[Plugin] RoundCorner - v3.3a - 18 Dec 18

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Hieru » Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:07 pm

OK, so I've tried disabling all other plugins, but no luck.

I've also completely removed Round Corner and LibFredo from the plugin folder and reinstalled them. Again no luck....when I try anything other than Sharp Corners I get the warning "Invalid (Property filter)".

I haven't tried installing manually (without the Sketchucation tool).
0
User avatar
Hieru 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Rich O Brien » Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:10 pm

Can you share or show an example mesh?
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:21 am

Hieru wrote:OK, so I've tried disabling all other plugins, but no luck.

I've also completely removed Round Corner and LibFredo from the plugin folder and reinstalled them. Again no luck....when I try anything other than Sharp Corners I get the warning "Invalid (Property filter)".

I haven't tried installing manually (without the Sketchucation tool).

The message "invalid (property filter)" comes when you select an edge with NO face.

So you may want to inspect your model and see if there is no hidden edge defect.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Hieru » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:37 pm

Thanks guys, but I've solved the problem now.

For some reason the edge properties were set by default to 'soft' only. Not sure if that's a bug or a d'oh! moment on my behalf.
0
User avatar
Hieru 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Diago » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:06 am

Hi there a question. Does Round Corner work on Sketchup 2015 on Mac? If so, how can I install it? thanks in advance.
0

Diago 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:21 pm

Hi there.
I have been looking through the topic but can't find any satisfying answer to my problem... I am working on Sketchup 2015 for mac and the RoundCorner plugin keeps crushing it pretty much every single time i try to use it... I have checked all my plugins and they're up to date, so is the v-ray version... Also don't have any error messages when I run the program. But all the plugin needs to crush is simply trying to select or unselect ANY line and bam - there's the bug splat... Any ideas what may be causing that? I'm running out of patience :P :evil:
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:29 pm

Try disabling the V-ray plugin and see if you still get the crash.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Diago » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:35 pm

Red Foxy, do you have v-ray for SU 2015 for Mac? could you please upload the file? I really don't find any v-ray for SU 2015 for Mac.
0

Diago 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:07 pm

Dave R wrote:Try disabling the V-ray plugin and see if you still get the crash.


Thanks for the quick reply... well, i did that, checked some edges, got all excited, added one more and well.. yeah. bug splat... :( So still no solution... Will probably try unchecking and trying all the plugins one by one, maybe i'll find something responsible for that :/ Thanks anyway for the suggestion...

Diago wrote:Red Foxy, do you have v-ray for SU 2015 for Mac? could you please upload the file? I really don't find any v-ray for SU 2015 for Mac.


Yeah, got it from the chaosgroup website :)
http://www.chaosgroup.com/en/2/vrayforsketchup.html
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:08 pm

Maybe you could post the SKP file that you're trying to run Round Corner on?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:14 pm

the whole file is quite big, unless you mean a separate component then sure, but it crashes on things as simple as a cube.. I managed to get 2 surfaces rounded however it took me like 6 attempts or something :D this thing really teaches you patience.
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:28 pm

What edges are you trying to round over? And what values are you using for Offset and the Number of sides?

Patience is good. ;)
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:33 pm

Dave R wrote:What edges are you trying to round over? And what values are you using for Offset and the Number of sides?

Patience is good. ;)


Just the sides of the main box and the parameters were 2mm and 2 sides.
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:37 pm

OK. I just tried it on my computer and it worked fine. I only selected the front and back vertical edges and the bottom edge. How were you making the selection? Is it possible you were selecting the top edge where the round over has already been done?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:47 pm

Dave R wrote:OK. I just tried it on my computer and it worked fine. I only selected the front and back vertical edges and the bottom edge. How were you making the selection? Is it possible you were selecting the top edge where the round over has already been done?


I don't think so, i just select the four vertical edges and try to run the roundcorner... As I said before, sometimes it works but it crashes on rather stupid moments such as unselecting a selected edge or something else as simple as that...

Sometimes i feel like with sketchup patience is everything :D
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:49 pm

I quickly redrew your cabinet and then rounded over the edges on the top and sides in one go.

I double clicked with Select while holding the Ctrl key (Option on Mac) on all three sides in turn to select their edges and then ran the tool once.
Screenshot - 12_19_2014 , 4_51_30 PM.png


Screenshot - 12_19_2014 , 4_53_49 PM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:56 pm

Dave R wrote:I quickly redrew your cabinet and then rounded over the edges on the top and sides in one go.

I double clicked with Select while holding the Ctrl key (Option on Mac) on all three sides in turn to select their edges and then ran the tool once.
Screenshot - 12_19_2014 , 4_51_30 PM.png


Screenshot - 12_19_2014 , 4_53_49 PM.png



Hmmm... however tempting redrawing around 60 different pieces of office furniture is :D I have been encountering this problem with other objects before while working on a completely different project, so from that I take it's rather the issue of program/plugins incompatibility rather than the objects themselves... Thank you very much for trying to help, I suppose this problem is gonna stay unsolved for now, will definitely have to run all the plugins separately to see which one may be causing the errors..
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby pilou » Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:04 am

Just the sides of the main box and the parameters were 2mm and 2 sides.


Prefer to work in Scale *100 and at the end Scale /100
At this Scale (mm)Sketchup don't like very tiny segments, surfaces...
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Dave R » Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:08 am

Pilou, at this scale SketchUp rounded over the corners just fine and filled in all the face on my installation.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby RedFoxy » Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:46 am

pilou wrote:
Just the sides of the main box and the parameters were 2mm and 2 sides.


Prefer to work in Scale *100 and at the end Scale /100
At this Scale (mm)Sketchup don't like very tiny segments, surfaces...


Thank you for the suggestion but that was never an issue for me... worked completely fine in 2014. :cry:
0
User avatar
RedFoxy 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby AcesHigh » Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:49 pm

RedFoxy, do you still have 2014 installed?

You can just open 2015 and 2014. Open your file first in 2015. Then in 2014 (it will say it will have to open as read only). Then round corner the objects you want in 2014 and copy to the main file in 2015 (saving once in a while in 2015).
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby define » Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:30 pm

Hello Fredo,

can't thank you enough for all your plugins!!! Donate folks!! At the end of the day
we will have to open our refrigerators door - isn't it?

I have a question:

When inspecting the icons for 'RoundCorner' I stumbled upon one which is labeled 'CustomProfile'.

It however don't seem to be implemented. Did you work on this as well?

...absolutely amazed by your work and with maximum respect

Klaus
0

define 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 2:46 pm

define wrote:When inspecting the icons for 'RoundCorner' I stumbled upon one which is labeled 'CustomProfile'.

It however don't seem to be implemented. Did you work on this as well?

Klaus,

Custom profiles (based on a quarter definition of profile) is something that I have included in the code, but I would need to build a kind of GUI to activate it in the script.

see viewtopic.php?f=323&t=20485&start=30#p172163

Fredo

RoundCorner custom profiles detail.jpg


RoundCorner custom profiles detail 2.jpg
2
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Pixero » Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Custom profiles (based on a quarter definition of profile) is something that I have included in the code, but I would need to build a kind of GUI to activate it in the script.


Please do. ;)

Another small request.
Would it be possible to make the scripts create quads only? As it is now it also creates triangles.

triangles.JPG
0
User avatar
Pixero 
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby thomthom » Sat Jan 10, 2015 4:12 pm

Pixero wrote:Another small request.
Would it be possible to make the scripts create quads only? As it is now it also creates triangles.

How would you expect the result would be in quads for that example you posted?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby pbacot » Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:48 pm

Would it be something like this?

EDIT --oh no, the other faces get ruined for quads--I tried applying texture and just realized this and came back to find your post below, Fredo!
0
Last edited by pbacot on Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacOSX Mojave High Sierra SketchUp Pro v19 Twilight v2 Thea v2 PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 6:12 pm

I think it is rather something like this:

Quad round corner.png


Coincidentally, I was just giving an other look at RoundCorner using subdivisions techniques, essentially to generalize usage to complex situations where a pure geometrical construction is not possible.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby thomthom » Sat Jan 10, 2015 7:49 pm

fredo6 wrote:I think it is rather something like this:

Quad round corner.png

Yea, that type of rounding would be great!

fredo6 wrote:Coincidentally, I was just giving an other look at RoundCorner using subdivisions techniques, essentially to generalize usage to complex situations where a pure geometrical construction is not possible.

:thumb: :thumb:
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:12 pm

thomthom wrote: :thumb: :thumb:

I am not so familar with subdivision. But I think you are, as you work on your SubDivide plugin!

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] RoundCorner - v2.7a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 10:42 am

Pixero wrote:Another small request.
Would it be possible to make the scripts create quads only? As it is now it also creates triangles.

triangles.JPG

Another possibility is the double rounding

Basically you proceed in 2 steps:

1) Round the vertical edge by an offset A (here A = 0.2m)
Double Rounding 1.png
Double Rounding 11.png


2) Then Round the top edges by an offset B, such as B is lower than A (here B = 0.15 m)
Double rounding 2.png
Double Rounding 3.png


I can maybe automate this type of double rounding in the Plugin

Fredo
1
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ArslanAhmad, kashintsev, madhavan, SabinaSS and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: