[Plugin] FredoScale - v3.1a - 18 Dec 18

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Chris Fullmer » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:37 pm

Fredo6 wrote:Actually, I could have the script do the clean up of coplanar edges automatically as an option. Maybe I'll do that.


+1 for that idea.

Great Plugin!

Chris
0
Lately you've been tan, suspicious for the winter.
All my Plugins I've written
User avatar
Chris Fullmer 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Jean-Franco » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:45 pm

Thank you all, effectively I missed the point !
0
Jean-Franco
User avatar
Jean-Franco 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Daniel S » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:56 pm

I make alternative icons and cursors for this plugin:

FreeScale Icons.jpg


Here you can download:

IMAGES_Alternative1.zip


Extract into FREESCALE_Dir_20 and set this ones in "Tools>Fredo6 Collection>Free Scale>Default Parameters"
:sketchstatic: :sketchstatic: :sketchstatic:

Daniel S
0

Daniel S 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Dave R » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:30 pm

Daniel, thank you for those alternative icons. They look nice. For some reason I seem to be missing the tools in the 2nd, 4th, 6th and 9th positions on your toolbar. They did copied into the directory, though. It looks like I'm missing the ones with the target.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby fredo6 » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:45 pm

Dave,

It might simply be that the icons were not 'enabled'. So, whether with Daniel's or the standard icons, they won't show up.
Just go to FreeScale default parameters to select the ones you want to appear in the toolbar.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Dave R » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:52 pm

Thanks Fredo. Dumb question then. In which menu do I find "FreeScale default parameters"? I've looked but don't seem to see it.

I found LibFredo6 Settings>Default Parameters
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby thomthom » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:54 pm

Dave R wrote:Thanks Fredo. Dumb question then. In which menu do I find "FreeScale default parameters"? I've looked but don't seem to see it.

Tools->Fredo Collection
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Dave R » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:56 pm

Tusen takk, ThomThom
0
Last edited by Dave R on Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby jeff hammond » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:58 pm

@dave


http://homepage.mac.com/jeffhammond/.Pu ... creen4.jpg


[edit] oops..nevermind.. i'll leave the image though as another mac vs. pc thing :D
[edit2] switched it to a link.. too late for me to delete this post..sorry for the clutter.
0
Last edited by jeff hammond on Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby jmmad » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:00 pm

Nice Icons

Thxs Daniel S
0
Get Upa !

jmmad 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:01 pm

Hi, Fredo:
Thank you for an excellent group of tools.
I am attaching a skp.I was testing the FS plugin on my machine and in the process I created what looks like a proxy after a stretch operation on the grey portion,and then a bend. I pulled the "proxy" away from the parent. I don't understand why these things became groups.
By the way, do I need to download the updated rubies you provided in later posts?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby fredo6 » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:12 pm

mitcorb wrote:Hi, Fredo:
Thank you for an excellent group of tools.
I am attaching a skp.I was testing the FS plugin on my machine and in the process I created what looks like a proxy after a stretch operation on the grey portion,and then a bend. I pulled the "proxy" away from the parent. I don't understand why these things became groups.

That's a bug, already signaled by Daniel S. I may have fixed it.
For Stretch, you have to know that I have to enclose the natural geometry in a group in order to keep it in the selection. It is exploded at the end. The drawback is that if you do an undo outside the tool or if something goes wrong, you may end up with the group still there. In general, it is better to enclose natural geometry at model level within a group or component.

mitcorb wrote:By the way, do I need to download the updated rubies you provided in later posts?

I'll publish a new version soon. So you must not bother with the individual rubies posted here and there in this thread.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:22 pm

Thanks, again. Amazing tools.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby pichuneke » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:54 pm

I have started the translation to spanish. Don't worry Fredo6 ;)
0
Forgive my spanglish...

pichuneke 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby putnik » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:26 am

Incredible set of tools! Thank you Fredo6! Thank you Daniel S for the alt icons too :berserk:
0

putnik 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby majid » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:58 am

hi all!
if I was mr. GOOGLE...then i'd ...Fredo6...
what is best fit in blank area? please say your opinion :)
thanx again Fredo6
0
My V-Ray book for architects: https://goo.gl/cz1oRc
User avatar
majid 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Ecuadorian » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:12 am

I'll propose another phrase:
Fredo should be Google's VP of product development.
0

Ecuadorian 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Chris Fullmer » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:29 am

Oh you guys are funny. Sketchup is great because @Last set out to make a 3d modeler that everyone can use. And they did a smashup job of it. Then they were genius enough to implement an API that outside developers could take advantage of to extend SU cappabilities. That was all @Last's product development and direction, not Google. So if you want a modeler that has all the bells and whistels and tickboxes and options and sliders and confusion and complex instruction books, then those exist. It was @Last's idea to limit the toolset, not Google's. But it does seem like Google has carrying that ideology forward.

Chris

And for the record, I love these tools and all the plugins. And I would not be opposed to Google having an advanced toolset that could be enabled with the Pro version. But they would have to figure out how to make it not be overwhelming, and they would have to be implenented with the simplicity of all other SU toools (Which I think Fredo has achieved 100%)
0
Lately you've been tan, suspicious for the winter.
All my Plugins I've written
User avatar
Chris Fullmer 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0a beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby linea » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:51 am

Thanks Fredo!
0

linea 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby fredo6 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:56 am

to ALL USERS

I just published the first upgrade, 2.0b.
The file is attached to the main post of this thread, along with some release notes
see http://www.sketchucation.com/forums/scf/viewtopic.php?f=180&t=17948#p144180

Note that you also need to upgrade LibFredo6 to version 3.1b

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby free agent » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:18 am

Fredo i see you've made line cleanup automatic, and to keep the lines is something you would turn on and off, could you make it the other way around, as those extra lines are necessary for texturing, also if u make a special bend and realize u didnt want the extra lines u can clean it with a number external rubies already written, but if u make that special bend without lines and realize u did want line there's no way to add those lines by ruby.
0
User avatar
free agent 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby fredo6 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:04 pm

You have the option to do or not the clean up by calling the Slicing parameter dialog box (pressing TAB or contextual menu), but the choice must be made before, I am afraid.

The only thing I'll do is also to add the slicing parameters in the Default settings, so that your default choice are persistent across sessions.

Fredo

PS: by the way, your case of texturing is, as I remember, why I did not do it in the first place (and then forgot to offer it as an option).
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby tomislavm » Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:18 pm

THANK YOU Fredo!!!!!!
How can You make something that good for free?
0

tomislavm 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby pilou » Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:41 pm

How can You make something that good for free?

@Thomislavm: Maybe you don't know the pleasure of coding and after glory has no price ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Ecuadorian » Wed Apr 01, 2009 6:32 pm

You can also read the interview with Fredo in CatchUp magazine:
http://www.sketchucation.com/old/forums ... /index.htm
0

Ecuadorian 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Frederik » Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:34 pm

Thank you so much, Frederic...!!
0
Cheers
Kim Frederik
User avatar
Frederik 
Thea Render Support
Thea Render Support
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby watkins » Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:30 pm

Dear Fredo,

You are one generous and talented man. Thank you!

Regards,
Bob
0

watkins 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby davidheim1 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:50 pm

I have a Mac running OS X 10.4. I can download FreeScale but can't install it. I seem to be missing a plug in folder. What am I doing wrong? What do I need to do to get FreeScale to run on a Mac?
Thanks.
David Heim
0

davidheim1 
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Dave R » Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:56 pm

David, have you installed other plugins?

If you want, call me. I'll walk you through it.

Dave
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FreeScale 2.0b beta (+Shear, Stretch, Bend, Twist)

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:24 am

I thought I was so smart I just installed Freescale and LibFredo on my Mac. I got the following message on starting up SketchUp.

/Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/LIBFREDO6_Dir_31/Lib6Core_31.rb:298:in `mkdir': Permission denied - /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/DEFPARAM_DirError Loading File ZLoader__FreeScale.rb
/Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/LIBFREDO6_Dir_31/Lib6Core_31.rb:298:in `mkdir': Permission denied - /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/DEFPARAM_Dir

I assume this is a problem related to permissions on my Mac but I don't see where to change that. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Edit: Problem solved. I had to give myself administrator privileges.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ariefketaren123, mabon2909 and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: