[Plugin] Shape Bender Beta

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby nebin asharaf » Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:53 am

error: #<typeerror: no implicit conversion from nil to integer>
C:/PROGRA~1/Google/GOOGLE~4/Plugins/clf_shape_bender.rb:168:in `set_cursor'
C:/PROGRA~1/Google/GOOGLE~4/Plugins/clf_shape_bender.rb:168:in `onSetCursor'
C:/PROGRA~1/Google/GOOGLE~4/Plugins/clf_shape_bender.rb:233:in `onLButtonUp'
C:/PROGRA~1/Google/GOOGLE~4/Plugins/clf_shape_bender.rb:168



sombody help me please....
0

nebin asharaf 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:57 am

I already cover this in a recent post [replying to you] viewtopic.php?p=418523#p418523
That error means it can't set the cursor it needs.
This is almost certainly because it can't find the image file it needs.
This is then because you have not installed the tool correctly!
Please reread it and ensure that you have installed the loader file and the subfolder of helper files exactly as specified.

Note also that if you have moved files out of the subfolder into the Plugins folder it will break things, so compare the 'correctly installed files' within the tool's subfolder and remove any files from the Plugins folder that are duplicated...
The tool must have the subfolder of files in the standard Plugins folder - this is returned when you type/copy+paste this in the Window>Ruby Console:
Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins")
You cannot have these files in another folder even if it is on the $LOAD_PATH - e.g. if you were using Fredo's alternative-folder tool...
Unless you change the three lines of code in the main tool's file clf_shape_bender.rb that calls them...
line_cursor_path = Sketchup.find_support_file("line_pointer.png", "Plugins/clf_shape_bender")
becoming
line_cursor_path = File.join(File.dirname(__FILE__), "line_pointer.png")
and so on for the other two... then the toolset can go anywhere - provided that the loader and intact subfolder are together and on the $LOAD_PATH.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby nebin asharaf » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:58 am

how can i post it
mail id??
0

nebin asharaf 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:44 am

nebin asharaf wrote:how can i post it
mail id??
Post what ?
If you follow the simple steps that be outlined you will get a working installation.
It will not work until you fix the mis-located cursor files etc...
If you want to attach an image [or file] etc onto your post then you use the 'Upload attachment' button below the panel into which you are typing your message... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby nebin asharaf » Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:40 am

how to post
0

nebin asharaf 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:09 am

Write a letter, put it in an envelope and put a stamp on it. Put it in the mail. Wait a few days and amazing things can happen. Job offers come, overcharges are returned, articles are accepted, contests are won. Results that could not come any other way. The power of a simple envelope is amazing.

When you write a letter, someone on the other end will open it and read it. Unlike e-mail, a written letter is not easily deleted from the system. In todays technological world with e-mail, voice mail, and many web based apps, the written letter stands out from the crowd. Most people will not take the time to send one anymore.

You can increase the effectiveness of your letter with some customization. A high quality letter on parchment paper, sent in a linen envelope will say volumes about the sender. Just like a business suit with a power tie, a classy envelope with a powerful font and a custom postage stamp exudes style and power. You can send this Lexus of envelopes for just a few dollars, and the results can be amazing.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:46 am

Nebin, please ignore Rich he's being 'funny' :roll:
BUT you are being too cryptic... post what? :?
You are posting messages here, we are reading them.
You can post files and images, which you attach to them using the buttons below the typing-pane.
You can sens Private Messages to other users by clicking the PM button below their name or making a message in your own user-control-panel...
If you want to email someone [or send them something in the mail] then ask them for their details via a PM; they are unlikely to publish it to the world in the forums. :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Convta98 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:11 pm

When I load Sketchup 8 i get an error message telling me that I need parametric.rb. Where can I get that file?
0

Convta98 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:51 pm

Convta98 wrote:When I load Sketchup 8 i get an error message telling me that I need parametric.rb. Where can I get that file?
IF you follow the advice in the main tool's download page... you'd know it's at http://www.Smustard.com - 'progressbar.rb'.
http://www.smustard.com/script/ProgressBar
:o
I think 'parametric.rb' isn't needed by this specific tool - but that's readily available from the main Sketchup plugins page... http://sketchup.google.com/intl/zh-CN/d ... ripts.html
Perhaps you have also installed some other tools that need that ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Dave R » Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:55 pm

As far as I can tell, Shape Bender doesn't need parametric.rb but you should probably have it anyway because other plugins do use it. Get it here.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Jspro » Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:57 pm

Yes, is there anyone out there that can help me with the plugin Shape Bender by Chris Fullmer ? I believe I loaded it correctly but maybe not I'm getting an load error message , when I go into sketchup. When I downloaded the file I unziped it, I copied the file and pasted it into the plugins folder, restarted windows and when it came back on and i started sketchup with this Load Error ( Error Loading File clf_shape_bender_loader.rb no such file to load -- progressbar.rb ) . Can anyone help me? I tried this twice w/no luck I would like to get this to work. Thank you john
0

Jspro 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Gaieus » Sun Aug 19, 2012 11:08 pm

Jspro wrote:I believe I loaded it correctly but maybe not I'm getting an load error message , when I go into sketchup. When I downloaded the file I unziped it, I copied the file and pasted it into the plugins folder, restarted windows and when it came back on and i started sketchup with this Load Error ( Error Loading File clf_shape_bender_loader.rb no such file to load -- progressbar.rb ) .

You also need to install progressbar.rb for here: http://www.smustard.com/script/ProgressBar

(The installation instructions clearly say this)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby sherwood11 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:53 pm

Plugin looks great . . . but, i'm getting this feedback :
it seems to lock-up at 7% or 20%

shape_bender_01.png


any suggestions ?

I posted a temporary trouble shooting remedy, just after this post.
viewtopic.php?f=323&t=18210&start=1020#p422479
(is that what you mean ?, TT)
0
Last edited by sherwood11 on Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.

sherwood11 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby sherwood11 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:21 pm

Well, I found a remedy .. kind of.

I commented out all the lines updating the progress bar with a comment character, #
. . . . #pb.update(i) . . .there are 7 of them.

Unfortunately, I had to do that with clf_color_by_slope, clf_color_by_z and clf_greeble_2

My system doesn't seem to like the progress bar. Even after downloading a fresh copy from smustard
yesterday.

If I find out why (it's a mystery), I'll post it.

Again, it's a great Plug-in. ... hope this helps anyone w/ the same problem.
0

sherwood11 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby thomthom » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:41 pm

Hasn't that nil error been repeated a few times along in this thread? Might be worth adding a note in the first post about it. No one is going to find it dug into n-number of pages.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby sherwood11 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:45 pm

I agree it's not the best .... just a trouble shooting remedy.

I'll try your approach.

TIG has suggested a few things also ... (my post on one of the other plug-ins)

Appreciate your input.
0

sherwood11 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby darksoft » Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:04 pm

Grate one ! THNX
0

darksoft 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby BenBo » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:20 pm

Hi all,

Using the plugin with dynamic component it crashes.
Has anyone successfully bent a DC?

Otherwise, it works fine.
0

BenBo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:40 am

Since the Component [DC] is copied to make the bent version it may well conflict with a DC as there is generally only one instance of each variant.
You can copy the DC off to one side and explode it down to its raw geometry and then make a group of that, and then bend that group - it will have lost all of it's DC-ness, so those issues should be avoided...
It's a good idea to do complex operations, like bending, on an object located in a relatively empty SKP, and recombine things into a combo-model afterwards - so exploding the DC in these circumstances seems quite possible.
You can't expect a DC to retain its DC-ness/properties after bending it, as all of its axes etc will be messed up, even if it were to make it through the processing... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby gullfo » Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:12 pm

grab TIG's "undc" script and run that before doing the bend.
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:23 pm

gullfo wrote:grab TIG's "undc" script and run that before doing the bend.

I'd forgotten I made that :roll:
viewtopic.php?p=382224#p382224
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby tonkolan » Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:21 am

it was awesome plugin tools
thanks for sharing :berserk:
0

tonkolan 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby gullfo » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:27 pm

TIG wrote:I'd forgotten I made that :roll:
viewtopic.php?p=382224#p382224

it's one of my most important tools now :enlight: - i can use a huge number of DC in my models then "un-DC" them and ship the model out without worrying that my DC will be distributed...
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:33 pm

It's not even a 'tool'... just a 'code snippet'...
Glad it was useful :D
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

HELP!!

Postby maladzien » Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:36 am

Hey everyone? How do I run this script? I have no idea how to get this "tool" to show up in Sketchup to use it :(
0

maladzien 
 

Re: HELP!!

Postby thomthom » Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:52 am

maladzien wrote:Hey everyone? How do I run this script? I have no idea how to get this "tool" to show up in Sketchup to use it :(

See if this article helps you: http://www.thomthom.net/thoughts/2012/0 ... -sketchup/
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Geveltje » Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:09 pm

Hello all,

First I want to say that my english writing is not very good, so sorry for the mistakes.
I have a little help from google :thumb:

I am very excited about the plugin, I just can not get it working properly.

I select my component.
Select the straight line
Select the curve line
I see that both lines a start and an end appears
but that's all, nothing further happened. I can use the up and down arrow keys to change the start and end.
Also when I press enter then nothing happens.

the straight line is equal to the red axis, the curved line i tried on all axes.
I really do not know what I'm doing wrong

I hope I have explained clearly
Thanks for the response
0

Geveltje 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby TIG » Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:56 pm

Roy

Have you installed the additional helper script progressbar.rb, which is download-able free from Smustard.com.
It's a common issue with less experienced members forgetting about addition helpers like this for the more complex tools - although it is clearly mentioned and linked in the tool's download page.
Also make sure that the 'line' is parallel to the X[red] axis and that it touches no other geometry, also note that the 'curve' must not touch other geometry either.
Also don't try to bend tiny or enormous objects [most day-to-day sized things should be OK, but tiny parts for swiss-watches or entire cities will create issues]...

If you are still getting issues then try running the tool after you've opened the Ruby Console. Post any error messages you get in it, this might give us a better clue as to what you have inadvertently done wrong :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby Geveltje » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:48 pm

Hello TIG,

Sometimes is the solution so simple that you overlook them

I have the plugin and the progressbar removed and reinstalled and now it works perfectly :D

Thanks you for your answer
0

Geveltje 
 

Re: [Plugin] Shape Bender Beta v0.55 UPDATED April 21, 2010

Postby pustko » Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:26 am

Hello everybody!first time posting.
Yesterday I installed some ruby plugins for sketchup (8)and tried out the Chris Fullmer Shape Bender. After a while, I managed to make it work succesfully, bending the rqmp Im working at (architecture digital model). Everything fine and happy as hell.
Then, this morning, same file, same computer, doing exactly the same steps, the bender tool doest work:
I draw the figure, group it up, draw the line along red axis, same length, and the single curve. select group, open the tool,select the line,select the curve. the signs "start" "end" appear, I can change their position, but thats it! no green shape, no final bended figure.

Maybe the answer is alreqdy somewhere in the forum, but theres a lot of posts, and i have so little time, i got a delivery today and have to finish the model as soon as possible.
thanx in advance
0

pustko 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: baska4999, eduardourbana, gilberto43, joaosampaiop, Stan37, teliart and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: