The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

General discussion related to SketchUp Pro and Make

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby JQL » Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:21 pm

David, send me your file, I'll configure it, and send it back. Name the Scenes wisely so I know what you're talking about and describe your issues on a PM. I'll explain exactly what I did and then you could probably understand it better.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:49 pm

Okay . .. I just got a new computer and have reinstalled SU. A lot of this stuff I did so long ago that I can't remember anymore how I did it. My problem here is I had a shortcut for edge style by exis that shows the axes in their respective green, red and blue colors. It used to be accessed via "View>Rendering>Axis"

axis_1.png
axis_2.jpg



But on my new download of SU that is no longer there! Any ideas how I can shortcut this?

Thx,

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Charlie__V » Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:34 pm

david_h wrote:Okay . .. I just got a new computer and have reinstalled SU. A lot of this stuff I did so long ago that I can't remember anymore how I did it. My problem here is I had a shortcut for edge style by exis that shows the axes in their respective green, red and blue colors. It used to be accessed via "View>Rendering>Axis"

axis_1.png
axis_2.jpg



But on my new download of SU that is no longer there! Any ideas how I can shortcut this?

Thx,

D


Should be there....I just checked on my install (SU Pro 2016)
0
Precision M1710/Win 7 Pro 64 bit/i-7 6920 Quad core 2.9 Ghz -3.8/16Gb ram/NVIDIA M5000M 8Gb

Charlie__V 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:10 pm

Yeah. .. my menu shows that as well, and set the old shortcut accordingly, but problem is. . .there is no View/Rendering .. . on the pull down. It's like that has gone away. Regardless, the shortcut doesn't work. .. cuz it seems that the path is wrong.
axis_3.jpg


So i have to go thru the styles dialogue to change it manually. Bit of a pain. Like I said.. . i haven't had to worry about this for years, so I have forgotten a lot of this stuff.
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby TIG » Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:24 pm

Some shortcut-able commands simply don't [now] appear in the main menus.
And the View/Rendering/Edge/By Material is one such...
It is accessed via the Style > Edit panel...
But by using the 'filter' you can get the command to list, then select it and [re]set the desired shortcut to it...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:01 pm

Thx TIG . . .unfortunately the Shortcut will take me to the menu, but I still have to do the manual switching to color by axis. .. which for as often as I use it is okay, but it is kinda frustrating that they fix what ain't broke.
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby ely862me » Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:36 pm

You can force axis inference with the rotate tool by tapping the arrow keys !!
You can edit the component settings in the In model components Edit !
You can change the component axes from the inside of the component by right clicking outside the geometry.

DUH!!
0
Elisei (sketchupper)
____________________________________________________________
Before no life was done on Earth it was THE LIFE ITSELF...GOD
Come and See EliseiDesign
User avatar
ely862me 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby JGA » Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:26 pm

David,
Could you not just set up a style to show the edge value you want, then assign just the style to a scene tab?
0
Regards,
JGA

JGA 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:20 pm

david_h wrote:Thx TIG . . .unfortunately the Shortcut will take me to the menu, but I still have to do the manual switching to color by axis. .. which for as often as I use it is okay, but it is kinda frustrating that they fix what ain't broke.


I don't normally need to do this as I don't use Color by Axis very often but I just set up a keyboard shortcut for View/Rendering/Edge/By Axis and it toggles between All Same and By Axis with no problem.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:32 pm

yeah. . . that's the way I used to have it. . .but in the new View Pull-down... View>Rendering>Edge by Axis is no longer there. See pic above. Hence the problem. the closest Shortcut I could find was the one that takes me to the styles menu and then I still had to click.
NO worries. i don't use it that often either , but it's handy when I need to check things.

I'll find a work around I guess.
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Box » Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:51 pm

I know we are in the Doh thread but.... Doh. David, Dave is saying use the shortcut settings that you will find in Windows/Preferences/Shortcuts to set a keystroke to that specific visual setting that you want.

In other words, make a shortcut so when you hit a key combination of your choice, or even one key, the style will change to Colour By Axis.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Fri Mar 11, 2016 5:02 pm

okay. . .I'm not a wizard here. It seems to me I have done that. I obviously am missing something. Not ashamed to admit it. Check my posts above to get the history of this and then I am more than happy to be schooled.
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Fri Mar 11, 2016 5:14 pm

David, I'm not trying to school you but here's what I have.

Keyboard shortcut is set.
Screenshot - 3_11_2016 , 10_13_30 AM.png


Edge settings for my normal default style.
Screenshot - 3_11_2016 , 10_13_58 AM.png


After hitting Shift+A to toggle the edge color by axis. It even shows the on axis edges colored in the thumbnail. Note, I only chose that shortcut because I knew it wasn't already used.
Screenshot - 3_11_2016 , 10_14_26 AM.png



It toggles back and forth as expected.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Box » Fri Mar 11, 2016 5:19 pm

Is this what you want? Sorry I did ctrl e rather than your preferred ctrl shift a.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:58 am

Dave R and Box. Sorry. DIdn't mean to sound defensive or whatever. I need to turn in my Green 'Top Sketchucator Badge" it was erroneously bestowed anyway.

I will re-look at this as per your hints. actually, I am not Skupping as much as I used to so I forget a lot of things.

again. . it's not keeping me up at night. . .yet

But It would be nice to get this resolved.

thank you so much.

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby xone » Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:26 pm

Unsure if the right place to ask but I got a little issue with the new reference point stuff in Sketchup 2016.

Previously whenever we reference something, the cursor / protractor will go to the point of transform ON the object I want to adjust.

But now in Sketchup 2016, when I try to rotate something, I got mighty confused as the protractor appear at somewhere else, stuck behind/inside objects, parallel to the referred surface. INSTEAD of going to the point of rotation.

Is there a setting or something to go back to the old way?

0

xone 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:44 pm

In your screen shot from 2016 you have back edges turned on. Do you get the same result if you have them turned off?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby xone » Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:21 pm

Dave R wrote:In your screen shot from 2016 you have back edges turned on. Do you get the same result if you have them turned off?


Yes I have to turn on back edge to even see the protractor which appear behind/inside other objects.
If I turn off back edge then I can't see the protractor in this example as it appear behind the cylinder.
0

xone 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby shawb » Sat Mar 12, 2016 8:37 pm

My most recent Duh! moment was finding that in the VCB (measurement field)if either of the two lengths was what you need just type the separator comma followed by a number or a number followed by the comma and Enter.
0

shawb 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby shawb » Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:21 pm

Bob James wrote:
Bob James wrote:
JQL wrote: Apologies accepted if you post it on the Duh thread!

So here goes my duh:
Bob James wrote:This seems so simple that it must already exist, but I could not find it.

For example: I want to make a 4" square post at a specific spot. If I wanted a round post there I would just select the circle tool, place the cursor at the point and drag out (or put a value in the VCB).

I'd like to be able to do that for a square: select tool, place the cursor at the point and drag out (or put a value in the VCB)

I apologize if this already exists


JQL wrote:LOL bob you can make your life difficult if you draw a 4 sided circle and explode it.

Or you can make your life painless if you draw a 4 sided polygon without exploding it.

Those two are native tools. Do you forget sketchup also has native tools?



Your suggestions create 45 deg rotated squares.
Why can't someone just make a simple extension to make an orthogonally positioned square starting from a center point?


How about this?

Use the four sided polygon as suggested. Place an initial polygon on the line of axis (your fence line?) with the placement/inference line on this axis. You now have a rotated 4 sided polygon at 45 deg to the axis. Place the actual fence post polygon to the required centre spot and use its placement line to pick-up a perpendicular inference from the initial polygon. Your fence post is now square on to the fence line. Hope I have placed this reply correctly.
0

shawb 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:26 pm

Okay. serious gob-smacking d'oh here. I got it to work.

Thanks. Although. . I thought I did all this stuff. But whatever. .it works now.
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread

Postby ZahariStoyanov » Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:09 pm

boofredlay wrote:One for me was when Gaieus was from Gaieus' talk at the Basecamp (I saw the video) and using the rotate tool.

When you click the rotate tool and click the rotation point, don't let go of the mouse button... drag it out to either red or green (or any other snap point you set up) then click to start. This relieves any need for a vertical plane to get your rotation set up.

See image for example.

ClickHold.jpg


I have been using SU since V2 and never knew that until last year.


2009. F##king 2009! I've been modelling with SU since 2006 and didn't know about this feature until today :D
0

ZahariStoyanov 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby ZahariStoyanov » Thu Mar 17, 2016 3:18 pm

Recent duh-moments in my modelling - watching Box's doodles to find out I've been using SU the wrong way for quite long. Again and again :D
1

ZahariStoyanov 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Epix3D » Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:17 pm

Modelling small parts

I´ve had som problems with curves when modelling small parts. Rounded edges/corners will not close. I found a workaround that works: Scale the model two times or more, do the rounding with double radius, -then scale down 0,5 to normal size.

RoundEdgeNoClosed.jpg


RoundEdgeScaledClosed.jpg
0
User avatar
Epix3D 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:24 pm

Epix3d wrote:Modelling small parts

I´ve had som problems with curves when modelling small parts. Rounded edges/corners will not close. I found a workaround that works: Scale the model two times or more, do the rounding with double radius, -then scale down 0,5 to normal size.


:thumb: Yep. That's a standard recommended procedure for drawing small items in SketchUp. I use a slightly different procedure that works better for me but yours is the method most people seem to use.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby JQL » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:34 pm

Dave R wrote: :thumb: Yep. That's a standard recommended procedure for drawing small items in SketchUp. I use a slightly different procedure that works better for me but yours is the method most people seem to use.


I bet that method evolves making turning your geometry into a component (wich is default work for you) copy the component to the side and scale it up, work on the scaled up version and the correctly scaled version will update simultaneously.

Repeat the process as needed!

Right?

That's what I do too, even if I have to turn my groups into components. (Sorry Dave, but I simply love the components vs groups discussion!)
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Rich O Brien » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:39 pm

you should have a group hug
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Box » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:43 pm

0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Rich O Brien » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:44 pm

why thank you Box
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:46 pm

Rich O Brien wrote:you should have a group hug


You mean a component hug, right? :D
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to SketchUp Pro & Make Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bsumitshankar, Google Bot and 9 guests

Visit our sponsors: