[Plugin] 2D Tools

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby josephkim626 » Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:51 pm

Beautiful TIG!

I will try it out as soon as I can!
I thought you were gonna sleep on it ;)
0
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 13, 2015 11:06 pm

Going to sleep now !
;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:38 pm

Here's v7.1

Download

There are several minor coding tweaks to try and work around a reported MAC issue [with my LayerWatcher!]...
Feedback appreciated...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:59 pm

Here's v7.2

Download

There are several more coding typo fixes to try and work around a reported MAC issue [with my LayerWatcher!]...
Feedback appreciated...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:17 am

Here's v7.3

Download

The tool that used to set up the main tools' commands has been recast as a simple class instance, to avoid issues with MACs caused by having a tool activated as SketchUp initially loads...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ivreich » Mon Jan 18, 2016 11:30 pm

Hi TIG

I've found a new bug with v7.3 of this plugin when running SU 2016...

When creating 2D fillets , the resultant geometry no longer shows as pure arcs, but exploded edges. Have attached a screenshot.

There are no ruby console error messages, and it works fine in SU 2015.

Cheers!

Joel
0

ivreich 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 19, 2016 1:54 pm

The 2d fillet's creation was changed to avoid problems with the new Observer regime in v2016.
This is the first reported issue.
I just retested it [v7.3 with v2016] very extensively and I got a perfect arc for the fillet every time...
But obviously that change looks like the probable cause of your glitch...
Does it occur every time for you ?
Do you have many other plugins loaded which might have skewed entities observers etc ?
Can you please post a simple SKP, with before and after examples of what you are seeing...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ivreich » Wed Jan 20, 2016 6:26 am

Hi TIG

I'm not sure how to check if my other plugins conflict with 2D tools, but I've attached a SU 2016 file showing what I get when I try to fillet 2 edges with the plugin. It occurs every time with SU 2016, but works fine with SU 2015 (for me).

Hope this helps!

Cheers,
Joel
0

ivreich 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Wed Jan 20, 2016 11:08 am

Very weird. I just opened your SKP file and selected the fillet. It's not exploded and reports as an arc with a radius which it wouldn't do if it was or had been exploded.
Fillet.gif

Click on the picture.

Edit: Even weirder is that I get the same exploded arc when I run the 2D Fillet tool on the other corner. And notice one segment remains highlighted when I click on the others with Select. No modifier key was being held. Entity Info reports edges selected not an arc.
Fillet2.gif

Click.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ivreich » Wed Jan 20, 2016 1:49 pm

Yup that is very weird. But the second image you described is exactly what happens whenever I try to run the fillet tool on SU 2016...one edge remains consistently highlighted and the curve reports as a series of edges...not an arc.

Cheers
J
0

ivreich 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:49 pm

OK

I can see it happening too :shock:

It the two picked Edges form a Face, then the Fillet is an Arc.
It those Edges have no Face then the Arc is getting exploded into weird bits !
All my tests were on faced-edges - which is supposedly the more awkward process !

I'll investigate - I'll announce the update as soon as I find the problem - and fix it...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:28 pm

Here's v7.4

Download


The Fillet tool is changed for compatibility with all + >= v2016
[important when its fillets are NOT applied onto a faced area]
Also the Fillet tool now helpfully highlights selected lines etc.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ivreich » Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:22 am

Brilliant, Thanks TIG

Cheers,
J
0

ivreich 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby JQL » Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:21 pm

I noticed I cannot change linetype. It says right click for options but right click shows a context menu without any 2D tool entries.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:33 pm

JQL wrote:I noticed I cannot change linetype. It says right click for options but right click shows a context menu without any 2D tool entries.
To [re]set the Line-Style you have to right-click in 'open space', otherwise the right-click activates the default context-menu...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby JQL » Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:53 am

Does it count if you are inside a group/component, with hide rest of model turned on and click on empty space there.

The first entry actually says "close group" and then I have some context menu options as you say.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:33 am

@JQL

You're right - after all of these years !
There is no context-menu when right-clicking in empty space in the model entities context, but there is when inside an edit mode...
You can of course set the 2dLineStyle when in the model entities context and that will be used in the edit context.
Or use the default 2dLineStyle on one piece and then select it and edit its 2dLineStyle, resetting the selected's 2dLineStyle that way...

It also occurs in the '2dHatch' tool, when trying to reset the 'PATT' !

This is clearly quite unsatisfactory - so I'll look at how I might fix it...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby JQL » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:51 pm

TIG wrote:@JQL

You're right - after all of these years !


LOL it's all your fault! I was working inside sectioncutface group!

After your release of the latest SectionCutFace, where XY axis are parallel to section planes (I only requested it, it's your fault you developed it :D), I've been rethinking my workflow for doing more stuff in sketchup than in LO. This includes linework of course and your dashed lines came to mind. I knew they were there but hadn't used them before...

As you're diving into this again, have you ever tought of drawing a sequence of lines for your dashed lines instead of faces?

That would allow us to use styles to control thickness instead of having a fixed face width, and it would allow us a bit more control on scenes displayed at multiple scales inside LO.

(I would personally have a hard time with it as I'm using profiles to control width but...)
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:04 pm

Here's v7.5

Download

Unlike when used within the Model entities-context, when editing a Group/Component the "right-click_in_open_space" was failing to open the 2dLineStyle-Settings or the 2dHatching-PATT-selector dialog: this has now been addressed - so that if used within an edit situation the short context-menu that appears has an appropriate command added onto it, which will then open that particular 2dTool's dialog.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby JQL » Tue Mar 15, 2016 4:17 pm

Thanks Tig!
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby function » Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:43 pm

newest version is messing with select tool I think. say i do control g to group something - usually it lets me select things again immediately. this plugin is conflicting and makes it so i have to hit the select tool again to select things. hope that makes sense
0

function 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:21 pm

function wrote:newest version is messing with select tool I think. say i do control g to group something - usually it lets me select things again immediately. this plugin is conflicting and makes it so i have to hit the select tool again to select things. hope that makes sense
This might be because of the tool-pop/push needed to add the context-menu...
I've investigated...
Here's v7.6

Download

The context-menu for changing the 2dLineStyle & 2dHatching settings, when opened on a right-click from inside an edit situation, are now set up so that they do not interfere with other tools...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby LDHall » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:47 am

2D Fillet / Chamfer tool does not work.
0

LDHall 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:32 am

There was an issue reported with 2dFillet sometimes failing - this January - but the latest versions, since v7.4, have addressed this.
The Fillet tool was changed for compatibility with all versions + >= v2016.
This update was important when its fillets are NOT applied onto a faced area.
Also the 2dFillet tool now helpfully highlights the two hovered/selected lines etc [as DaveR's gif illustrated very well].

Please get/install the latest RBZ - now v7.6 [which also include some fixes for 2dLineStyle and 2dHatching dialogs right-click opening when inside non-model contexts]...
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=2Dtools
Test and report back...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby josephkim626 » Wed Apr 06, 2016 4:12 pm

Thanks for the great work TIG!
0
User avatar
josephkim626 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Clayton49 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 6:36 pm

Hi all,

Is anyone using TIG'S-2D-TOOLS on version SU-PRO-2017, as I see it's not validated yet for this version ?

Thanks,
Over & out,
CJT54
0
Over & out,
Clayton.

Trotman & Taylor
Architectural Consultants
User avatar
Clayton49 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:12 pm

I already replied in the other thread. This extension works just fine in SU2017. Leave the loading policy set to unrestricted.
1
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Clayton49 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:41 am

Dave R wrote:I already replied in the other thread. This extension works just fine in SU2017. Leave the loading policy set to unrestricted.


Hi Dave-R,

Thanks for confirming this, it's best this was aired on this 2D-tools page for others, tenuous links & all that. I see on my very old posts about subject, DASHED-LINES, I did in fact download & install this plugin, I now remember using it, but lost & forgot all about it, it must have been around the time I had a PC HD melt down...grrrr.

I wonder why it's not been badged o.k. for SU-PRO-2017 on the download page... ? it sure is a great tool from what I remember, I can't wait to plug-it-in again.

SU I feel has missed out on not providing 2D-CAD type tools, not everything needs to be modeled in 3D, adding the odd extra detail with 2D lines on saved model sections for building plans/sections makes this tool invaluable. I prefer doing it this way, rather than SU-LAYOUT, as all fixed & tied into the model. Besides that, I failed miserably in measuring off the model in SU-LAYOUT when trying to place/trace extra line details off the model in the view port at precise known distances. I think measuring was influenced by the scale of the view port window, anyway seemed tedious from what I recall. Not too sure why this is, as dimensions know what scale your using ? SU-LAYOUT is great for other items.
0
Over & out,
Clayton.

Trotman & Taylor
Architectural Consultants
User avatar
Clayton49 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby facer » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:24 am

Draftsight (Free)
https://www.3ds.com/products-services/d ... -software/

If you are looking for 2D drafting tool to complement your Sketchup work
Draftsight offers the following advantages:

1. Free
2. Continually upgraded, allowing reading of current Revit or Autocad drawings in dwg or dxf
3. Supported by Dassault Systemes 3DS - a large French company.
1
User avatar
facer 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby juju » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:44 am

facer wrote:Draftsight (Free)
https://www.3ds.com/products-services/d ... -software/

If you are looking for 2D drafting tool to complement your Sketchup work
Draftsight offers the following advantages:

1. Free
2. Continually upgraded, allowing reading of current Revit or Autocad drawings in dwg or dxf
3. Supported by Dassault Systemes 3DS - a large French company.

I second this suggestion, I use it for viewing and conversion purposes.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 20ness78, fab taf, jairfilho and 33 guests

Visit our sponsors: