3D lattice or the profiles/rails rib-lines as simple separated curves - so you can use them for other things - like 'EEbyFace' using different profiles for different parts...
:geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:55 pm

Tig, plugins excellent. Thank you very much for their continued contributions and new ideas.
The plugin works perfect.
I use latest version of sketchup in Spanish and windows XP sp3 in Spanish
Only I make two suggestions

a - You can place the panels and the Mesh into separate layer or different groups?


b - could change the names of the *. lingvo, add a number.
It is easier to delete files that are not used
.

example:

01 - extrudeEdgesByLoftEN-US.lingvo
02 - extrudeEdgesByLoftES.lingvo
03 - extrudeEdgesByLoftFA.lingvo
04 - extrudeEdgesByLoftFR.lingvo
05 - extrudeEdgesByLoftZH-CN.lingvo

01 - extrudeEdgesByRailsEN-US.lingvo
02 - extrudeEdgesByRailsES.lingvo
03 - extrudeEdgesByRailsFA.lingvo
04 - extrudeEdgesByRailsFR.lingvo
05 - extrudeEdgesByRailsZH-CN.lingvo
0

DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ 
Banned
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby Didier Bur » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:03 pm

Hi TIG,
Here is the french lingvo file.
You're making great progress in french, just several typos were remaining ;)
Best regards,
0
Didier Bur (Bytes Farmer)
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:23 pm

Thanks Didier, Pilou also just did one - I'll make a compilation of both... :)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:36 am

New zipped set is now available [ viewtopic.php?p=242239#p242239 ], with minor tweaks to text for lingvo files. New ES=Defisto and FR=DidierBur + Pilou. Flat faces at z=0 are now auto-reversed.
:geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Tue May 04, 2010 2:25 pm

The script in the zipped set has been updated...
'Face.offset' is now reworked to be more robust and 'in class'
[i.e. now offset.rb is not needed].
Panes now get the 'back_material'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Tue May 04, 2010 3:34 pm

Tip
You are prompted to erase coplanar edges if the faces can survive without triangulation divisions.
To ensure that you get 'flat' quad faces make sure that the profiles and rails are identical [perhaps copy them].
Here is one with the coplanar triangulation left in...
Capture.PNG
This one had them erased before the lattice was made...
Capture1.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby pilou » Tue May 04, 2010 3:37 pm

That rules now :thumb: :fro:
fine2.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Tue May 04, 2010 3:49 pm

Here's another form...
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Tue May 04, 2010 4:31 pm

And another
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby pilou » Tue May 04, 2010 7:24 pm

;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby saturne45 » Tue May 04, 2010 11:01 pm

TREILLIS 01.png
Treillis 01
TREILLIS 05.png
TREILLIS 03.png
0

saturne45 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby olishea » Wed May 05, 2010 11:23 am

this is seriously amazing! been playing with it for hours now! just a question TIG: is there a way to group separately the "glass panes" from the frame? so the frame is one group and the panes are another...... :?
0
oli
User avatar
olishea 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby notareal » Wed May 05, 2010 11:29 am

Wow, you did it again! :sketchstatic:
0
Welcome to try Thea Render, Thea support | kerkythea.net -team member

notareal 
Thea Render Support
Thea Render Support
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby TIG » Wed May 05, 2010 4:45 pm

olishea wrote:this is seriously amazing! been playing with it for hours now! just a question TIG: is there a way to group separately the "glass panes" from the frame? so the frame is one group and the panes are another...... :?

Give the frames and panes different colors - say 'red' and 'glass'.
Edit the group and select a pane.
Right-click Context-menu > Select > All with same Material...
All the panes are selected, Right-click Context-menu > Group.
Repeat for the frames.
You now have the original lattice group that contains two sub-groups - one for the panes the other for the frames.
Re-color them as desired.
One of the reasons I gave a limited 'rainbow' of colors+glass was to avoid long material lists in the dialog which always causes grief when the color you want is off the screen... and as explained above you can always select everything by a material and apply any color/material onto them that you like later on... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby simon le bon » Thu May 06, 2010 12:58 am

Thank you so much Dear Tig for this new amazing tool. :thumb: :thumb:

TIG wrote:Tip
You are prompted to erase coplanar edges if the faces can survive without triangulation divisions.
To ensure that you get 'flat' quad faces make sure that the profiles and rails are identical [perhaps copy them].

Pretty good tip!


TIG to Olishea wrote:../
Edit the group and select a pane.
Right-click Context-menu > Select > All with same Material...
All the panes are selected, Right-click Context-menu > Group.
Repeat for the frames.

I wanted to tell this one, but I'm outstripped by TIG :)


another interesting result is to adjust the depth to 0 in order to get a flat frame
(and use soften & smooth for a simple aspect)




----------------------------------------------------

TIG to Chris Fullmer wrote:The tool 'EEbyRailsToLattice' was written to do a 3D lattice or the profiles/rails rib-lines as simple separated curves - so you can use them for other things - like 'EEbyFace' using different profiles for different parts...
:geek:


Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice + ExtrudeEdgesBy2Faces




Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice + ExtrudeEdgesByEdges


Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice + ExtrudeEdgesByEdges + ExtrudeEdgesByRailsByFace


---------------------------------------------------------------

Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice + Chris Fullmer tools


Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice + Didier Bur "lines to tubes" (with and without EEbRtL)

etc.. etc..

Vast possibilities :thumb: :thumb:


Dear TIG, may I comment ? :?
-Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice uses only ExtrudeEdgesByEdges. I would be really cool if we would be able to pick curves the same starting from ExtrudeEdgesByLoft and also from ExtrudeEdgesBy2Faces or from ExtrudeEdgesByLathe !
-Do you think it would be possible to select also the diagonal curves family?


with my friendly respect, simon.
0
Last edited by simon le bon on Thu May 06, 2010 10:26 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails to Lattice

Postby simon le bon » Thu May 06, 2010 1:02 am

playing:








I don't see how I could do the same with else tools :?:
*s
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: _domiomi, astro19930807, sokhet and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: