[Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby TightLines » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:54 pm

I should have specified. When I click the link, it tells me I do not have access to that page. Is it for paid subscribers only? Is there an alternate link?
0

TightLines 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Box » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:57 am

You should try the link again, your account may not have been fully authorized when you clicked it before.
1
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby TightLines » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:26 pm

Thanks for the help. Unfortunately I'm still not "authorized to view this page".

Hmmm.
0

TightLines 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:52 pm

As a new member with >3 posts your access should now be reset...
Try again...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Box » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:57 pm

It's actually easier to go install the plugin store and auto install if from there.
http://sketchucation.com/resources/plug ... e-download
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby rythm » Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:44 pm

I am trying to draw a line on a curved surface using Tools on Surface plugin.

My question is: Once I draw the line does the process take a long time? I now am watching my Mac ball spin for 45 minutes.

The line is only 37" long. See the screen shot below.

Should I let it continue to run?

Thanks,
0

rythm 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby rythm » Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:07 pm

I loaded this plugin directly form the Plugin Store and it installed successfully I then restarted SU and the tool was there immediately like it was supposed to.

After looking at the curve in my screenshot, Should this curve take an hour to process. I have never used the tool before but I cannot believe this curve could take that long to process.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
0

rythm 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Box » Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:25 pm

The simple answer is , no it shouldn't. But then we don't really know what it is working on.
Are you just trying to cut the metal panel along the diagonal line?
1
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby rythm » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:43 pm

Thanks for reply.

Actually I gave up a while ago and started working on something else. I will go back to it and run a couple of tests and try again.

Mainly I was looking for the short answer to thank you.

-R
0

rythm 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Dave R » Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:27 pm

As Box asked, are you just trying to cut the sheet metal at the angle of the roof? Tools on Surface is an excellent plugin but it would be easier to cut the tin with a cutting plane using the native Intersect Faces. Let SketchUp draw the edge and get into all the curves.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:55 pm

NEW RELEASE: Tools on Surface 2.1a - 19 Oct 14

This release is required for the support of usernames with non-ascii characters in Sketchup 2014

You will need to migrate to LibFredo6 6.3 or higher

Please see main post for download

Fredo
2
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby chijuiwang » Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:05 pm

Thanks Fredo6! very useful plugin!
0

chijuiwang 
 

ToS: Trouble with SU 2015 64 bit

Postby Extractor » Wed Nov 12, 2014 4:39 pm

Hi,
does anyone else have the same issue? ToS works perfectly with SU 2014. In SU 2015 64 bit the faces created on a 3D shape are not separated. It is mysterious: when I export for example a cylinder from SU 2014 to SU 2015 sometimes ToS works properly with SU 2015! Maybe the problem is that both versions of Sketchup are installed in parallel?
0

Extractor 
 

ToS and Sketchup 2015

Postby Extractor » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:17 pm

I am wrong. The problem is not Sketchup 2015. ToS doesn`t work correctly when I use a template with meters as units.
0

Extractor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Box » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:23 pm

It begs a couple of questions.

How many segments are you working with and what scale is your model?
If you are working at a small scale and lots of segments SU can have problems forming the edges.

Also you may have the precision setting different in your metric version.

Here is a small example.
The larger circle was draw while the cylinder was scaled down and you can see how it distorts the surface. Scale up and the small circle can even cope with the distortion.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby jgb » Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:40 pm

The same thing happens with intersect, when some of the intersections cause very short lines. Gaps happen. Perhaps ToS uses the same/similar methodology to form the line on the surface.

Try adjusting the number of segments forming the curve and see if that helps. :idea:
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby fredo6 » Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:44 pm

It is true that the calculation is not perfect when by chance very small edge are created.

One possibility you have is to active the Editor On Surface and join the missing segments

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby Extractor » Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:22 pm

Thanks for the tips. I figured out that it was a problem with this particular template (circle: radius: 1m, segments 24: no idea why this problem occurred there). I deleted it and with a new one it works.
0

Extractor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.1a - 19 Oct 14

Postby hanaehab » Wed Dec 10, 2014 2:41 am

Hey, I'm trying to draw arches onto a cylindrical room like in this video ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDqycuMUYvA ) however on using the joint push/pull tool to clear the arch out, it won't let me push the shape to the inner side of the wall so I'm only able to delete the outside arch. Sketchup thinks I'm trying to delete the rest of the cylinder when I try deleting what should be the inner arch. Also the drawing arc on curved surfaces tool keeps forming rings around my cylindrical room, not normal arcs! Help me please
0

hanaehab 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby murmurbalsita » Wed Jan 27, 2016 4:49 pm

Hi, may I just ask which version should I use. I have sketchup 2015 right now. THanks a lot :)
0

murmurbalsita 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:53 pm

murmurbalsita wrote:Hi, may I just ask which version should I use. I have sketchup 2015 right now. THanks a lot :)


Use the version offered in the Plugin Store. It is also linked to in the first post of this thread. Pay attention to the details and make sure you also install the LibFredo files.
Screenshot - 1_31_2016 , 9_59_30 AM.png
1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby blackdogsketch » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:09 pm

Maybe I'm missing something, but for a tool that's supposed to stay On Surface, this seems to have a tendency to pop onto the z-axis constantly.
I sue this tool to trace jpegs of site maps, and trace contour lines, for example. the plane I'm working on is solid, with nothing underneath. The vast majority of the linework I want to create is non-orthogonal (the contours)...but the tool is constantly snapping to x or y axis...which is merely annoying... but all of a sudden it will pop way out on the z axis and I'll discover it maybe 6-12 segments after.

Is there any way to turn off orthogonal and produce ALL linework on a plane?
Also, it's sort of annoying that every time the line command is interrupted, the tool reverts to dashed line and I have to manually hit the icon for line to get it back to solid again.

It's still a useful tool, and maybe I'm missing some user parameters. All constructive crit...thanks for all your efforts for us! :D
0

blackdogsketch 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:23 pm

You don't need Tools on Surface to trace site plans. This extension was intended for drawing on 3d surfaces which the native tools won't do easily. For tracing a JPG or a site plan, though, the native tools will work just fine. If you feel the need, set the camera to Parallel Projection and select the Top view to look down on the image. I frequently trace images and leave the camera in Perspective mode.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby stulutions » Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:14 pm

Hello,

I signed up just to get this plugin (which is my first!). Thank you.

Pretty novice user.

I have a contoured surface that I wish to break up into segments of freehand divisions so that I can colour them individually. I can do it on flat surfaces quite easily but have no idea how to do it on this curved surface.

Hopefully my sequence of attached images will make it clear what I am trying to accomplish.

Thanks for any assistance. It is appreciated!
s
0
Last edited by stulutions on Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stulutions 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:20 pm

There must be a place where the edges you drew across the surface don't touch the curved surface. Can you share that part of your model , at least?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby fredo6 » Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:43 pm

For the start and end point, with the FreeHand tool, make sure you activate the inferencing so that they are on the border edges.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby jgb » Sun Mar 13, 2016 7:03 pm

Here's how I transfer flat shapes onto a curved surface. I do this on my airplane designs to place a very strict outline onto a curved fairing surface. It is far more accurate to draw a curve on a flat face than try to draw that curve on a curve, Fredo Tools on Surface notwithstanding.

The following set of screen caps should explain it. Ask me if you need more info.

Scrn-Cap 459.jpg


Scrn-Cap 460.jpg


Scrn-Cap 461.jpg


Scrn-Cap 462.jpg


Scrn-Cap 463.jpg


Scrn-Cap 464.jpg


Scrn-Cap 466.jpg


Hope that helps.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby stulutions » Sun Mar 13, 2016 8:43 pm

Fredo, How do I activate inferencing on the freehand tool? I only see it as a "without inferencing" option.

DAve R - How do i share that part of my model? It's far from top secret or elaborate, as I am a complete novice, so I'm not concerned with sharing the whole original file if that will help. But in the future that might be handy to know, how to share just a portion of the file?

jgb - I just saw your reply, so am literally just about to read through it.

THanks guys!
0

stulutions 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:32 pm

stulutions wrote:DAve R - How do i share that part of my model? It's far from top secret or elaborate, as I am a complete novice, so I'm not concerned with sharing the whole original file if that will help. But in the future that might be handy to know, how to share just a portion of the file?


To share just part of the file, you could select that part and copy it to the clipboard (Edit>Copy) and then open a fresh SketchUp session and use Edit>Paste or better, Edit>Paste in place. Then save that file.

Or maybe in this case you can just upload the whole thing.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby stulutions » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:37 pm

jgb, i was able to accomplish that with your method, thanks!

its good enough for what i need really, but why are my lines all crude looking compared to the nice smooth ones that your example shows?

thanks again!
0

stulutions 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfet, MakeItRein, mittsuken, SANAFZALNAWAZ and 17 guests

Visit our sponsors: