[Plugin] BezierSpline - v2.1a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby kyyu » Mon May 10, 2010 10:02 pm

Hi Fredo6,

First of all, thank you very much for this wonderful plugin! :) I would like to report a small bug with the "Convert to Catmull Spline" feature. One of the segments is always left out of the conversion.

-Kwok

Convert to Catmull Spline bug.png
0

kyyu 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby fredo6 » Mon May 10, 2010 10:33 pm

kyyu wrote:Hi Fredo6,

First of all, thank you very much for this wonderful plugin! :) I would like to report a small bug with the "Convert to Catmull Spline" feature. One of the segments is always left out of the conversion.

-Kwok

You need to explictly close the loop, by hitting the Key F9 (or via contextual menu).

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby kyyu » Mon May 10, 2010 10:55 pm

Fredo6 wrote:
kyyu wrote:Hi Fredo6,

First of all, thank you very much for this wonderful plugin! :) I would like to report a small bug with the "Convert to Catmull Spline" feature. One of the segments is always left out of the conversion.

-Kwok

You need to explictly close the loop, by hitting the Key F9 (or via contextual menu).

Fredo

Thanks, that worked perfectly!

-Kwok
0

kyyu 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby Slimdog » Tue May 11, 2010 4:55 am

Hi guys I have just downloaded the most recent version. BezierSpline%201.

I have put LibTraductor.rb, BZ_Dir_13, and bezierspline.rb into the plugins folder on my MAC. When I open sketchup I get this error:

Error Loading File #extrusionToolbar.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File 2D#.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File extrudeEdgesByEdges.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File extrudeEdgesByFaces.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File extrudeEdgesByLathe.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File extrudeEdgesByRails.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rbError Loading File extrudeEdgesByVector.rb
no such file to load -- deBabelizer.rb

any ideas guys???

Cheers

Steve
0

Slimdog 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby thomthom » Tue May 11, 2010 8:42 am

That's messages related to TIG's tools. you're missing one of his dependant files deBabelizer.rb.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby TIG » Tue May 11, 2010 9:17 am

Since you must have downloaded both my 2DTools and ExtrusionTools I wonder where you put deBabelizer.rb that comes with both of them ?
Anyway... here's another copy to save you having to find it - put it into the Plugins folder and restart SUp - that error should then be gone...
deBabelizer.rb
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby Slimdog » Tue May 11, 2010 12:30 pm

Yes you guys are correct. My bad. I thought it out when I was loading Bezierspline.

Thanks for the responses.

S
0

Slimdog 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby Morphing_24 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:27 am

Hi fredo

I work on a mac and I have a really big problem here.
I dont know how can I view the cadfather toolbar on sketchup, I can only see the standard one and I installed all the files in the correct places bezierspline.rb, LibTraductor.rb and BZ_DIR_13 subfolder. I don't even see the option "convert to" when I right click on a bezier line , I need to use the polyline segmentor and courbette. I tried everything...reinstalling sketchup, also removing all the plugins I have from the Library/AplicationSupport/Google Sketchup 7/Sketchup/ plugins folder,but guest what, I still see all the toolbars working perfectly even though the plugin folder is empty.
However, when I work on windows I have no problems, I install the latest bezierspline and it works perfect.... what am I doing wrong?
Thanks for the responses
0

Morphing_24 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby inasia » Fri Jul 16, 2010 4:31 am

Many Thanks Fredo,

Much appreciated, for your Plugin.

Thank you again

have a good day

cheers

inasia
0

inasia 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby fredo6 » Fri Jul 16, 2010 7:33 am

Morphing_24 wrote:Hi fredo

I work on a mac and I have a really big problem here.
I dont know how can I view the cadfather toolbar on sketchup, I can only see the standard one and I installed all the files in the correct places bezierspline.rb, LibTraductor.rb and BZ_DIR_13 subfolder. I don't even see the option "convert to" when I right click on a bezier line , I need to use the polyline segmentor and courbette. I tried everything...reinstalling sketchup, also removing all the plugins I have from the Library/AplicationSupport/Google Sketchup 7/Sketchup/ plugins folder,but guest what, I still see all the toolbars working perfectly even though the plugin folder is empty.
However, when I work on windows I have no problems, I install the latest bezierspline and it works perfect.... what am I doing wrong?
Thanks for the responses

If the Library/AplicationSupport/Google Sketchup 7/Sketchup/ plugins folder is empty and you still have BezierSpline working, then you may have something left in the other plugin folder which is under /user/....

Otherwise, maybe some Mac users could help you to troubleshoot, as I don't have a Mac at hand.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby kurma » Fri Jul 16, 2010 5:21 pm

Thank you so much for this fantastic plugin Fredo6. Is there a way to tweak the snap? I'm a little heavy handed with the mouse - it's very easy for the cursor to fall off the line, or to move a line segment instead of a point when editing.
0
Last edited by kurma on Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kurma 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby fredo6 » Fri Jul 16, 2010 5:52 pm

Kurma wrote:Thank you so much for this fantastic plugin Fredo6. Is there a way to tweak the snap? I'm a little heavy handed with the mouse - it's very easy for the cursor to fall off the line, or to move a line segment instead of a point when editing polylines.

The script relies on the regular Sketchup inferences. So if there is a way to tweak it, then it should be valid for BezierSpline too.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby kurma » Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:58 pm

Thanks for the quick reply Fredo6. It's not in any options that I can see. Perhaps it's something a Ruby script can do. But a cursory search for such a script lead nowhere.
0

kurma 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby xyzt » Sat Jul 17, 2010 5:41 pm

Mac user here...

The CadFather tools disappeared, I had them working, but after installing the spheretool.rb it they when missing...
0

xyzt 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.3b - 31 Jan 10 (bug fix)

Postby sus4 » Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:47 am

Dominant XYZ with available?
0

sus4 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby TIG » Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:01 am

Bump! New version available... viewtopic.php?p=100509#p100509
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby Gaieus » Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:50 pm

Thanks Fredo for the new version!
;)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby Jim Smith » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:23 pm

hank you Fredo for the update - very usefull tool made moreso :thumb: :thumb:
0
"Out of clutter find simplicity,
from discord find harmony,
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity"
Albert Einstein
User avatar
Jim Smith 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby Christmended » Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:22 pm

I wanted to say thank you for this awesome plugin. The update seems to be working very well.
0

Christmended 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby CadFather » Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:36 pm

small update on icons

IMAGES_CadFather.rar
0
Quarr-IT - SketchUp Training from the Master.. http://quarr-it.com/
User avatar
CadFather 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby fredo6 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:08 pm

CadFather wrote:small update on icons

Could you post it as a Zip file, so that I can integrate it to the distribution of the plugin. I am going to make a small upgrade tonight or tomorrow to fix a problem of toolbar status on Mac.

Thanks very much. Your artistic talent is of greate help.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby Didier Bur » Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:28 pm

Here it is. ;)
0
Didier Bur
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 16 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby CadFather » Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:18 pm

Thabks Didier, just saw Fredo's post
0
Quarr-IT - SketchUp Training from the Master.. http://quarr-it.com/
User avatar
CadFather 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby fredo6 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:37 pm

UPGRADE BezierSpline 1.4 - 24 Aug 10
see main post for download.

This release of 24 Aug 10 is actually a small update to the version 1.4 of 16 Aug 10.
  • Fix a bug for state of the toolbar on Mac
  • added a menu to check for updates on Sketchucation
  • Integrated updated icons by CadFather

BezierSpline 1.4 – 16 Aug 10 is an important upgrade and it is advised to install it:
  • Several bugs fixed, among which some majors
  • integration of all extensions
  • Transformation of curves based on sharing control points (video in main post)
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby CadFather » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:46 pm

..Mercy!
0
Quarr-IT - SketchUp Training from the Master.. http://quarr-it.com/
User avatar
CadFather 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby jeff hammond » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:19 pm

i've been using this ruby more and more lately and i'm super relieved to be getting away from using radii for everything..

the main thing stuck in the back of my head and preventing me from learning even more about these types of curves is that i can't really figure out what's happening with them.. more to the point, i can't figure out a way to draw one full scale on-site without using plotted points and/or templates cut via CNC machines..

this example was drawn using Classic Bezier curve.. basically, i started off with the 3'x11' rectangle then placed the 4 control points shown with the red numbers..

bezierQ.jpg



does anyone know of any practical way to reproduce that line on a job site? or, any decent sources online where i can learn about these types of curves as they apply to a construction minded person (as opposed to a college minded person)
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby jeff hammond » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:35 pm

i haven't really found anything yet but here are a few visuals from wiki that are helping me wrap my head around what's going on..












[and i guess those example are different than the one in my post above this.. these are B-splines if i'm understanding the differences correctly]
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby fredo6 » Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:36 pm

These are regular Bezier curves (which are a particular case of BSplines).

Fredo

PS: on my long list of things to evolve is precisely a tool to draw splines with control of tangents.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby Dave R » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:13 am

Jeff, I've wondered about reproducing curves like that, too. Clearly a flexible batten would be useful but I wonder about setting points 3 and 4, then. Just some free thinking here. If you made the batten to the exact length of the curve and fastened the ends in place, could you push or pull the batten to the desired shape?

Another thought that would get you pretty close and may be more practical anyway is to do what boat builders do when lofting a boat. They identify points through which the curve passes at regular intervals along the length (stations in boat builders' terms) and offsets from a reference line (buttocks vertically or half-breadths horizontally since you only loft half a boat.) small nails are driven in at the points and a batten is sprung round the nails. Sight from low at one end of the batten to check to see if the curve is fair.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] BezierSpline v1.4 - 24 Aug 10 (upgrade)

Postby jeff hammond » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:01 am

hi Dave,

yes, good ideas there. the one about cutting the batten to length and fastening the ends would probably be the best for me.. i could then plot 3-4 points throughout the curve and get it within a 1/4 or so (which is the greatest tolerance i'd be comfortable with).. still, it sounds a whole lot better than plotting 20-30 points along the line (which i've done in the past and it's not too much fun :) )

with some of the more complex builds, i'll often use a curved template to hang other curved templates on in order to form the complex surfaces. (and on a few occassions, it's been 3-fold).. if the curve is the base curve then i want it to be pretty damn accurate or else the mistakes are going to multiply rather quickly throughout the build.

i'm also sort of warming up to the idea of using a large scale printer which i can basically draw all the lines on a huge sheet of paper that i'll need throughout the build.. i could then use some contact spray and put the lines directly on the material and cut that way..
have you ever tried anything like that?

[edit] well then there's the case of sketchup being sketchup and not drawing exact curves.. as long as i draw with the vertices in the right place then i can build accurately from a .skp but in this case where i'm thinking about using an entire curved line, i'm basically back to the plotting idea and/or redrawing in rhino(which would sort of defeat the purpose of using sketchup)..
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ervin Sulejmanasi, martinbarberredmore, User11, xXSpeeedXx and 17 guests

Visit our sponsors: