[Plugin] 2D Tools

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:52 pm

Ken wrote:TIG
Attached is the VCB during drawing an arc. Not sure, what VCB is displaying, however your help guide indicated that the VCB should be displaying the “swept-angle”
Thanks for the plugin
Ken

Ken
Clearly the 2d arc is 'working' and it's about 306 degrees (306993/1000) ! The reported angle in the VCB is calculated in radians, turned to degrees, made into a float, then into text... there's never a /1000 in it ! I can't see where the fractional info is coming from - do you have 'fractional' units set ? I don't get the nnn/nnn even with that set on my PC ? Can you give more details of your OS and model setup etc...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:03 pm

Thank you TIG. That appears to have fixed the line style problem.

Is there a way to edit the spacing of dashes or dots on the line style?

FWIW, I tried the swept arc and got a decimal display of the angle and I do have units set to fractional.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby EarthMover » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:44 pm

Thanks for your diligence TIG. I'm always amazed at your dedication...especially with no financial compensation. You are one of the many SU heroes!

BTW - Everything is working fine now for me!
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:51 pm

Dave R wrote:Thank you TIG. That appears to have fixed the line style problem.
Is there a way to edit the spacing of dashes or dots on the line style?
FWIW, I tried the swept arc and got a decimal display of the angle and I do have units set to fractional.


The angle should display as decimal degrees to ~3dp e.g. 90.0 or 91.125
The 'dashes and dots' space ~equal=line_width, but squash up to suit odd line lengths. You can write your own styles ! Just edit the code as needed !!! ;)

Seriously, if there's another style you'd like that's not there, then give me an example and I might be able to add it ? :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:05 pm

I wasn't complaining about the angle display. Just mentioning that it seemed to be alright for me. I didn't get the strange fractional display that Ken got.

Thanks on the line styles. I don't have anything in mind at the moment. I was just curious. In some case the dashes or dots seemed too close together but that could be just me.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:37 pm

Here's v2.5 viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760

Clipping fixed with Tool.getExtents thanks to NewOne's idea. :geek: + :ugeek:
0
Last edited by TIG on Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby ken » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:15 pm

TIG
Here is my operating system and Sketchup info.

XP Profession Ver 2002, Service Pack 2, Sketchup Pro 7.0.10247.

The VCB apparently reads the cursor position, I can move the cursor without changing the angle and get a changing reading on the VCB.

I have discovered that if I start the arc at the origin, the VCB will read 0 degree at the top, 90 to the right, 180 down and 90 towards the left at each axis. It appears to be able to snap to the axis.

I used the protractor and made guidelines at 60, 45 and 30 degrees. If I stopped at any of the guidelines, the VCB read the correct degrees, but would not read the correct degrees between the guidelines. i.e Going CW, 60, 45, 30, 150, 135 and 120.

Wish I could give you more help.

Again, I want to thank you for this plugin. I find I can turn out small 2d drawing quicker with Sketchup than if I use any other CAD program. Not asking you to change anything, however, I would prefer when doing a 2d drawing to just have all the icons for all the different selections displayed. To me that would be faster than trying to remember what control to pick. I know that would take up a lot of space, but I would only load this menu when I have to do a 2d drawing.

Also, V2.5 still says ver V2.4. Did you not change the Ver number or did you download V2.4 again?

Ken
0
Fight like your the third monkey on Noah's Ark gangway.
User avatar
ken 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:51 pm

Ken

The very first post in this thread contains a zip with the latest [currently v2.5] files in it. Some files might have not changed and say v2.4 in them - but for completeness they're all in the one zip...

I hope that the options aren't too cumbersome... Make a note and stick it on top of your monitor... ;)
They do mostly appear in the VCB bar too.....

Line:
Ctrl toggles Lines/ConstructionLines
Alt toggles Lines/Polylines
Type lengths in VCB

Rectangle:
Type Dimensions pt1+width or height

Freehand:
Type segment length in VCB

Arc:
Ctrl toggles 3-point/center+2-point
Alt toggles angles 0-180/180-360
Type NNs'egments at any time or length/radius between pt1/pt2 or swept-angle between pt2/pt3

Circle:
Ctrl toggle center+radius/3-point
Alt toggle center+radius/2-point(diameter)
Type NNs'egments at any time or pt1+radius/diameter etc

Fillet:
Alt toggles Fillet/Chamfer
Type NNs'egments for radius or radius, or chamfer/chamfer1:chamfer2

The other tools either have limited options or have dialogs [2DText] or you right-click in empty-space to open their dialog - e.g. Hatching and Line-Style
Selecting some 2DText or a Styled-Line gives special context-menus and then the editing dialog...

:enlight:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby xrok1 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:26 am

:ecstatic:
0
“There are three classes of people: those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

http://www.Twilightrender.com try it!

xrok1 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Matt666 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:50 am

Hi TIG!
Great new tools, thank you!
Just one thing I've changed in your plugin... I don't like to put plugins in the plugins folder... :oops: So I made my script withs relative pathes.
If you want I can tell you where you pathes are absolute...
0
Frenglish at its best !
My scripts

Matt666 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby agrazdi » Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:48 pm

Tig

Any plans for a double line ?

agrazdi
0

agrazdi 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby EarthMover » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:19 pm

The more I use this toolset, the more I love it. I had to do a quick cross section of a roof detail yesterday to apply for permits on an upcoming build. Instead of CAD, I was able to do it all in Sketchup using 2D tools. Putting the line style changes on their own layer to be toggled on and off, is brilliant. You can do preliminary plan view drawings with line styles, then shut them off and proceed with the 3D modeling. Another great thing about Line Styles......they are renderable!!

It would be nice to incorporate Matt's extend tool into the toolset. Also making an extend tool for an arc would be brilliant. So often I have to try and continue and existing arc to a line and it usually requires finding the center point, using TOS to draw a Cline Circle, then snapping the arcs bulge to it, as tangent snaps isn't always reliable. Another way is to explode the curve, find center point and rotate a section around, but if it could be streamlined into a Arc extend tool, that would great.

One other request would be the ability to have leader text that doesn't change size when your scroll in and out. Perhaps there is a setting to change this that I don't know about??? Perhaps an improved leader text tool for 2D tools would be in order.
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Pixero » Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:21 pm

I cant see any snapping points when using the line tool. Bug?
0
User avatar
Pixero 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby markozeta » Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:37 pm

EarthMover wrote:One other request would be the ability to have leader text that doesn't change size when your scroll in and out. Perhaps there is a setting to change this that I don't know about??? Perhaps an improved leader text tool for 2D tools would be in order.


Set your text size to be a value in inches, rather than point size.

Window > Model Info > Text > Font Size.

Set it for a value in inches and it will be constant. In points it will move zoom with the zoom.
0
BSME - Cal Poly Pomona
Sketchup Pipe Maniac

markozeta 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Ben Ritter » Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:41 pm

TIG,

Just started to use the tools and all I can say is that they are wonderful. Thank you so much.

One problem I'm having is getting the hatching command to work. Does not want to initialize, no dialog box, etc.

Ben
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:57 pm

Ben Ritter wrote:TIG,

Just started to use the tools and all I can say is that they are wonderful. Thank you so much.

One problem I'm having is getting the hatching command to work. Does not want to initialize, no dialog box, etc.

Ben

After hatching has been run once you should get it opening without a dialog, with the last set 'patt' reported on the VCB, right-click in empty-space to get the dialog up to change the 'patt'. Otherwise please run with ruby console open and report error messages...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:58 pm

Pixero wrote:I cant see any snapping points when using the line tool. Bug?

There aren't any ! Might add some ???
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 22, 2009 6:06 pm

2D text has no 'leaders' - it's easy enough to add one as a 2D polyline between the text and the required point. If you want an arrow or 'dot' then add say a text 'point' at the end ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Ben Ritter » Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:04 pm

TIG wrote:
Ben Ritter wrote:TIG,

Just started to use the tools and all I can say is that they are wonderful. Thank you so much.

One problem I'm having is getting the hatching command to work. Does not want to initialize, no dialog box, etc.

Ben

After hatching has been run once you should get it opening without a dialog, with the last set 'patt' reported on the VCB, right-click in empty-space to get the dialog up to change the 'patt'. Otherwise please run with ruby console open and report error messages...


TIG,

I click on the tool and nothing happens. The ruby console says, "Cancelled 2d Hatching". That's all it says.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby facer » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:01 am

Tig,
Thank you for ruby, well done.

Everything appears to work except for 2D Hatching and Text.
I am unable to activate the 2D Hatching or Text.
Operating system Windows 2000.

Here is the ruby consule output for the attempts on Hatching and Text:

Cancelled 2D Hatching.
Cancelled 2D Hatching.
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `refresh_thumbnail' for #<Sketchup::ComponentDefinition:0x74ebee0>>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:126:in `activate'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:343:in `select_tool'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:343:in `texttool2D'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2D#loader.rb:130
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2D#loader.rb:130:in `call'
0
User avatar
facer 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Pixero » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:58 am

TIG wrote:
Pixero wrote:I cant see any snapping points when using the line tool. Bug?

There aren't any ! Might add some ???


Please do.
0
User avatar
Pixero 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:38 am

Ben Ritter wrote:I click on the tool and nothing happens. The ruby console says, "Cancelled 2d Hatching". That's all it says.

A mystery ! Please give me details of SUp version, OS etc...
But first can you also try typing/pasting this command into the ruby console to see what happens...

hatchingtool2D

The only tile you get the "Cancelled 2d Hatching" message is if you open the dialog and then cancel the dialog, the tool is cancelled too...

Does this problem happen on a 'brand new' and 'empty' model and/or existing ones ?
With the ruby console open, if you pick on the tool from the toolbar or menu do you get the cancelled message immediately ? What does the VCB say ? What materials do you have in the Materials Browser ? Any 'PATT' ones ?

I shall get to the bottom of this :?:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:43 am

facer wrote:Everything appears to work except for 2D Hatching and Text.
I am unable to activate the 2D Hatching or Text.
Operating system Windows 2000.
Here is the ruby console output for the attempts on Hatching and Text:
Cancelled 2D Hatching.
Cancelled 2D Hatching.
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `refresh_thumbnail' for #<Sketchup::ComponentDefinition:0x74ebee0>>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:126:in `activate'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:343:in `select_tool'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2DtextTool.rb:343:in `texttool2D'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2D#loader.rb:130
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/2Dtools/2D#loader.rb:130:in `call'

See my recent reply to Ben Ritter who has similar problems with Hatching...
Can you give me a few more details about the SUp version etc...
I suspect you are using an earlier version of SUp that doesn't support definition.refresh_thumbnail ?
I'll look into it... :?: :!:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby SHAHEEN » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:14 pm

thanks a lot TIG . u r amazin
0
" An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind "
Gandhi

SHAHEEN 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.6

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:25 pm

Here's v2.6 viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760

Line inferencing and tooltips improved.
Circle VCB messages improved or corrected.
Hatching error/glitch fixed.
Text error with SUp v<7 fixed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.6

Postby Edson » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:35 pm

gosh! there is no limit to how much you can improve your plugins. i may have said this before, tig, but you are a great asset to this community. :thumb: :thumb:
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Ben Ritter » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:51 pm

TIG wrote:
Ben Ritter wrote:I click on the tool and nothing happens. The ruby console says, "Cancelled 2d Hatching". That's all it says.

A mystery ! Please give me details of SUp version, OS etc...
But first can you also try typing/pasting this command into the ruby console to see what happens...

hatchingtool2D


The only tile you get the "Cancelled 2d Hatching" message is if you open the dialog and then cancel the dialog, the tool is cancelled too...

Does this problem happen on a 'brand new' and 'empty' model and/or existing ones ?

With the ruby console open, if you pick on the tool from the toolbar or menu do you get the cancelled message immediately ? What does the VCB say ? What materials do you have in the Materials Browser ? Any 'PATT' ones ?

I shall get to the bottom of this :?:


TIG,

Tried v 2.6 and same happens.

In the ruby console, tried your suggestion:

hatchingtool2D
Cancelled 2D Hatching.
#<Sketchup::Model:0x5047f78>

I'm running SU 6.4.112, XP Professional Service Pack 3, brand new model, just the default texture. With ruby console open, I get the message immediately, nothing in the VCB.

Thanks for checking into it. Ben
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.6

Postby dedmin » Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:51 pm

TIG wrote:Here's v2.6 viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760

Line inferencing and tooltips improved.
Circle VCB messages improved or corrected.
Hatching error/glitch fixed.
Text error with SUp v<7 fixed.

Google, stop trying to compete with TIG!!! :berserk: :berserk: :berserk:
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.6

Postby Dan » Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:23 pm

Tig, thanks again for your wonderful work, daily updates and your "instant" answers!

A suggestion : an "adjust" tool (instead of the requested "extend").
ArchiCAD has such a tool and I use it very often.
It works like that:
- select an entity (line, arc, poly-line, etc.)
- choose the "adjust" tool
- pick another 2D entity (line, arc, circle, poly-line, etc), or draw a line
- the selected 2D entity then is "adjusted" to the last one (shortened if it's longer, extended if it's shorter)

I don't know if it's hard to add this to your tools, but it would be very useful to me (and many others, I dare to think).
0

Dan 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.6

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:10 pm

Dan

The 2D Fillet Tool also acts as a Trim Tool or an Extend Tool - when its value=0.
By default its radius/chamfer value=0.
Run the 2D Fillet Tool.
Pick two Edges.
Assuming they intersect...
If they are long they are Trimmed
If they are short they are Extended.
If the Edge owns more that one Face it is not Trimmed as that would destroy the Face !
It works on Lines, Polylines, Arcs etc...
However, it doesn't remake Arcs to Extend them to the new intersection - just changes the last segment length...
What is the difference between this and what you suggest ? I can only see it's this Arc remaking ? :idea:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 111 guests

Visit our sponsors: