[Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

[Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:27 pm

SectionCutFace.rb v2.0: update fixes an occasional visibility glitch with the cut-face's location relative to the section-plane, and layers are now sorted below the layers 'CUT-nnnn' and 'Layer0' (or the default layer-name if not EN).
There is a new version available here http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtop ... 83#p172583
please use that instead of the obsolete one below

.
.
.
Obsolete...
OLD-SectionCutFace.rb
2
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:27 pm

Thanks TIG, very much, indeed! I've been using the script a lot and I can tell the only thing that bothered me was what you've fixed now (mainly when I used a lot of components/groups especiall when nested ones, and a lot of layers etc...)

Works like a charm now - beautiful!

Thanks again...
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby otb designworks » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:28 pm

Thanks TIG, this is a great Ruby and I use it a bunch.
0
Cheers, Chuck

OTB Designworks is on Youtube

6 core nMP, 32 gig RAM, (2) D700 GPU's, dual monitors

otb designworks 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby richcat » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:28 pm

Thanks TIG
This will come in handy :)
0

richcat 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby dylan » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:29 pm

Thanks TIG, great Ruby.
0

dylan 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby boofredlay » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:30 pm

That is a nice one. I have used it for quite a while but the newer version is so much easier. The old one I always had to back the section cut up a small amount just to see it.

Thanks again.
0
User avatar
boofredlay 
Global Moderator
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:30 pm

I took a look see and I have a couple of problems with the script.
The colours list stops at the bottom of the page ending with the "L" colours and there is no way to scroll down to choose anything else. If I wanted a "White" face colour I could type "W" in the face colour field but then I would have to settle for "Wheat" because that is the first "W" and I can't get at the rest. The Cut face colour actually allows for the "Default" colour but the cut edge colour does not.
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:30 pm

That's true, Susan but don't forget that you can repaint the faces of the group any time (even with custom colours/textures for the different parts of the building).

My glitch was however that it did not seem to work within a group. I wanted to place a section cut into the ground only (which I had grouped) to show the building's underground parts from the side and it was just simply not there.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:31 pm

I can't make this work. I viewed hidden geometry, I moved the section plane a tad, and I see no surface at all in the section.

I also exported the section and viewed in a free cad viewer and there is no face. What am I doing wrong?
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:31 pm

Right click on the active section plane and there is a menu item "add section cut face" (though you must have done this).
Then it just appears.
Have a look at some of the section cuts here (textured by the surrounding material though):
http://www.gaieus.hu/EM
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:31 pm

Well, yes I have done this. I read all of the notes in the script.
I even exploded all of the parts of the model that were grouped just in case that was the problem. Nothing helps.
Won't create a face. The layer is there, but there is nothing on it.

This is an old model but it has been brought into SketchUp 6 and so I can't figure out what the problem could be.
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:32 pm

You'll need to get TIG for this then.
Can you pass the model somehow?
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:32 pm

I'll take a look. It's really big so I'm not quite sure how to do it. I think I can put it on Kelly's ftp.

I tried it with another model that was originally a version 5. With this one it created a face , partally. On of the components that was part of the cut, had a face, and a small enclosed piece of geometry had a face. The rest was empty space. I figured it might have something to do withe the space which was around a component so I exploded everything completely and tried again. The result was the same. The same things had faces and the same things didn't though it was all completely exploeded at this point.

I'll see about getting these models up.
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:33 pm

Okay, I have 2 models with the Section Cut face in them that are not working correctly. They are both in this folder on Kelly's site:
sas/Ruby/SectionFaceProb
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:33 pm

Susan,

I opened the file "treasury2" and the section cut was there as it was supposed to be. See attached image.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:34 pm

but there is space all around the doorway. Why is there no face in that space?
I thought the script fills in a face everywhere
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:35 pm

You're right - it should fill that face, too - unless it is intelligent enough to know that that's the inside room of the building and does not need to fill it with a face. I'll go into it, I think.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:35 pm

sorgesu wrote:I took a look see and I have a couple of problems with the script.
The colours list stops at the bottom of the page ending with the "L" colours and there is no way to scroll down to choose anything else. If I wanted a "White" face colour I could type "W" in the face colour field but then I would have to settle for "Wheat" because that is the first "W" and I can't get at the rest. The Cut face colour actually allows for the "Default" colour but the cut edge colour does not.

Press W to drop to Wheat then use the down arrow key to get to White...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:35 pm

ahh thanks, down arrow within window, not in drop down list. Go it.
Now about the faces??
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:36 pm

sorgesu wrote:but there is space all around the doorway. Why is there no face in that space?
I thought the script fills in a face everywhere

The script attempts to work out what is solid and what is void, so it doesn't (usually) fill in every available gap. To see this draw a rectangle and offset it and pushpull it into a 'wall', reface the top and pushpull to make a quick floor and a roof; then draw a rectangle onto a wall face and pushpull it through the wall to make an opening. Now make a section cut across the wall passing through the window 'hole'. Use SectionCutFace on it and you'll get a filled-in section as you expect. But if you put a face or faces into the window as a 'pane' it can get confused as to which is solid and which is void in the cut. Usually if fills them all and you can then edit the section face group and select and delete unwanted faces, or redraw edges to (re)face something that's missed... Overlapping solids can confuse it as there's no simple rules to work out what's desired to be solid - typically the outer areas get filled, then any inner islands are emptied, then any nested islands filled etc (like CAD hatching ?)...

It's not foolproof...you should be able to make quick manual fixes to complex sections that get confused.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby sorgesu » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:37 pm

I see. I have never really worked with AutoCAD but I'm teaching people who do and I didn't really understand what it is that they needed to have a face. I thought that they wanted a face even on a cavernous interior section cut. So I couldn't figure out why there was no face at all in an interior. Now I understand. Thank you.
0
Susan Sorger
Seller Hand Rendered Entourage
Canadian Authorized Training Centre, SketchUp
http://www.entouragearts.com

sorgesu 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby stuartb » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:37 pm

I cant live without the sectioncutface ruby! Another thing I do now and then is to make the section faces 'not receive shadows'. This means you can cut further up and (when in plano view mode) still get the impression the cut face is moving with you. As the great man says . . . just ideas.
0

stuartb 
 

Re: SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby digby dart » Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:39 pm

;)

Many thanks for another excellent script TIG.

:D

[digby dart]
0

digby dart 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby chango70 » Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:11 pm

That is just about one of the most useful rubys I've come across! thanks alot!
0

chango70 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby brokenstaral » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:43 am

i m a newby at the ruby thing

is there anyway to render a section-cut after creating the section-cut face???
0

brokenstaral 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:04 pm

Seems erase manually that don't you want (it's not a big deal) make the trick ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby brokenstaral » Thu Sep 04, 2008 10:19 pm

Pilou wrote:Seems erase manually that don't you want (it's not a big deal) make the trick ;)


thanks man

that render is exactly what i wanted to do :berserk:

i have also asked around a bit
other people say i need to use the intersect tool
so in that sectioned motor bike
did u intersect the section-cut layer with the model then delete what u dont needed??

or u used sum other method??
0

brokenstaral 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:22 pm

It makes a group containing a large plane [face], intersects it with the model and then tries to work out what's solid and what's void. It doesn't always get it right...

.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby Gaieus » Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:20 pm

TIG, I guess front faces and back faces are also considered during the "guessing phase" in your script, don't they? (Love the script BTW :) )
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:41 pm

Gaieus wrote:TIG, I guess front faces and back faces are also considered during the "guessing phase" in your script, don't they? (Love the script BTW :) )

It should make the initial face looking in the right direction to start with... after that it deletes parts, so the remainder should 'always' face the expected way ?

.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], imetetet and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: