[Plugin] 2D Tools

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:33 pm

Yes. Your SU version is too old but you aren't sunk yet. Move the .rbz file OUT of the Plugins folder. Maybe put it back into the Downloads folder. Rename it to .zip. Then double click on the file name to extract the contents. Select those contents and copy them to the Plugins folder. See this post for more information.

You could update to SU8 and then you'd be able to install .rbz files without the gymnastics. You could also then install the Sketchucation Plugin Store and auto-install plugins.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:46 pm

CYS wrote:I downloaded 2d tools and received a file named 2Dtools_v6.1.rbz
I put it in the plugins folder and restarted sketchup but the toolbar is not showing up the draw menu, the tools menu, or the toolbar menu. I am wondering if my operating system (mac 10.6.8) or sketchup version (7) are too old?
You have v7. :roll:
You cannot use an RBZ archive directly. :(
With SketchUp v8, and newer, the contents of the RBZ archive are automatically installed from the Preferences > Extensions > Install... button...
I recommend v2013...

To make a RBZ usable in v7...
The following applies to any RBZ you get...
Move the RBZ out of the Plugins folder into a temporary subfolder...

To get access to the contents of the RBZ file rename it with a .zip suffix.
An RBZ is essentially a ZIP file with another suffix.
Now extract the contents of that ZIP.
The base-level rb file[s] and the ZIP's subfolder of helper files should remain intact - NEVER move files out of their subfolders...
In the case of 2DTools it's two files = 2d#.rb, deBabelizer.rb and a folder named '2DTools' containing many files and further subfolders of files...

Now ensure you have FULL read/write permission to the appropriate Plugins folder, and also that you have selected to trickle those permissions down to affect all of the folder's contents...

Now move the newly extracted base-level file[s] and the intact subfolder of other files, into your Plugins and restart SketchUp.

If you've done it correctly look in the Draw menu and Toolbars... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby CYS » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:12 am

Thanks for your help. It is working.
0

CYS 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby joergber » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:18 pm

Hi TIG,

struggling around with connecting two circles with an arc of custom radius ...

struggle.jpg


... I thought it could be an option for the fillet tool!

Many thanks for your helpful tools!!!

BR
Jörg
0

joergber 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:42 pm

Look at my TrueTangent toolset.
It makes true points for tangents, intersection of arcs and so on.
It was developed to overcome the SketchUp's limitations of arcs really being segmented polylines, and circles being polygons...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby joergber » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:58 pm

I looked at these and do understand the advantage over working with segmented arcs but I was not able to achieve the requested ...

Am I missing something or a tut?

Many thanks!!!
Jörg

EDIT: I thought too complicated ...
Using the manual method above and determining the true intersections did it.
Then all I had to do was to draw all circles/arcs (again) using the generated cPoints.
THX to TIG (again) :thumb:
0

joergber 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Kenny » Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:17 pm

Is it possible to allow a line to cast shadows and apply styles such as extended lines with 2D tools?

The attached example arrow on the left was created manually and shows what I'd like to achieve after a line style is applied in order to produce urban design annotation with a sketchy hand drawn effect.

The arrow on the right was created with line styles but the faces do not cast shadows and effects such as extended edges and profiles don't appear to work on it. Each one of the dashes appears to be a face when I click on it but they don't cast a shadow.

If it isn't possible at the moment could it be made to behave in the way I've described?

Also could arrowhead styles be added to the settings?
0

Kenny 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 23, 2014 10:48 am

@Kenny

Your manually drawn version looks so much better ;)

Because the 2dTools' styled-lines, text etc are intended for 'flat graphics', they have all if their edges hidden and they are also set not to cast/receive shadows.
To change this for an existing entity, switch View > Hidden Geometry ON, then Edit the 'group' and use 'Entity Info' to unhide selected edges, and change the shadow cast/receive settings of selected geometry/groups too as desired...
2d text etc is always made floating a mm or so above its base level, to avoid z-fighting with any surfaces, therefore its shadow casting is unset so it doesn't reveal that... but you choose...

You can easily Move objects up in the Z [blue] so they cast shadows on surfaces/ground below them.

If you have Layout [i.e. Pro] then many of these 2dTools are often superfluous to your needs - as flat-2d-graphics are easily made in app ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Kenny » Mon Jan 27, 2014 9:33 am

TIG, thanks for the reply and explanation. It works fine now that I've changed the properties. With a bit of fiddling with the arrow head manually it should look very similar to the fully manually drawn version and will be a big time saver.

I do have Layout but I use Adobe Indesign for graphics but I'll maybe have another look at it as it's been some while since I've tried it.
0

Kenny 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby masterpaul » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:40 pm

I cant find this plugin on the SketchUcation Plugin Store.
-1
User avatar
masterpaul 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Box » Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:59 pm

If you click the 'Download' button in the first post of the thread it takes you directly to it.
If you search the PluginStore on SketchUcation, select Author TIG and 'Full list'... then it's the first one.
From within Sketchup - PluginStore again search TIG, 'Full list'... and again it's the first one.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v5.4 20130907

Postby robertWan » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:57 am

TIG wrote:@RobertWan

I think this is down to tiny geometry again.
SketchUp tolerance is ~1/1000"
3mm is approaching that for the tiny facet sizes and their end points being considered equivalent...
When the fillet tool rounds a corner like that there should be no residual lines anyway!
The faceted arc has a first/last section at such a shallow angle to the side that the point is confused.
If you delete the two edges and redraw them, being sure to snap to the ends of the fillet-arc, then they will be 3mm long and dimension correctly.
See the zoomed view attached...


It is a plugin that changes the quantity (in selected groups of components, curves) segments in arcs and circles?

I could draw the segments set to 6 (R 1 mm arc are ok) and prior to export to DXF* change all the arcs ang circles for example S30.

Robert

* Free Plugin DXF export does not save arcs and circles as true arcs, only segments.

Robert
0
User avatar
robertWan 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:19 pm

You can only change the segmentation of arcs/circle that are '2d'.
That is an arc/circle that has no faces or is associated with only one face.
If you have made extrusions you cannot change the segmentation - because that curve now forms part of a 3d object.
You can select a '2d' arc/circle and use 'Entity Info' to change its number of segments.
If you have lots to process there is my Plugin available...
'ArcCurve_set_segments'...
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pl ... t_segments
viewtopic.php?p=158903#p158903
It runs from a Plugins menu item or the Ruby Console...
It will change the segment count of all preselected arcs/circles IF it can... i.e. they are '2d'...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby robertWan » Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:10 pm

TIG wrote:If you have lots to do there is my Plugin available...
'ArcCurve_set_segments'...


That's what I've been looking for.
Thank you!

Robert
0
User avatar
robertWan 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Fri Mar 28, 2014 12:13 am

I am having a problem with setting the Alignment for the 2D Text Tool. The only thing that seems to work is Center. It appears that maybe the ]" at the end of the work Right and the "[ at the beginning of the work Left are causing a problem.

If I try to right align text, it goes through the dialog just fine but does not create anything.


Also, on the Line Style, how do I create my own custom line style?

I am running SU 2014 on Windows 8.1
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:51 am

ntxdave wrote:I am having a problem with setting the Alignment for the 2D Text Tool. The only thing that seems to work is Center. It appears that maybe the ]" at the end of the work Right and the "[ at the beginning of the work Left are causing a problem.
If I try to right align text, it goes through the dialog just fine but does not create anything.
Also, on the Line Style, how do I create my own custom line style?
I am running SU 2014 on Windows 8.1
Remember that the 'alignment' of 2d text [which is what 2d text is - just no extrusion and editable...] does NOT place the text-component's insertion point in different places, it's always bottom-left: the alignment affects how multi-line text is formatted - 'left' and the lines of text align to the left 'margin', right the lines of text align to the right 'margin', and 'center' will center the lines of text. You can of course alter the axes [aka insertion-point] of any component by selecting an instance and using the context-menu item to change it.

BUT now I do have a suspicion about some Ruby v2014 compatibility error [your report of the ][ brackets] - watch for the update :roll:

The custom LineStyle is explained in the 2d Help docs...
Activate the LineStyle tool, right-click in empty space to call up the settings dialog, choose '<Custom Style>' from the end - in the next dialog enter a string - It must consist of <space> . (dot) only. Repeat it with a trailing <space(s)> to suit your needs...
It is named thus 'MyStyle~.... .... '
The custom-pattern is saved with the model...

However, the LineStyle dialog suffers from the same ][ brackets issue - I fix that too...

Watch for the update shortly...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:56 am

A update [v6.2] is available in the PluginStore.
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=2Dtools
it fixes some v2014 glitches with some drop-down lists in dialogs for 2dText & 2dLineStyle.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:06 pm

TIG wrote:
ntxdave wrote:I am having a problem with setting the Alignment for the 2D Text Tool. The only thing that seems to work is Center. It appears that maybe the ]" at the end of the work Right and the "[ at the beginning of the work Left are causing a problem.
If I try to right align text, it goes through the dialog just fine but does not create anything.
Also, on the Line Style, how do I create my own custom line style?
I am running SU 2014 on Windows 8.1
Remember that the 'alignment' of 2d text [which is what 2d text is - just no extrusion and editable...] does NOT place the text-component's insertion point in different places, it's always bottom-left: the alignment affects how multi-line text is formatted - 'left' and the lines of text align to the left 'margin', right the lines of text align to the right 'margin', and 'center' will center the lines of text. You can of course alter the axes [aka insertion-point] of any component by selecting an instance and using the context-menu item to change it.



Thanks for the reply. Clearly my fault. I some how missed the comment about applying to multi line text.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:13 pm

TIG wrote:A update [v6.2] is available in the PluginStore.
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=2Dtools
it fixes some v2014 glitches with some drop-down lists in dialogs for 2dText & 2dLineStyle.

I updated to this version and yes the drop down lists work much smoother.

However, I am still seeing the brackets on the tools and when I select <custom style> for the line style tool, I do not get the window to draw my style.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:53 pm

You don't 'draw it', you input it as spaces and dots in a second dialog...
It worked for me... :?
Something is up with the PluginStore version - it's not updated... :roll:

I'll updated again please retry it in a moment... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:04 pm

TIG wrote:You don't 'draw it', you input it as spaces and dots in a second dialog...
It worked for me... :?
Something is up with the PluginStore version - it's not updated... :roll:

I'll updated again please retry it in a moment... :?


Bad wording on my part.....I understand what you are saying about entering it. I just do not get the dialog box. Are dots/periods the only characters I can use in my style?

BTW: On the text tool with multi line text, it shows centered but the text was right aligned. I could not get left to work though.

Probably something about the Ruby 2.0 that may be causing some conflict. I really am using the tool a lot though and liking it. The only other thing I see is that if I apply a line style to a curve, it does not repeat the line pattern but I found a way to work with that :-)

As I said, I like the tool and it is very useful for me. Now I need to figure out how to draw a regular line thicker and add an arrow head. Right now I go to LayOut to accomplish that.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:09 pm

http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=2Dtools
Is v6.3
Hopefully this will work...
Feedback welcome.............
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:22 pm

TIG wrote:http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=2Dtools
Is v6.3
Hopefully this will work...
Feedback welcome.............


Great job...all seems to be working well.

Now another question - is it possible to allow characters other than a . and a space?

The only place where I see any problem is when I apply a line style to a Fillet. I am attaching a file that will display show what I am talking about.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 29, 2014 12:20 pm

No.
The <space> is the 'gap'.
The 'dot' is the 'solid'.
.. .. makes the solid twice as long as the gap.
. . makes the gap twice as long as the solid.
How else could you use another character.
The LineStyles all consist of gaps and solids.
The length of the gaps/solids is proportional to the line 'width'...

A 'curve' is treated as a number of separate line segments.
If a line segment is very short compared the the styled 'width' then it will all be single solid - made from the first . and perhaps even shortened from a full 'dot' !

You could manually delete every other styled-element to make the dots around a curve :?

The reason your 2d Text right aligned etc looks slightly odd is that you have a space with the newline \n, this shunts the words over by a space - don't end or start with a start next to the \n.
"THIS\nIS HOW\nTO DO IT"
But
"THIS \n IS NOT HOW\n TO DO IT"
depending on the alignment used...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby ntxdave » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:44 pm

TIG wrote:No.
The <space> is the 'gap'.
The 'dot' is the 'solid'.
.. .. makes the solid twice as long as the gap.
. . makes the gap twice as long as the solid.
How else could you use another character.
The LineStyles all consist of gaps and solids.
The length of the gaps/solids is proportional to the line 'width'...

You could manually delete every other styled-element to make the dots around a curve :?

The reason your 2d Text right aligned etc looks slightly odd is that you have a space with the newline \n, this shunts the words over by a space - don't end or start with a start next to the \n.
"THIS\nIS HOW\nTO DO IT"
But
"THIS \n IS NOT HOW\n TO DO IT"
depending on the alignment used...


OK - I understand. I was thinking about using characters like " - _ = + *" to build different patterns for different situations.

Yes, on my drawings, I deleted some of the style-elements on the curves and it came out pretty good. Kind of depends on how "sharp" the curve is.

Yes, I did put that space in there. I thought I had done it without the space and it did not work. Do not know what happened then. I just tried it and it worked just fine.

I highly recommend this tool. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Seems like almost every day I find another use for it.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re:DASHED LINES with [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Clayton49 » Mon Sep 08, 2014 11:41 am

To all,

I recently downloaded this PLUG-IN & can confirm it works o.k. with SU-Pro-2014.

**** DASHED LINES---DASHED LINES---DASHED LINES ****

.....and only just discovered.....
you can draw dashed lines & custom these as well... :ecstatic:

Over & out,
Clayton.
0
Over & out,
Clayton.

Trotman & Taylor
Architectural Consultants
User avatar
Clayton49 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby kupono » Fri Nov 14, 2014 3:41 am

Can't get the 2D Line Style tool to display a settings dialog in SU Pro 2015. I removed all 2D folders and plugins then reinstalled - same thing.
0
User avatar
kupono 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Fri Nov 14, 2014 4:09 am

It works fine for me. The dialog box pops up when I right click in empty space just as the hint at the bottom directs.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby kupono » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:05 am

That's interesting, it's now working. Go figure.

Thx
0
User avatar
kupono 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2

Postby sketchydog » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:33 pm

thomthom wrote::?:


TIG-
Have enjoyed using 2D Tools, and especially the linestyle tool, for generating property lines, etc.
Some comments:

first of all, have been running it fine on SU 2015. Today, I attempted a few Custom Styles, and now I am stuck with the most recent Custom Style, and right clicking in empty space no longer gets me a menu. I went back to a saved version of the file a couple of hours earlier, before I attempted the Custom Style, and 2D tools works fine. It's apparently only in THIS file that it will not work. I have run Cleanup. I have done a SaveAs to another name. No good. Apparently this file is not going to run 2D Tools Line Style again. What happened?

Also- a couple of other comments:
1. It's strange how, for the color options, we get a huge pallete of colors...and I'm not sure where they come from...but they change...and frequently I'll go back for "Goldenrod" or some other color, and it's not on the list anymore! The list appears to be a selection in the middle of a greater range of colors. In other words, soehow I sense that there are colors above and below the menu but cannot get to them.

2. Would be very good to get widths greater than 144.

3. Would be good to have some sort of way to handle curves. It's strange when a property line "goes solid" for a short segment or a curved segment.

Thanks!
0

sketchydog 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: agathacanali, c4rdin4l, daromero, momomaury, rommel02, rouis and 35 guests

Visit our sponsors: