[Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:12 am

Hi Me again
even the bent form you have saved has alot of errors in it. Have tried unsuccessfully to repair one at a time (has taken hours) i still cant seem to make the item "solid" as when i save in a different format ( 3ds eprt etc) i am not getting a solid Is it the program or me?
Help please
thanks
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 20, 2014 10:28 am

Missing facets are indicative of tiny geometry.
This has been cover ad nauseam...
SketchUp has a tolerance of 1/1000".
Points closer than that are considered coincident and so very short edges do not get made.
In consequence any faces relying on those omitted edges are not made.
Hence you get missing facets.
This occurs in the native tools, like FollowMe, and scripts making new geometry where there might be tiny facets formed.
The 'trick' is to work at a size that does not create such tiny geometry.
Scale up the object in question x100 [depending on its starting size x10 to x1000 might be more appropriate].
Do the operation.
You should now have a perfect result.
Scale it back down to the desired size.
Tiny geometry can exist, but it cannot be made from scratch.
It the group is still not a 'solid' under 'Entity Info', use thomthom's 'Solid-Inspector' to see what is up...
Then manually fix the indicated issues, or try a tool like my 'SolidSolver' which will try to 'heal' it...
But, if it is not a solid to start with it certainly won't be after bending it.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby sarabando » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:29 am

Hi!

I'm having trouble with the plugin installation...

I've read that the plugin runs both on mac and on windows, but i'm a mac user and its not that straightforward has all the users are finding it to be.

1)
i download the plugin from the link on page 1 and i get, besides the .png files, clf_shape_bender.rb and clf_shape_bender_loader.rb.

I can't click on neither to install or run the plugin. (it opens on text wrangler and its chinese to me)

2) when i enter SU8 and go to Preferences>Extensions (i don't see the plugin) >Install Extension, the .rb files are all "grey". It seems they don't get recognized by SU8 and I end up having nothing to click on...

3) I don't have extension warehouse on my window tab. Don't know why. But thatts why I haven't tried this.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your time.

Regards

Joao
Portugal
0

sarabando 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby TIG » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:46 pm

The linked ZIP on the first post is out of date anyway, and your web-downloader seems to be extracting its contents as it arrives ! :roll:

Can I suggest you get the latest version of the tool in RBZ format from the PluginStore...

Download



Use Preferences > Extensions > Install... button, to automatically install and load everything for you from that RBZ...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby chon » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:19 am

Hello all,

i'me using clf_shape_bender_0-6-1_0 (last version on EWH), working fine with SU2015 when saved in the C:\Users\XX\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2015\SketchUp\Plugins but doesn't work when saved in my Fredo6's additionalPluginFolder.
It is not an error when loading the plugin at the start of SU but after selecting my component, when clicking the Shape Bender button, i've got the "Please select a single line that lies on the red axis" message on the bottom of the screen, but the selector arrow turns to white without the little line under and i can't select any line on the red axis ???

I tried to install the TIG's version of the post just above with no more success. I tried to modify the rb file as explained by TIG in this post but i didn't find those lines in the 3 Shape Bender rb files...
Did i miss something ?

Any suggestion ?

Many thanks ! ;)



EDIT : I think i've found the lines to be changed in the clf_shape_bender/clf_shape_bender_data.rb file. Lines 106 to 108.
I've changed them from :

line_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("line_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")
curve_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("curve_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")
default_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("default_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")


to :

line_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "clf_shape_bender/images", "line_pointer.png")
curve_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "clf_shape_bender/images", "curve_pointer.png")
default_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "clf_shape_bender/images", "default_pointer.png")


Now, the plugin works fine but the selector doesn't change its icon in the different steps of work. It keeps the white arrow all along.

Another little thing to change ? ;)
0
SU2015pro 15.3.331 + VRay 2.00.25244 on Win10-64Bits
User avatar
chon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby TIG » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:22 pm

The latest versions of this plugin is available through the EWH and PluginStore as RBZ, BUT it still includes three lines of code which prevent it loading and working properly from a folder than is not the default Plugins folder !
I suggest you reinstall it afresh in case you have messed up something...

The code that is problematical is in the file:
../clf_shape_bender/clf_shape_bender_data.rb
In lines #106/107/108
line_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("line_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")
curve_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("curve_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")
default_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("default_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender/images")

Open that RB file using Notepad or a similar plain-text-editor [not a wordprocessor], then make these three changes and save it.
line_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "images", "line_pointer.png")
curve_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "images", "curve_pointer.png")
default_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "images", "default_pointer.png")

Restart SketchUp and it should then work fault-free from any custom-plugins-folder in the $:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby chon » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:57 pm

Many thanks TIG ! :thumb:

Works fine now as usual. ;)

Chris Fullmer, if you want to replace this file in your RBZ archives :

clf_shape_bender_data.rb
0
SU2015pro 15.3.331 + VRay 2.00.25244 on Win10-64Bits
User avatar
chon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Mon May 25, 2015 7:37 pm

I came a problem. with this curve .
shape bender Can not provide the correct ramp .

What was wrong with my model?
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby TIG » Mon May 25, 2015 7:48 pm

It might be that you need to locate the guide line and the curve more logically - line and curve having the same ~length - and also place the group directly above the curve.
What did you expect the extrusion to look like ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby sdmitch » Mon May 25, 2015 11:19 pm

littleche wrote:I came a problem. with this curve .
shape bender Can not provide the correct ramp .

What was wrong with my model?


The line on the X-Axis should be the same length as the width of the base of the group.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Tue May 26, 2015 5:32 am

HI

I am familiar with the operation of the shape bender. The thing that makes me question exactly is model uploaded .This curve will disrupt the operation of the Shape Bender.
If you want to test,do it on a file that is uploaded.

thanks TIG and sdmitch . I love the two of you. your plugin are awesome! :thumb:
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby pbacot » Tue May 26, 2015 7:09 am

toggle the arrow keys
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Tue May 26, 2015 9:15 am

pbacot wrote:toggle the arrow keys


Hi

I used arrow keys . But the result at best Is what you see!
Please try a file that I have uploaded.

thank you ...
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby pilou » Tue May 26, 2015 11:07 am

I have loaded your file ! :D

Kill the "straight line" who is in several segments
Redraw a single line from origine to the curvated line
Draw a single line at the bottom of your component
Select the component and call Shape Bender
and all will work fine! :)

shape.gif
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Tue May 26, 2015 1:24 pm

yeeeeeeeeeeee ! it is ! :D :D :D

The problem here was exactly : ""straight line" who is in several segments"

Thanks pilou for your help . :thumb:
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Dave R » Tue May 26, 2015 1:36 pm

So a case where GIGO reared it's ugly head.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby pbacot » Tue May 26, 2015 3:56 pm

I tried the file and it worked. Albeit it worked nice once, and I couldn't repeat, so there was some issue.
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Tue May 26, 2015 6:20 pm

Dave R wrote:So a case where GIGO reared it's ugly head.


Hi dave

My English is little poor.I did not notice you.You get guys easier to say? :?:

I tried the file and it worked. Albeit it worked nice once, and I couldn't repeat, so there was some issue.


hi again

solved problem and i test it again and again and again ...
There is not a problem for me anymore .
Everything was strange!
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Dave R » Tue May 26, 2015 6:25 pm

Sorry, Nabi. GIGO is computer nerd speak for "Garbage In, Garbage Out"

In your example, the bad geometry of your curve was creating a bad bent component.
1
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby littleche » Tue May 26, 2015 8:50 pm

Dave R wrote:Sorry, Nabi. GIGO is computer nerd speak for "Garbage In, Garbage Out"

In your example, the bad geometry of your curve was creating a bad bent component.


ok dave ! get it ! thank you . :thumb:

I realized that with the offset tool we can test health of workline !
It is hard for me to explain . In summary I can say Everything depends on a correct offset!
0

littleche 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby eidam655 » Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:06 am

hi :)

i'm using the latest version downloaded from the extension warehouse (0.6.1). However, in combination with SU 2015 Pro I'm getting the following errors:

Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `all_connected' for nil:NilClass>
C:/Users/eidam/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2015/SketchUp/Plugins/clf_shape_bender/clf_shape_bender_data.rb:255:in `line_picker'
C:/Users/eidam/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2015/SketchUp/Plugins/clf_shape_bender/clf_shape_bender_data.rb:187:in `onLButtonUp'

As witnessed on the Extension Warehouse website, there are more users with this issue. Has it been resolved since then? Or is there an alternative plugin that achieves similar results? :)

Thank you for any answer.
0
I'm using SketchUp 2015, V-Ray 2.
User avatar
eidam655 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Pangea » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:28 pm

Fellows,

I'm in the process of redesigning a concrete structure for the greater good. It's called the Villager model and I intend to mass produce them in impoverished areas of the world, beginning in West Africa along the Congo River.

The structure is circular, 20 ft across from the outer walls. The base is made up of three arches which elevate it off the ground. I started with a circle made up of 30 segments. Next I broke it into thirds. I then copied the outer arc from one of the thirds. The length of the arc is 20' 11 5/16". Next I drew the shape that I plan to bend the same length as the arc ( 20' 11 5/16"). I go through the CLF Shape bender steps and the result is very close to what I need. The problem I'm having is the faces on the inner wall of the curved arch are all triangulated. I notice when I perform the CLF steps on just a rectangle, the faces on the inner walls are not triangulated. So the problem is being caused by the arch. There are 50 segments in the arch pictured. I tried drawing it with 12 segments and the triangulation on the inner curved faces was less, but still unacceptable. I need these faces to be flat and extrudable so i'll be able to draw the formwork panels that will be used to pour the structure. I've attached a picture of my original Villager model and another sketch showing the problem I'm having with the new one. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Eric
~∞~
0

Pangea 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby pilou » Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:03 pm

this ?
Projection by Didier Bur
Joint Push Pull by Fredo6

GIF_truncated circle.gif


trunc.jpg
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Pangea » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:41 am

Merci Beaucoup Pilou!

I'm going to try this now. I'll let you know how it goes.
0

Pangea 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby milenoliegsalz » Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:05 am

Really nice and helpful extension :thumb: :thumb: Would be even much nicer if it could bend the groups without exploding the sub-groups. Nevertheless, thanks for sharing it.
0

milenoliegsalz 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Cynthiat » Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:21 pm

HELLO,
I HAVE DOWNLOADED THE SHAPE BENDER PLUGIN BUT WHEN I INSTALLED IT, IT WAS WRITTEN UNDER IT UNSIGNED AND COULDN'T FUNCTION. ANY HELP?
0

Cynthiat 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:08 pm

Unsigned doesn't mean it doesn't work. Shape Bender works just fine unless you set the loading permission to prevent it from loading.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby hungryhamster » Wed May 08, 2019 11:21 pm

the plugin does not work in the Sketchup 2019 when you select a line nothing happens
1

hungryhamster 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Postby Dave R » Thu May 09, 2019 12:47 pm

hungryhamster wrote:the plugin does not work in the Sketchup 2019 when you select a line nothing happens


sb.gif


It works fine for me in SU2019. Have you installed the maintenance release? You should have 19.1.174. There was a problem in 19.0.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CAUL, noldo and 14 guests

Visit our sponsors: