[Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.51 UPDATED April 11, 2009

Postby jeff hammond » Sat Apr 26, 2014 4:02 am

on April 13, 2009, I wrote:oh, am i the only one noticing a huge slow down with the introduction of the progress bar? certain actions are at least 10,000x slower now.


hey Chris,

now that i'm using 2014 and realized the EW version of shapebender no longer requires progressbar.rb, i finally have a chance to show you what i was talking about 5 years ago :)

(i could of shown you back then but i messed up because as you were doing the shapebender updates (multiple times per day iirc), i was simply overwriting the previous versions)



so yeah, i'm glad shapebender no longer requires progressbar.rb but more importantly, maybe there's something to learn/share what progressbar is doing and advising any ruby writers against using that technique.
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby driven » Sat Apr 26, 2014 12:44 pm

@jeff,

good demo of the difference between version speed...

maybe I can finally finish my abandoned, shape bender reliant model...

Progress bars were considered a 'must have' when SU itself was slower, and you had no idea what was happening...

I ended up removing them from most the accessible scripts, but the speed improvements were not of that magnitude...

@Chris, did you do any other optimisations, might be worth a Dev Thread item...

john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Chistabo » Thu May 15, 2014 3:09 pm

Jut dropin' in to say thank you. I am impressed, and have been looking for plugin like this for some time. Thumbs up!

Best regards,

May the Ruby be with You (LOL),

Simon
S love nia
0

Chistabo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby inlimine » Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:58 am

Chris,

I just recently needed to use Shape Bender for the first time in awhile (SketchUp Pro 8); however, it keeps throwing out the progress response, "Searching for objects to explode" and never moves beyond 5% complete. Now, I've loaded many many plugins and extensions since the last time I used your plugin. Could there be a conflict somewhere? I've tried adjusting the code to your instructions, but noted no change. I know it works quite well as it works just fine in my copy of SU2014 (which has a very limited amount of plugins and extensions). Any thoughts?

Michael
0

inlimine 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:18 am

Can I suggest that you try reinstalling the latest version in v8 too [from the EWH or PluginStore]...
I recall that the earlier version of it needed progressbar.rb from Smustard.com...
I think the updated version now available does not use that ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Christopher Steffy » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:05 pm

I have shape bender plugin on my computer and it works perfectly on Sketchup Pro 2013.

When I open Sketchup Pro 2014 I get the following message:
Error Loading File clf_shape_bender_loader.rb
Error: #<LoadError: cannot load such file -- progressbar.rb>
/Applications/SketchUp 2014/SketchUp.app/Contents/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/2.0/lib/ruby/2.0.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:45:in `require'
/Applications/SketchUp 2014/SketchUp.app/Contents/Frameworks/Ruby.framework/Versions/2.0/lib/ruby/2.0.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:45:in `require'
/Users/myname/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2014/SketchUp/Plugins/clf_shape_bender_loader.rb:22:in `<top (required)>'

I am using a 2012 MAC, Software OS X 10.9.3
I am not computer savvy and do not want to mess things up. I would greatly appreciate any help or direction on who would be able to fix. Thanks.
0

Christopher Steffy 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Dave R » Wed Jun 18, 2014 6:40 pm

I'm guessing you copied the plugin from the SU2013 Plugins folder. Is that correct? The error is telling you that you haven't installed Prgressbar.rb. The current version of the plugin doesn't need Progressbar.rb so the best thing would be to delete the existing old version from the SU2014 Plugins folder and install the current version via the Extension Warehouse.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Polynechramorph » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:02 pm

Hi,
Thanks for this great plugin.
it worked well on 2013 pro running windows 8.
I've since moved onto 2014 pro and for some strange reason I can't seem to get the plugin to even load.

I've dopwnloaded the newest .rbz file and placed in the plugin folder for 2014. yes I know about the location change to user/roaming....

So I fire up 2014 pro and nothing, nowhere to be found, no error message.

I sure it's something really stupid and simple I've missed but I am at my wits end. any help would be greatly appreciated.
0

Polynechramorph 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Dave R » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:12 pm

Well, you say you put the RBZ file in the Plugins folder. That isn't installing it so it's no wonder it doesn't work. :roll:

Move the RBZ file to the desktop or somewhere. Then use Install Extension from Preferences>Extensions and navigate to the RBZ file. Open it and follow the prompts. Or better yet, install it automatically from the Extension Warehouse.

By the way, where did you get the "newest version" of Shape Bender?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Polynechramorph » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:15 pm

Ok Thanks I'll try that. I normaly would instal it directly from the warehouse but for some reason the plugin doesn't download I just get stuck in a "Please wait" infinity loop... :(
0

Polynechramorph 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Refka » Tue Jun 24, 2014 11:45 am

Chris Fullmer wrote:Name: Shape Bender
Version: 0.55 Beta
Description: This script will bend an existing group to match a curved line or series of connected lines.
Usage: See videos below :)
Requires: Progressbar.rb
SketchUp Compatibility: Its not compatible with version 5 or earlier.

**Download Shape Bender**


Here is a list of known bugs and planned improvements:

  • The first and last angles of the bend curve are actually not accurate. Its not very noticeable, but it is inaccurate.
  • Every once in a while the grids don't display.
  • Every once in a while I notice small deviations in the bending that are incorrect.

The video is a little bit outdated. I need to remake it with the new features.


Video #2


A new video Dec-03-2009


Thanks for checking it out!

Also, please check out my newest script Repeat Copy at smustard.com.

NEW! Shape bender en Francais, thanks to c.plaissais (Christophe). Download it HERE!

Chris

Requires: Progressbar.rb

**Download Shape Bender**

5856,1184


:fecstatic: thank a lot sir.. it's work
0
User avatar
Refka 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:52 am

Hi
I have a relatively easy rectangle to add a curve to but no matter what i do i cant make it work. can someone out there help me please.
basically i need the CURVE as shown added to the rectangular part to produce a curved part as per drawing "curve" but it will have the internals of the original rectangle ( sorry for the novel)
thanks in anticipation
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Dave R » Sat Jul 05, 2014 3:14 pm

I don't follow what you're trying to do. Do you have an image that shows the desired final result?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Sat Jul 05, 2014 3:26 pm

Your Z blue axis should be 'up'.
Your example SKPs shown it 'downwards'.
This might not be an issue here, but needs correction.

You object is only ~70mm long ?
And it has many small facets which might not react well to bending - e.g. if they produce edges < ~1/1000th".
Perhaps Scaling up x10 or x100, bending and scaling down would help ?

But as Dave says... can you show what it should look like...
We are both a bit bamboozled by your description thus far...

Perhaps a simple FollowMe with subsequent tweaks to the ends would suffice ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:32 am

Hi Sorry for the BAD description. Attached is a final view of the" mark 1" product. I have adjusted the o/a size and adjusted the shape slightly to achieve the current product. the final item is a compound of part a and b. see attached please.
Thanks
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Dave R » Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:56 pm

Couldn't you just upload images instead of forcing us to download your PDF files? :roll:
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Mon Jul 07, 2014 2:14 am

Hi
My original draftsman only sent me EPRT and SLDASM files which has the "curve" applied. I sent him the files in my first post BUT he sent me back in these formats . This forum wont allow me to download these types of files so im sorry the only way to "show" you was in pdf form.I Think its so easy but my comp gets to about 7-15 % and reboots. Have tried reloading prog.but no success. It is a very small item but i did get successful models produced by cnc off the EPRT files. Thanks Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Mon Jul 07, 2014 2:50 am

Hi all again
attached is as far as i can get you can see the 3 items needed for shape bender
computer crashes all the time......
If you can help Can you also "undock " the 2 parts so they move apart from each other. i seem to have got them connected as one piece.
Thanks for any help
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:46 am

Make the 2 parts as separate groups ?
Then re-join them after the bending / extruding...

You have not heeded my advice about 'scaling'.
The small facets around the curved parts are only ~0.7mm across.
When you start to bend them you might find that edges < 1/1000th" are required.
SketchUp cannot make these because it assumes that the start/end points are coincident.
As a result the tiny facet[s] needing that edge are also not created.

I suggest you Scale up the model x10 or x100.
Do the bending/extruding and scale down x0.1 or x0.01

These tiny facets can exist after they are reduced by in the scaling-down, but cannot be created that size initially...

Having thousands of tiny facets will mean a slow bend, but it should complete eventually...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:52 pm

Hi
have tried scaling to 10 and x 100 and still freezes mid calc.
dont understand comment about making separate groups. From what in can see i have inadvertently joined both halves together BUT now i need to separate. They must be "touching" somewhere i would imagine to form " one component"
My ? is is there an easy way to separate apart from a complete redraw ?
thanks
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:47 pm

Work on a copy of the SKP.

Make a copy of this 'joined' object.

If it's a component use the context-menu item 'make-unique' on one of the instances - otherwise editing one would change the other!
But there's no need for that step if it's a group, because editing a copy makes it unique automatically.

Now Edit these two parts in turn.
Use a fence to Select the unwanted parts and <delete> them.
Use Erase tool to remove other parts as you need...

Now you have two separate pieces... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:14 am

Hi Make unique is not available. also comment "use a FENCE"....
I am an absolute newbie at this and i dont think you re understanding what i need. The SKP is made of 2 halves 1 is a male form and 1 is a female form. at the moment they are supposed to be together with just a .3mm gap between them. This keeps them separate. Somewhere i have made a mistake and they became joined which to me means they MUST have a connecting point somewhere.
This i cannot find. The two parts are to be machined complete with the curve that i cant get to work so that they fit tight together when finished.I cant separate :berserk: so i cant edit!!!!
its doing my head in.
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby pilou » Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:48 am

Make some copy, explode and kill on some copy that you don't want
Like this you can rebuild some parts that you wish :)

coque.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Box » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:15 am

You have quite a few problems in your modelling which are standard beginner error.
You need to understand how to make groups and components so that your geometry doesn't stick together. You need to understand front and back faces, the default front face is white and back face is a blue/grey.
Scale as Tig has mentioned several times is critical to tiny faces, there are already small faces missing in your model before bending it.
You need to be able to see what you are working on so learn about hiding faces or section cuts so you can get inside.

All of this discussion isn't really suited to this thread, shape bender isn't making the problem, your model needs to be corrected and you would do better getting into the newbie forum to learn more about the basics.
In the image I have shown you one place where the two sections overlap. You need to get in there and make the model correctly.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:17 am

If make unique is not available then presumably Entity Info reports it as being a Group.
Then follow the steps outlined to copy the Group. and Edit those into the two parts...

To Edit a Group double click it or select it and use the context-menu...

When you Select things you can pick them individually, adding to the selection by holding Ctrl or removing them from the selection by holding Ctrl+Shift etc...
Single click selects the picked object [e.g. an edge or a face], double clicking selects the picked object and everything immediately connected to it [e.g. a face and its bounding edges], treble clicking selects the picked object and everything thing connected to it [e.g. a face, its bounding edges AND all other geometry (edges and faces) which are connected to that face].

You can also Select 'by fence'.
Active the Select tool [from the menu or toolbar or by pressing <spacebar>]
Then press the mouse button to the side of what you want to 'fence', and hold it down, then drag the cursor to one side and a dotted 'fence' appears.
Finally release the button and everything in side the fence will be selected.
Like other CAD programs the direction of the 'drag' affects the selection.
Dragging Right to Left will select only objects that fall wholly within the fence, so any that straddle the fence are ignored.
BUT dragging Left to Right will select all object that have some part within the fence, so even partial inclusion adds objects to the selection.
Using the different drag directions is useful in making partial selections of some geometry, e.g. when deleting...

This is SketchUp 101 :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:10 am

Hey thanks so much for the info guys. Yes even i can follow your comments.
It still hasnt answered my original post about adding the curve to the completed parts using shape Bender. no matter what size i make it it still crashes.
thanks
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:43 am

Hi Again
i have redrawn the complete item and have tried to bend but gets halfway and crashes ...
Is there something basic i am missing?
any help appreciated I think i have my model pretty good
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby sdmitch » Tue Aug 12, 2014 2:45 am

rjsutton wrote:Hi Again
i have redrawn the complete item and have tried to bend but gets halfway and crashes ...
Is there something basic i am missing?
any help appreciated I think i have my model pretty good
Richard


Apparently it is just a problem of size. Something that Sketchup often has difficulty with. I scaled everything in the model by 2 and was able to successfully bend both groups.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby rjsutton » Tue Aug 12, 2014 4:03 am

Hi Thanks for that but on my comp it still crashed. I downloaded YOUR skp and it worked . the scale is abit out but can fiddle with that
thanks again
Richard
0

rjsutton 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby iivvaann » Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:22 am

a nelson wrote:Aha! I figured it out. I extracted the CONTENTS of the folder to the PLUGINS folder but I was supposed to extract the entire folder. Hope this helps someone else.




C:\Users\XXXX\AppData\Roaming\SketchUp\SketchUp 2014\SketchUp\Plugins :enlight:
0

iivvaann 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Farosarch, ken, manhyak, mikke_0ne, moon1, oyil and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: