[Plugin] extrudeEdgesByLathe

[Plugin] extrudeEdgesByLathe

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 15, 2009 4:55 pm

After requests for a tool that mimics 'followme' around an arc without distortion I made 'lathe'...
With v2 it's been renamed as 'extrudeEdgesByLathe' - it's been deBabelized and appears on a combined Toolbar - 'Extrusion Tools', plus various minor tweaks...

    (c) TIG 2009
    extrudeEdgesByLathe.rb
    First Select a 'polyline', i.e. an arc of welded curves/arcs/lines etc.
    OR a Face [then the Face's Edges will be used]
    Choose the tool 'Extrude Edges by Lathe' on the Plugins menu
    or type 'extrudeEdgesByLathe' in the Ruby Console
    or use the 'Extrude Edges By Lathe' on the 'Extrusion Tools' Toolbar.
    You are prompted to pick the arc's center-point.
    The VCB reports the dynamic point -e.g. [1.234,56.789,0.0].
    You must then pick a second-point to set the axis-of-rotation -
    for example, picking a second-point vertically above the center-point
    (using inference and shift when blue etc) it would be the Z-axis [blue].
    The VCB reports the dynamic vector - e.g. [0.0,0.0,1.0] == Z-axis.
    Input the arc's swept-angle in degrees (-ve=clockwise) e.g. '90' or '-90'
    and/or the number of the arc's segments with an 's' suffix e.g. '24s' ...
    the initial defaults are 45.0 & 9s.
    The 'ghost' display changes to show what you've set...
    Any changes are remembered for that model, across sessions.
    IF you enter '0' [zero] as the swept angle you are then prompted to
    pick two points to set the rotation angle dynamically - typically the
    first one will be on the 'profile' and the second where you want the
    sweep to end.
    A guide 15 degree-step 'protractor' is drawn at the center-point.
    To pick swept-angles greater <> 180 degrees toggle <Alt> key.
    To pick swept-angles 'c/clockwise' toggle <Shift> key.
    These toggles may be used together.
    The 'ghost' display changes to show what you've picked...
    You can keep changing settings etc until you are happy with the result.
    To confirm press 'Ctrl' or double-click the mouse to make the mesh...
    The selected polyline's [or face's] edges are then swept around an arc:
    using the picked center, about the selected axis-of-rotation.
    The edges are divided and 'faced'.
    The faces will be triangulated if necessary.
    If a Face is the source then the geometry has 'end-faces' -
    unless the swept arc >=360 degrees.
    If a 'looped' polyline curve is the source there are no 'end-faces'.
    You are asked if you want to remove coplanar faces, Yes/No...
    Faces are auto-oriented.
    You are asked if you want to reverse the faces, Yes/No...
    You are asked if you want to smooth-edges, Yes/No...
    The faced geometry is made inside a group.
    The original face/edges remain unchanged.
    The result is a 'true' 'Followme' swept shape unlike the built-in
    'FollowMe' tool's results...

    Donations:
    Are welcome [by PayPal], please use 'TIGdonations.htm' in the
    ../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder.
    OR

    Version:
    20090915 1.0 First issue
    20090916 1.1 Pick cursor/inferencing improved, choose 'axis' added.
    20090917 1.2 'Round' error fixed. Operation optimized for v7 users.
    20090918 1.3 Soft/Smooth Edges option added.
    20090919 1.4 Inference-locking glitch fixed on repeated lathes.
    20090920 1.5 Smooth bug with Reverse Faces fixed.
    20090924 1.6 Removal of Coplanar Edges now Optional. Superfluous face removal improved.
    20100114 2.0 Rename extrudeEdgesByLathe, Final Explode Group and Toolbar added.
    DeBabelized and 'Extrusion Tools' Toolbar added.
    20100120 2.1 ES lingvo file updated by Defisto.
    20100121 2.2 Typo preventing Plugin Menu item working corrected.
    20100121 2.3 FR lingvo file updated by Pilou.
    20100123 2.4 FR lingvo file updated by Pilou.
    20100206 2.5 Resume VCB text improved.
    20100216 2.6 All extrusion-tools now in one in Plugins sub-menu.
    20100222 2.7 Tooltips etc now deBabelized properly.
    20100609 2.8 Glitch fixed on completion stages.
    20100330 2.9 Dialog replaced with VCB input, e.g. 45 or 9s - soft @end
    ability to select rotation angle by picking 2 points added.
    Settings now remembered properly with model across sessions.
    20100330 3.0 Lingvo files updated to match recent changes.
    20100331 3.1 Beep removed at start.
    20101027 3.2 Undoes better.
    20111020 3.3 Start_operation now deBabelized.
    20111023 3.4 Smooth now ignores edges with only one face.
    20111102 3.5 Fixed Picked-Angle's messy undo. Smoothed-edges stop @90º.

lathe_examples.png

NOTE: from 20100212 the latest versions of these files is in the zipped set downloaded from here http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtop ... 63#p217663
3
Last edited by TIG on Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:56 pm, edited 19 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Khai » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:31 pm

oooh yus.
working great so far :)
0

Khai 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Ken » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:32 pm

Tig

Am I missing something? Is there a difference between your lath tool and 1001bits lath tool? I have used both, and I cannot see any difference in the final product after smoothing.

Both seemed to do the job, I am just wondering what I am missing.

Ken
0
Government rushes to help the irresponsible and does little for the responsible.
User avatar
Ken 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby thomthom » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:47 pm

This one is free. ;)
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Ben Ritter » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:59 pm

TIG,

Thank you!
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby nektares » Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:03 pm

nice!! i can sure use this plug-in! thanks!
0

nektares 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Edson » Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:13 pm

Ken wrote:Tig

Am I missing something? Is there a difference between your lath tool and 1001bits lath tool?

Ken

is there a tool called lath in the 1001bit set of tools? the only one that i found that does a similar thing is Extrude along curved sloping path.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br

Anyone can get you more for more, but it takes genius to get you more for less.
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Edson » Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:16 pm

tig,

thanks for one more wonderful tool. it works fine in my mac. but forgive my dumbness: i have not understood how to set it up, that is, how to position the curve or face in relation to the center of the curve. could explain it a little further?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br

Anyone can get you more for more, but it takes genius to get you more for less.
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby mike d » Tue Sep 15, 2009 6:17 pm

thanks tig
0
The grass is always GREENER on the roof.

mike d 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:01 pm

Thanks for sharing Tig. Very much appreciated and needed
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby boofredlay » Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:50 pm

Thanks TIG.

When prompted to pick a center point I am not getting the option to pick a specific point, rather a general area. There is no indication that I am picking an endpoint or midpoint of another line etc. that I may have placed for my center point.

Edit: Ok if I hover long enough I see the tool tip say "endpoint" or "midpoint". If a visual clue could be added that would be great.

Thanks again for this.
0
User avatar
boofredlay 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby mitcorb » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:02 pm

Thank you, TIG.
I will give this a run through and let you know.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Dan » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Thank you, Tig!
A really useful plugin. And it works perfectly :D .
A question, though: the cursor isn't supposed to snap to a given point when asked for the lathe center?
I noticed the tooltip telling me where my cursor points, but a more consistent visual feedback seems necessary, IMHO.

Thanks again, great work!
0

Dan 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:47 pm

Ken wrote:Tig

Am I missing something? Is there a difference between your lath tool and 1001bits lath tool? I have used both, and I cannot see any difference in the final product after smoothing.

Both seemed to do the job, I am just wondering what I am missing.

Ken

1001 tools ? ;)
This is a separate tool written entirely from scratch. :ugeek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:52 pm

The 'pick center-point' prompt/point_pick will 'infer' to any suitable point - e.g. intersection/midpoint/end/on_edge/center etc... but it you have a specific point that you want the arc to sweep from then I suggest you make some cline/guides-intersections or cpoints etc to snap to during the tool - before using it... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 15, 2009 9:55 pm

You can pick the center anywhere - 'off-center' skews stuff BUT you might want that... Set up with guides or cpoints if you want to 'lathe' about a definite center...

Thanks for the feedbacks... you should know that I wrote it 'from scratch' during today... so there might be [probably are] some improvements possible... Let me know of anything you think might improve it...

:geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Ken » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:01 pm

[/quote]

1001 tools ? ;)
This is a separate tool written entirely from scratch. :ugeek:

[/quote]

TIG
I certainly did not mean to imply that you plugin was anything but your own creation. I was just wondering if your plugin handled the arc or circle segments or finish the lath function differently. I only ask that question because of the way Sketchup make circles and arcs with segments.

Again thanks for all you scripts.

Ken
0
Government rushes to help the irresponsible and does little for the responsible.
User avatar
Ken 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Ken

My 'lathe' uses NO arcs at all - all of the edges that are created are pseudo-arcs - i.e. edges that might make an arc BUT aren't actually part of an arc... It simply makes a 'followme' of a face [or any polyline !!!] around a supposed arc shaped path, that is correct without any distortions of the geometry - unlike the built-in 'followme' < 360 degrees...

.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby dtrarch » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:09 pm

TIG
:berserk: This is a long needed tool and thanks a bunch for taking the trouble.
Long time ago there was one with the same ruby name so good idea to flush the old one if exist before install.

Much needed and appreciated by all. :ecstatic:

Cheers

dtr
0

dtrarch 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby simon le bon » Tue Sep 15, 2009 11:12 pm

dear Tig,

This tool is so great :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
It compensate something we can tell it is an irritating kind of bug of FollowMe Tool when we need to draw a "piece of cake".
But it can do much more, and it is so easy to use.. Super :)



You surf so easily with ruby that you are a sort of Yoda jedaï in the SketchUpSpace...

Thank again, thank for this...
simon.
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby pilou » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:33 am

Seems you must say that the "path" or the "face" must be on a vertical plan else maybe result will be not that you want ;)
Cool plug as always :enlight:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby notareal » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:16 am

Thanks!
0
Welcome to try Thea Render, Thea support | kerkythea.net -team member

notareal 
Thea Render Support
Thea Render Support
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby thomthom » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:21 am

Pilou wrote:Seems you must say that the "path" or the "face" must be on a vertical plan else maybe result will be not that you want ;)
Cool plug as always :enlight:

TIG wrote:The selected polyline's edges are swept around in an arc,
about the Z-axis [blue] and are faced.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby Frederik » Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:25 am

Thanks, Tig...!
simon le bon wrote:You surf so easily with ruby that you are a sort of Yoda jedaï in the SketchUpSpace...

+1
0
User avatar
Frederik 
Thea Render Support
Thea Render Support
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe

Postby massimo » Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:34 am

Many thanks TIG, it works like a charm. :thumb: :thumb:
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe v1.1

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 16, 2009 1:23 pm

v1.1 is here viewtopic.php?p=184477#p184477
Improved inferencing of pick cursor and tooltips.
Added second point pick to set axis of rotation.

Thanks for the kind comments so far... :D
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe v1.1

Postby Ben Ritter » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:09 pm

I am not able to create a "donut" shape. My shape is oriented in the vertical direction and I select the blue axis for axis of rotation. What am I doing wrong?
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe v1.1

Postby Panga » Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:58 pm

Thanks a lot for this one, definitly needed !!
0

Panga 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe v1.1

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 16, 2009 4:37 pm

Ben Ritter wrote:I am not able to create a "donut" shape. My shape is oriented in the vertical direction and I select the blue axis for axis of rotation. What am I doing wrong?

Try this...
1-2_donut.png
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Lathe v1.1

Postby Ben Ritter » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:04 pm

TIG,

That is the process I used, however, without having a short line to define the radius point.

In my attachment, you can see the result with and without a reference line for the radius point. The inference was indicating that I was going up in the blue axis direction, but I still got the result shown.

Thanks. Ben
0

Ben Ritter 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: imetetet, sokhet and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: